We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise Italian treat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bussia

Bussia
Reestraat 28-32, 1016DN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
+31(0)20 6278794
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 2,328 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Surprise Italian treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Went for lunch on a weekend. Easy to find in the "nines".

Simple menu of only half dozen choices. All beautifully done with care and attention to detail. The skate was superb.

Only downside was a bit of rowdy noise coming from the open kitchen crew that changed the otherwise lovely ambience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    84
    25
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great dinner, last night of vacation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We reserved this restaurant on the basis of trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed. My husband had the 4 course menu - I ordered a la carte and had a main and a dessert. All of our food was amazing, as was the wine. I had the fish of the day (turbot), which was perfectly prepared. Even the breadsticks were awesome.

The apricot soufflé for dessert is not to be missed. You do need to wait a bit, but it is worth the wait.

I see another reviewer said that their meal was late, and not as ordered - if anything I felt we were a little rushed but really it was fine. We saw other diners taking more time - though one table had more people and more courses so of course that is understandable. Our server was quite attentive and all dishes arrived as requested. She also did ask about food allergies (not an issue for us, so not a problem but I do appreciate that the question was asked).

We were seated upstairs, and it did get a little loud as happy conversations from downstairs tended to drift upstairs so it was difficult for the two of us to chat. That would be my only negative comment.

Our servers were appropriately friendly and attentive. I could watch the kitchen from my seat, and could see the care taken with every dish.

The food was incredible and this was a lovely way to end our vacation.

Oh - I should mention perhaps that I booked online. They would not confirm until I gave them a mobile number; then in the afternoon they called to confirm, left a message and asked that I call them back.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A very cool experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

A great find in Amsterdam! Very tasty food, great value, lovely ambience.
We were greeted by Nathalie, the restaurant owner, who ensured that we had a wonderful experience in the restaurant. So very friendly.
This was a 5* meal with 5* service. I will definitely be re-visiting on my next trip.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“heavenly experience for all senses!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

It was one of top 5 restaurant's diners I have ever had. I went for a chef testing menu (4 dishes) and everything, absolutely everything, was delicious. furthermore, they way food was served was also delightful enabling you to add more senses to the fest experience. service was very attentive and nice. absolutely worth going for a diner there. however, make sure you book in advance as it is almost impossible to get the table when you walk in especially during a weekend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“How Is this restaurant rated no. 6?!?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

What a disaster! We either are at a totally different restaurant or it was just a bad night for them. How can we be seated at 6 pm and our entrees arrive at 7:45 and they get the order wrong?!? We started off with the waiter Roy and after he helped and then served us each a glass of wine, he then took our orders and totally disappeared without anyone ever explaining why. When our starters were brought out by a female waitress who explained each one in detail to us, we thought she was one of the chefs. After finishing our starters, which were very small for what they cost, we waited 45 minutes for our entrees. My husband asked if they could make a side order of pasta with white sauce to go along with his lamb entree. Roy said he would check with the chef. He came back and said that they would do it. I ordered the pork entree. When the food was finally delivered, they only brought the side order of pasta for him. My husband was starving because we were out sightseeing all day and hadn't eaten much. How could a waiter assume my husband only wanted a small bowl of pasta? And on top of that, they explained that making that dish was special and something they don't usually do. Please -- boiling pasta in water and an experienced chef being inconvenienced by making a cream sauce?!? Even I could do that. The problem we had is that we couldn't confront "disappearing " Roy about the confusion on the order. After a total of 3 glasses of wine, 2 starters and 1 entree and a side order of pasta with a huge spoonful of "cream sauce" on top, the bill arrived and it was 108 euros. Such a waste of time and money. My lamb dish was nothing special. I think all the time and what they charge is for the presentation of the food - with all the foam, special touches on the plate, etc. sure that's nice, but so is tasty, filling, timely and reasonably priced for what you get, which was lacking in our food. This restaurant is definitely overpriced and overrated.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bussia also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Bussia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bussia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.