We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasting menu-very good but very expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bussia

Bussia
Reestraat 28-32, 1016DN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
+31(0)20 6278794
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 2,435 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Tasting menu-very good but very expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I ate here in December 2013 with a colleague after a long day in work. The tasting menu was good to very good and the service was great. I'm reserving the 5th tripadvisor star for two reasons. The main course part of the menu was skate, which was only ok,(not usually a sweet person but the dessert was an amazing mix of chocolate treats), and I felt the meal was a little too expensive than it should have been(just a little bit)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    91
    26
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Number One Restaurant Choice in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We first discovered Bussia 3 years ago and fell in love with it, eating two dinners there during our in 4 night stay. We knew we had to try it again to see if it was as good as we remembered. We were not disappointed and agree with one reviewer that it was one of the best meals we've had anywhere.

After a delightful palate teaser, we began with the soup of the day, bean soup. The flat bowl arrived with artfully positioned dollops of gorgonzola, beans, crispy pillows of pastry over which was poured a creamy bean puree. The flavors and textures were carefully designed to complement each other making for a flavorful taste treat. The wild duck was served three ways--a duck breast, duck confit rolled in a cabbage leaf and duck in a crispy rice crust. Constructions of yellow and red beets accompanied the duck. It was absolute heaven!

The service was excellent and the server informative without being preachy or overbearing. We will long remember our outstanding meal and will surely return the next time we visit Amsterdam.

Bussia is conveniently located in the 9 street shopping/restaurant district in the west side of the city and around the corner from the Pulitzer Hotel.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Totally first class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Easily one of the top 2 or 3 dining experiences ever, anywhere. From the layout of the room to the service to the food and wine pairings, this was a superb evening. Elegant without being stuffy, nouvelle without being snobby, and truly delicious. We wil not visit Amsterdam without a return visit to Bussia.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Visited as a couple for a birthday celebration. The restaurant was full and had quite a buzz. Service was efficient given the number of diners, although we were served by a variety of staff and so the experience was affected by not having a connection with any one waitress.

Would describe the food as mediocre. Endeavouring to be high end in it's presentation but lacked flavour and intensity and sadly everything we received was luke warm.

Wines were available by the glass and we thought bottles were expensive compared to other comparable restaurants we dined in during our stay.

Not a restaurant we'll return to.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Bussia is fine restaurant and attentive waitresses”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Bussia is good situated in the centre of Amsterdam. The building and the interior has a natural class. A plus is also the open kitchen and the care of the attentive waitresses. The kitchen is rather modern than traditional Italian. The dinner plates are beautifully dressed. Tip when you want a table in the weekend you had to make reservation. Buon appetito!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bussia also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Bussia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bussia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.