We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem, close to the station.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed & Breakfast Batavia

Bed & Breakfast Batavia
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bed & Breakfast Batavia
Save
You added Bed & Breakfast Batavia to your Saves list
Westerdok 742, 1013 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #165 of 323 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Little gem, close to the station.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

It is a little tricky to fine but once you have it this is such a great little B&B. The room is great, its short walk from central station and the location is on a quiet street. The breakfast provided was great, tea and coffee in the room - what more could you want?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

A lovely, large room for two people (only a double bed). Plenty of room, TV a bit small as was the fridge, but I suppose you don't need large ones. Shower wasn't the greatest, but sufficed. Very friendly staff and breakfast and fruits as well as coffee and tea complementary.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We just returned from a 4 night stay at Batavia B&B. We paid €90 per night for the smaller room.
The room was a perfect size for us. (Although someone looking for wardrobe space might need to book the larger room.)
The B&B is situated in a quiet area, only 10 minutes walk from Central Station. Saying that, be prepared for lots of walking or cycling as this residence is a little removed from all the action. We however, didn't find this a problem.

Breakfast was supplied every evening which was great, with a mini fridge in the bedroom for our convenience.
The room was spotless and beds were comfy. The only minor drawbacks were the rough towels and the pillows, which were a little uncomfortable for me. Other than that, everything was perfect. Don't hesitate to book this place!
The host Liana was so accommodating and made our stay more enjoyable. Thank you Liana! We will be back again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Browns Summit, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I spent 5 nights at this B&B. I stayed in the large room and was thrilled with the space (certainly worth the extra money). Fresh fruit, breads with meat and cheese were brought every evening. It is a little removed from all the action in Amsterdam but I found that to be a bonus. It is only a short walk from central station and all the attractions. I only have a couple of concerns that could have made my stay better and would be easy to correct. The towels are hard and only 1 small bar of soap was supplied, so bring your own toiletries. There is no name on the entrance or mailbox so it is very hard to find the first time. Make sure to get ALL the contact information including their home address so you can buzz them when you arrive so you can get a key. If they correct these things, they would certainly receive an excellent rating for service also. Even with these few small complaints, the owners a very nice and the stay was great.

Room Tip: Ask for directions from the back of central station. It's much easier and faster. Google maps di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Bed & Breakfast Batavia for 3 nights and loved it!! We stayed in the small room which was a perfect size for the two of us. We were brought a really nice breakfast each evening of fresh fuit, crossiants and ham and cheese which we were able to enjoy in the morning. The location is perfect! 10 mins walk from all the hustle and bustle of the city but in a nice quiet area that is very easy to find. Hank and Liana were so lovely and helpful providing us with a map and even a bottle of Prosecco on New Years Eve! We really enjoyed our time in Amsterdam and would definitely stay in the B&B Batavia again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I live very close to this B&B and my mom stays here whenever she comes to visit. It's a great price for a nice, clean room with a fresh breakfast and free wifi. It's about a 6 minute walk from the Haarlemmerstraat, recently voted Amsterdam's #1 shopping street. It's also close to the Noordermarkt, which holds fantastic markets (biological foods, antiques, 2nd hand clothes) on Mondays and Saturdays. The hosts were thoughtful enough to remember my mom's birthday this year and they surprised her with fresh roses in her room. She talked about that all week. Added bonus, there's a Coffee Company (like a Starbucks) just 1 minute walk from the room ; )

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Perfect value for money. My husband and I stayed 2 nights in the small room and payed € 86.00 per night for a double room with en suite facilities and also breakfast. It is modern but cosy, very clean and has a queen-size double bed and two armchairs, bathroom with WC and shower. We also had free of charge wifi internet (most hotels won't provide this). The entrance of the room is in a courtyard shared with other flats of this modern multi-storey building. Not a romantic Amsterdam house but a pleasant and modern building on the quiet Westerdok with its boathouses. About 15 minutes from main station and 5 minutes from the quiet Jordaan district, so a very good location on the whole.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Bed & Breakfast Batavia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Batavia

Address: Westerdok 742, 1013 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 323 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast Batavia offers quiet and privacy right around the corner of one of the busiest shopping and dining areas in Amsterdam. You can walk in 5 minutes to the cosy Jordaan district. The Central Station, the Anne Frank House, Dam Square, the red-light district and China town are all within walking distance. After a day of sightseeing you can unwind in the comfort of your room. Your stay will be a pleasant one! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed & Breakfast Batavia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.