We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mediocre” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bussia

Bussia
Reestraat 28, 1016dn Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
+31(0)20 6278794
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 2,245 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Ashford
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Visited as a couple for a birthday celebration. The restaurant was full and had quite a buzz. Service was efficient given the number of diners, although we were served by a variety of staff and so the experience was affected by not having a connection with any one waitress.

Would describe the food as mediocre. Endeavouring to be high end in it's presentation but lacked flavour and intensity and sadly everything we received was luke warm.

Wines were available by the glass and we thought bottles were expensive compared to other comparable restaurants we dined in during our stay.

Not a restaurant we'll return to.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    292
    80
    21
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bruges, Belgium
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Bussia is fine restaurant and attentive waitresses”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Bussia is good situated in the centre of Amsterdam. The building and the interior has a natural class. A plus is also the open kitchen and the care of the attentive waitresses. The kitchen is rather modern than traditional Italian. The dinner plates are beautifully dressed. Tip when you want a table in the weekend you had to make reservation. Buon appetito!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worthy of its name ;-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I am relatively often in Amsterdam and one of my very best friends live in Bussia, yet for some reason I had for sometime I had decided no to go here, f you want Piemontese food, go to Piemonte, or so I thought. Well, it may not be classical Piemontese food, but is fantastic. Both the pasta and the risotto blew me a way, the pike perch was delightfull and the gorgonzola was among the best I have ever had

The service was good, very attentive to detail, and I got good advice on wine as well as grappa. I will most certainly come back to "Bussia"

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

my wife and I visited after reviews on tripadvisor - we weren't disappointed. We had the balcony table with a great view of the plating up area which was fantastic to watch four chefs create our fish of the day dish. My wife was a little intimidated by the male waiter, but we only saw him at the start at the ladies were fantastic.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds,UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Romantic Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

A lovely meal enjoyed by my girlfriend and I, both went for the tasting menu and we were not disappointed, although quite expensive when you add the selected wine course, it was still good value for money

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bussia also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Been to Bussia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bussia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.