We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern B&B near to Station and city attractions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed & Breakfast Batavia

Bed & Breakfast Batavia
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bed & Breakfast Batavia
Save
You added Bed & Breakfast Batavia to your Saves list
Westerdok 742, 1013 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #200 of 326 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Modern B&B near to Station and city attractions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Perfect value for money. My husband and I stayed 2 nights in the small room and payed € 86.00 per night for a double room with en suite facilities and also breakfast. It is modern but cosy, very clean and has a queen-size double bed and two armchairs, bathroom with WC and shower. We also had free of charge wifi internet (most hotels won't provide this). The entrance of the room is in a courtyard shared with other flats of this modern multi-storey building. Not a romantic Amsterdam house but a pleasant and modern building on the quiet Westerdok with its boathouses. About 15 minutes from main station and 5 minutes from the quiet Jordaan district, so a very good location on the whole.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
new jersey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We had selected this place fter reading the other comments on Trip Advisor and were very disappointed in the location and in the accommodations. Although it was only a 20 min walk from Central Station, it took us through a tunnel that was underpass for a highway…. Dark and dismal… and this was the only way to walk out of that area to any of the sights. This b&b has only 2 rooms and we had selected the smaller which was barely big enough for the bed and a small table/chair. Although it was clean, I would certainly not recommend it. Perhaps the larger room would have left a better impression on us.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 36bay37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBBatavia, Owner at Bed & Breakfast Batavia, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
This 'guest' actually did not stay at our property at all. Although she had a reservation for four nights she effectively cancelled without having to pay us one dime because she thought the room was too small. We advertise the size of our room explicitly on our website and cannot help it if guests feel that the room that is called small, actually is about the size of a small double room. That is why we are cheaper than any normal hotel in the city center. We are happy that so many of the other people we receive are more pleased with our accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephenville, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

We stayed here for one night in early May. The room was especially clean and the owner was very kind. We chose a smaller room and it was still rather large. We chose this bed and breakfast because of it's proximity to the train station. It was somewhat difficult to locate the hotel coming from the train station. We eventually located it with the help of some locals. The hotel is inside a glassed in area and we were not aware of this. The hotel is also a significant distance from the city center but we were still able to walk it with no trouble. With the b&b being far away from the center of the city, it was very quiet and pleasant at night and in the morning. Overall, I would recommend this b&b to other travelers and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather_0183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

My wife & I went to Amsterdam for Queen's Day and after searching for an affordable place to stay for a few days, I was lucky enough to come across this place. The couple that owns it is extremely friendly and the service is great. The rooms are basic but very nice, modern, and clean. It is away from the action a bit but about 10 minutes from central station. I would recommend this to couples or business travelers, not so much the party crowd.

Room Tip: The large room is definitely worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EvanUTVol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

Perfect value for money! I found this B&B thanks to a B&B site because I didn't want to use a hotel in Amsterdam after reading the reviews of different people. The hotel price was the same or higher than the B&B - my husband and I payed 79.50,-EUR per night for a double room with an en suite facilities. The hosts also provided free of charge internet (the hotels won't do this). The breakfast was also included and was huge for 2 persons. Most of the times we had lefovers for lunch. Is within walking distance from Damrak, also a supermarket, as well as bars, restaurants and most important - the trams - they're stopping outside the Centraal Station (the central railway station), as well as the underground(metro). I don't regret at all I choosed a guesthouse in stead of a hotel!The building of the guesthouse was highly secured and brand new - built last year April(2008). The hosts are mixed couple - Indonesian lady and Dutch guy. They have a little girl. The capacity of their guesthouse is 2 rooms - all in one 4 persons.Each of the rooms is with the facilities en suite so you don't have to meet the neighbours if you don't want it:)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poliglotka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

This was a very pleasant place to stay. Within walking distance from the rail station and also the city attractions. Almost new with very comfortable room (and no stairs) and lovely hosts. Good "pub" type meals just around the corner. We stayed two nights but would have loved to stay a week.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RJKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

B&B with two accommodations: a big room (90-100 €) and a small room (70 €). We stayed two nights in the big room. It is modern but cosy, very clean and has a lot of space, a king-size double bed and two armchairs. Bathroom with WC and shower. TV and WLAN available but we did not use them. The entrance of the room is in a courtyard shared with other flats of this modern multi-storey building. Not a romantic Amsterdam house but not an unpleasant building either. Possibility to sit in the courtyard or on the quiet Westerdok with its boathouses. About 10-15 minutes from main station and 5 minutes from the quiet Jordaan district, so a very good location on the whole. There are two minuses to the room: Nescafé instead of a real coffee for breakfast and butter/marmelade not in sufficient quantity (there is also cheese and ham and fruit). Another minus: sometimes loud vibration from the heating and hot water system behind a door from the big room. If you have sensitive ears it is better to sleep with ear protection.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ILikeItQuiet99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#33 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,805 reviews
Centrum
Good Hotel Amsterdam
Good Hotel Amsterdam
#182 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#147 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,618 reviews
Centrum
Hotelboot Angeline
Hotelboot Angeline
#68 of 326 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast Batavia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Batavia

Address: Westerdok 742, 1013 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 326 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast Batavia offers quiet and privacy right around the corner of one of the busiest shopping and dining areas in Amsterdam. You can walk in 5 minutes to the cosy Jordaan district. The Central Station, the Anne Frank House, Dam Square, the red-light district and China town are all within walking distance. After a day of sightseeing you can unwind in the comfort of your room. Your stay will be a pleasant one! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing