We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy and innovative” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bussia

Bussia
Reestraat 28-32, 1016DN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
+31(0)20 6278794
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 2,444 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Jordaan
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Classy and innovative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is a real beacon of fine wine and food in Amsterdam. The wine and food of Northern Italy was artfully presented and the service was exceptional. I had the sweetbreads and black pudding as a starter and it was heavenly! Lamb 3 ways was also outstanding - a little Moroccan pastilla, lamb shank and loin with white asparagus to reflect the season....in a city that offers raw new season's herring as a "gourmet delight" too! The staff were deeply knowledgeable about Italian wine and food matching, finding a refined 2009 Nebbiolo for the lamb at a reasonable price. Do go!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    91
    26
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Had a business dinner here, a group of 6. We took the 4 plate option, with matching wines. Actually had 5 wines. The staff are very knowledgable about the food and the wines, and why the wines had been picked to go with the food. The food servings were a little small. The restaurant was full, and bookings are required you want to get in. It's not cheap, €550 for the 6 people, but this included 5 bottles of wine. One of our party was veg, and they modified her dishes as required. Topped of with an excellent grappa and espresso made this memorable visit. I will return at the first opportunity.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Outstanding experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Had dinner there while visiting Amsterdam. Overall it was an outstanding experience with delicious food and very attentive staff. Good wine selection.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
“Very good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I went to Bussia with my husband during our stay in amsterdam in may 2013 .. It was a rainy day and we asked the receptionist of our hotel to reserve a table for us in a restaurant of his choice , we have to say we were possitive surprised .. WE both had and loved our pasta dishes they were AMAZING !!!!!!! our waiter was also very good , attentive and polite we felt like we knew him for ages ... Thankyou Bussia for the amazing night

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Ontario
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“excellent Italian with modern flair”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Lovely restaurant, wonderful service and truly delicious food. The upstairs seating overlooks the beautiful open kitchen, the restaurant is romantic, the wine list excellent, the service even better. The tasting menu ( we did 4 course ) was great value but did not shortcut on wonderful preparation and presentation of the dishes. Best dining experience we had in Amsterdam!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bussia also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Bussia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bussia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.