We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel for friends & wild weekends” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 83 Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 83 Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oudezijds Achterburgwal 83, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #204 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Clackmannan, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Hotel for friends & wild weekends”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

we stayed here for a guys weekend away & could not fault this place especially for the price you pay,(1) its in the middle of Red light district (2) Smoker friendly hotel (3) 10mins from train station (4) have your own private bathroom which most budget hotels dont have .(5) Free breakfast & clean towels daily,as for the guy on front desk yes he is a bit quirky but NOT nasty or unhelpfull.Overall we lads really enjoyed this hotel for cheapness, location & overall cleaness & we would not hesitate in coming back if its still legal by then "haha" come on holland sort this out please,it would be such a shame to spoil the toking for all .

Room Tip: book direct from hotel to get the room requested
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    58
    47
    15
    13
See reviews for
11
57
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Hotel 83 proved to be an expensive and an average hotel with minimum facilities. Right in the center of the district so lot of activities going around. The male staff was a rude man, raising his eyebrows and giving hard times. The stairs is so narrow that it would barely allow you to take your luggage up. Despite of having private bathroom facility, I was provided with the shared one and this annoyed me a lot. After having the the tour of the district and hardly an ample amount of sleep, I left the hotel early in the morning. Will not consider it as an option in future.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

What did I not like about, now where do we begin. Was it the unfriendly guy on the desk. That was the start. This guy was not just impolite but positively rude. We arrived at 11am to see if we could book in early, after looking for the reservation he just stated "Booking is at 2" without breaking his stare from the PC screen.

Acknowledging this we went out for a bit. Came back at 14:00 only for him to 'forget' the booking name then pretend like he had never seen us only to say "Room not ready, 14:20 or 14:30". So we sat down and awaited the room. The guy then checked in 2 more groups of people. Whilst sat there all we heard was "Next, Next, Next" not excuse me nothing, we looked up and he was looking at us. He gave us a key on the very top floor. The key had not changed hands or been handed back in so I am still at a loss as to why we waited an extra 40 mins to be booked in?? I work as a doctor and treat everyone in the same manner, this guy treated the group like we had just been scraped off his foot.

The room was clean, but exceptionally stuffy, no aircon not even a fan, 2 balcony windows which did nothing for the stifling Amsterdam air. The bells at the local church rang every day, all day during our stay as well and do the vicinity the area was very busy and loud 24/7. No iron facilities and the shower and toilet were in the same tiled area with poor draining so the area remained soaked the entire stay.

Breakfast (9-11) we got down at 10:00 to find the orange empty, no explanation of what was on order and nowhere to sit, when we suggested the dining table the chap made such an abrupt and put-out noise as if we had just said something offensive but finally let us sit down. For breakfast there was a choice of cereal muesli or cornflakes, dry bread (not toasted), some omelette (there was almost none left) and some mini frankfurters. Under the cooling tray (not plugged in and not cooled) was a selection of 'meats' at room temperature. Needless to say our group had nothing either day and had to purchase a proper breakfast locally.

The WiFi password in the laminated poster in the room was incorrect and never worked we enquired as to what it was and never got an answer so free wifi?

Overall I am positively disgusted at this attempt at a hotel and would advise anyone to give it a bodyswerve unless they like being treated like a dog and being robbed of their money. Unhelpful, impolite, stuffy and with a breakfast that is a positive breeding ground for food poisoning. If your going for a stag-do this place is a stag-DON'T

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Stayed here as part of a group of 4 people for a weekend...

Hotel 83 is by far the worst place I have ever stayed in throughtout my travelling experiences.

Rooms - Grotty, run down and hopelessly under furnished. No iron, no television etc. Bathroom was like something out of a 1950's hospital

Stairs - We stayed on the 3rd floor and the stairs up to them rooms actually would give you vertigo. STEEP is an understatement!!! * Group age range was from 26-29...!

Food - Breakfast consisted of stale bread, cheese, small amount of meat and fruit.

Service - Absolutely appalling... Despite receiving confirmation on 2 occassions that twin rooms had been booked and confirmed we were told we could only have double rooms on arrival...

HOTEL? Are they having a laugh? Nothing more than a glorified hostel and a poor one at that.... Absolutely terrible...

Room Tip: Do not stay here under any circumstances
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Durham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

This Hotel exceeded expectations, we weren't expecting much for the low price we paid for our 1 night stay bed and breakfast. The location of the hotel is superb if your wanting to be in the heart of the red light district and all the pubs and bars. The rooms were basic but clean with decent beds, We had 2, twin rooms and 1 quad room, the quad had its own bathroom, the 2 twin rooms shared one, both the showers were spacious and very powerful, and the toilet areas, were clean. The staff were friendly and helpful, I got in at 3 in the morning only to discover when I went to get into bed that the sheets were filthy and covered in hair, so I went to reception and he changed the bedding straight away. The only downsides are that the stairs are very steep, especially when you've visited the many bars and coffee shops, and the breakfast was disappointing only cereal and cheese and ham and orange juice, not the right food to pull you round from your hangover. All in all this is a great hotel for a short stay in the heart of Amsterdam, I would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

Stayed in the Dam plenty of times, Victoria at £120 one of the best but this was £58 and the best bed ever. Excellent location to walk round Red Light, Dam Sq and Damrak 5 minutes away......... breakfast was good eggs, sausage, ham, cheese, breads. good wake up call. Staff funny in a good way and gave a friendly wlecome. Bulldog (Middle of three over two bridges) cool bar, smoke, pool, sky sports and best ube cool music ever. Adon and Joneele best staff ever/////// back in JAN 2011

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

This hotel is great value for money,You are right in the middle of the red light district "the hotel is across from the famous pink elephant of Casa Rosso",everything is about 2 mins walk at most from here.The rooms are a bit basic & the carpets worn but are clean,what do you expect for 95euro per person each for 3 nights.
We were 6 guys on a long weekend ,just here for the weed & women,And we really enjoyed it all,the room has all your basic needs like a bed, a shower, a toilet & clean towels daily , the toilet & shower is NOT SHARED apart from your room friends.You even get breakfast for your quoted price,so if your looking for a mad time in the Dam this is 100 times better than any hostel for the same price,i just wouldnt take any girl on a romantic break here but who in there right mind takes a woman to Amsterdam ,it just seems to be a fun party place for groups in my opinion,Hope you's all enjoy as much as we did.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 83 Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 83 Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Achterburgwal 83, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel 83 Amsterdam 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel 83 Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 83 Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.