We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff and excellent location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Allure

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Allure to your Saves list
Hotel Allure
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Sarphatistraat 117-119, 1018 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book with discount!
Ranked #120 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Helpful staff and excellent location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Mere steps to a metro and tram stop, and a short walk over the Amstel river to the heart of Amsterdam (almost a straight shot to many tourist destinations). It was easy to venture off for the day and return to drop off bags or grab a coat. The neighborhood was very safe (stayed alone one night and felt comfortable) and though we stayed in a basement room we were not disturbed by noise from the street or other guests. The staff is extremely accommodating, providing an adapter when ours broke and allowing us to print boarding passes. The breakfast was very reasonably priced and offered a good selection. The front desk was always willing to provide information and spent a good deal of time discussing options with me for what smaller town to take the train in for a day, and his recommendations were great. Wifi costs but there are computers in the lobby available for free use (and a bar with free wifi nearby). The room and bathroom were clean and more spacious than expected from a small-scale European hotel. Overall very impressed, and we would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: From basement rooms you can hear the tram early in the evening and hear high-heels walking by very c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    122
    33
    6
    3
See reviews for
15
107
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

This is a great hotel in a quiet area of Amsterdam; public transportation is just off the block and a grocery store is just down the road. Room size is great and it serves as a great base to explore the city. The only downside is that the wifi is sometimes not very reliable. However, the staffs are extremely friendly and they will work with you to solve your problems.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Allure from the 20th of April 2014 until the 25th (five nights/four days), and had chosen it after quite an exhaustive search a few weeks earlier. The reviews on this site were very positive (some of the best I’d read) and I had looked at around forty other places before settling for this hotel. I have to say right from the word go, that the glowing reviews on here for the Allure, are thoroughly deserved and utterly warranted! It is a family run concern, and the staff there are amongst the friendliest, most helpful and attentive I have ever experienced. The rooms are clean, and I mean immaculately clean, and were very well presented, comfortable and adequately equipped. The toilet/shower room was a very nice, usable size and come complete with hair dryer, soaps and shower gel. The beds were really comfortable (and I have a recognised back condition) and we both got a very good nights sleep. The linens and towels were changed twice during our five night stay, and the only thing we had to request from the front desk was tea and coffee supplies. The breakfast was an extra charge, €7.50 in advance, or €10.00 on the day, and whilst not particularly cheap, it is an all you can eat affair, with a very good variety of produce supplied (tea, coffee, cereal, toast, rolls, cold meats, eggs, fresh fruit, fruit juice, yoghurt's, waffles etc). Location wise it is excellent! Just a couple of minutes walk to the metro and tram. The former just three stops from Amsterdam centraal, and the latter just three stops from the Leidseplein, and five (with one change) from Rembrandt square. I really can't sing this hotels praises enough, and it would be utterly suitable for all but the most picky of travellers. The only thing slightly negative for me was the price we paid to stay there. It certainly wasn't the cheapest, but I believe it was because it was the week before Koningsdag (Kings day) that the prices were a little higher than normal. Even with this though, I don't regret booking it for an instant, and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone visiting the vibrant city of Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Area is generally very quite. Back rooms are better for lighter sleepers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I booked this place by mistake but it was not a very bad one..Its nice neat and clean place with Tram and bus station only 200 meters away...its isolated from all the tourist rush in Central. you have to purchase WiFi access but its not that bad.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Good location, a walk away from the city centre. Clean rooms, very nice and helpful staff, very good value for money. Breakfast with a reasonable number of options.
The best surprise I had was after leaving the hotel, when, at the airport I realised I had forgotten my phone in the hotel room and the hotel staff was kind enough to make all arrangements so that I would get my mobile back. Many thanks, again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I slept for only one night in this hotel, however it was great experience. The staff are really nice and i really love the room, but unfortunately the location is not that close from the center. And it was not that expensive i spent 63 euro per night include wifi (4 euro)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We've stayed in Amsterdam for 5 days and found this hotel very comfortable for many reasons: its position is great (very close to the city centre - it's easy to walk till there - and linked to it by many buses and trams) and the neighbourhood is very quiet; the rooms are perfect for two people, quite small for three (we had to book two triple rooms beacuse of the vacancies and since we were six) but still comfortable; the whole hotel (which is composed of two separate aisle) is very clean and everything works; the personnel is very kind and helpful and always present (at any time, from early morning until late night). Breakfast is not included and I would not recommend it since it costs 5-10 euros and it's not a good deal. There is no free wifi but there are two computers customers can use. Rooms are generally small, but have everything one would need and incredibly warm, comfortable beds. Prices are fair (we found our rooms to be almost cheap, given the fact we went there in August and the proximity to the city centre). I recommend this hotel to those not-too-exigent travellers who want a comfortable place where to rest after a long day of visits.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Allure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Allure

Address: Sarphatistraat 117-119, 1018 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Allure 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Allure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Allure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.