We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is a hidden gem.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed & Breakfast Batavia

Bed & Breakfast Batavia
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bed & Breakfast Batavia
Save
You added Bed & Breakfast Batavia to your Saves list
Westerdok 742, 1013 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #139 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“This place is a hidden gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

My wife & I went to Amsterdam for Queen's Day and after searching for an affordable place to stay for a few days, I was lucky enough to come across this place. The couple that owns it is extremely friendly and the service is great. The rooms are basic but very nice, modern, and clean. It is away from the action a bit but about 10 minutes from central station. I would recommend this to couples or business travelers, not so much the party crowd.

Room Tip: The large room is definitely worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

Perfect value for money! I found this B&B thanks to a B&B site because I didn't want to use a hotel in Amsterdam after reading the reviews of different people. The hotel price was the same or higher than the B&B - my husband and I payed 79.50,-EUR per night for a double room with an en suite facilities. The hosts also provided free of charge internet (the hotels won't do this). The breakfast was also included and was huge for 2 persons. Most of the times we had lefovers for lunch. Is within walking distance from Damrak, also a supermarket, as well as bars, restaurants and most important - the trams - they're stopping outside the Centraal Station (the central railway station), as well as the underground(metro). I don't regret at all I choosed a guesthouse in stead of a hotel!The building of the guesthouse was highly secured and brand new - built last year April(2008). The hosts are mixed couple - Indonesian lady and Dutch guy. They have a little girl. The capacity of their guesthouse is 2 rooms - all in one 4 persons.Each of the rooms is with the facilities en suite so you don't have to meet the neighbours if you don't want it:)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

This was a very pleasant place to stay. Within walking distance from the rail station and also the city attractions. Almost new with very comfortable room (and no stairs) and lovely hosts. Good "pub" type meals just around the corner. We stayed two nights but would have loved to stay a week.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

B&B with two accommodations: a big room (90-100 €) and a small room (70 €). We stayed two nights in the big room. It is modern but cosy, very clean and has a lot of space, a king-size double bed and two armchairs. Bathroom with WC and shower. TV and WLAN available but we did not use them. The entrance of the room is in a courtyard shared with other flats of this modern multi-storey building. Not a romantic Amsterdam house but not an unpleasant building either. Possibility to sit in the courtyard or on the quiet Westerdok with its boathouses. About 10-15 minutes from main station and 5 minutes from the quiet Jordaan district, so a very good location on the whole. There are two minuses to the room: Nescafé instead of a real coffee for breakfast and butter/marmelade not in sufficient quantity (there is also cheese and ham and fruit). Another minus: sometimes loud vibration from the heating and hot water system behind a door from the big room. If you have sensitive ears it is better to sleep with ear protection.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bed & Breakfast Batavia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Batavia

Address: Westerdok 742, 1013 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast Batavia offers quiet and privacy right around the corner of one of the busiest shopping and dining areas in Amsterdam. You can walk in 5 minutes to the cosy Jordaan district. The Central Station, the Anne Frank House, Dam Square, the red-light district and China town are all within walking distance. After a day of sightseeing you can unwind in the comfort of your room. Your stay will be a pleasant one! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed & Breakfast Batavia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.