We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam At Home Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Amsterdam At Home Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Amsterdam At Home Bed & Breakfast
Korte Keizerstraat 12, Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 324 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wonderful B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

A charming B&B in the heart of Amsterdam, close to everything and at the same time very quiet street. Our host Christel was so nice and helpful, and gave us good advice where to go and what to see. Our apartment was spacious and homely. We couldn't be more satisfied with our stay. We will definitely come back on our next trip to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
74
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is our second stay at Christel & Hans' Bed and Breakfast apartment. I would highly recommend it; it has everything for a great stay in this wonderful city. It is ideally located to explore all the central locations, but it's quiet and pretty location makes it feel like of a small village. It has all the Amsterdam attractions in such close proximity, but the local restaurants and bars make you feel part of the Amsterdam life rather than a tourist.

The apartment has everything a couple or family would need to have a hassle free weekend, including self catering facilities, honesty bar (this is a great touch...your own Heineken bar), dining area, comfortable sofa, large bedroom, hairdryer, two toilets, etc.

Christel is a great host providing local knowledge to help fulfil your Amsterdam dreams.

If you want a memorable stay in an authentic Amsterdam home (not a soulless hotel) in one of the best central locations then this is the place for you. We will be back very soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed in the 2-floor apartment for 5 days with a friend and we both felt we couldn't have found a better place to stay. It ticked all the boxes - perfect central location, pleasant atmosphere, homely, spacious, quiet, and having a lovely, welcoming host who told us all the best places to go was an added bonus! We had everything we needed and the self-catering facilities gave us that extra bit of flexibility which helped us feel truly relaxed. If you want a taste of what it's like to live in Amsterdam instead of feeling like just another tourist cooped up in a claustrophobic hotel room, this is definitely the place to go. Thank you for helping make our stay perfect! :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

A two-floor house in a quiet, charming neighborhood 2 blocks from Nieuwmarkt. Lots of space and light; a useful kitchen with refrigerator, stove, sink, and dishes; a helpful and friendly owner. Very good value and excellent location: two short blocks from the Metro, and while quiet very close to restaurants and shops. One feature to note is a steep, winding stair between the two floors of the house: not for anyone with mobility issues.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Personally, I find generic hotels soul-less and impersonal. This B&B is anything but. This is a real taste of Amsterdam living in an area only a stone's throw from the Amsterdam buzz - but equally far enough from the hustle and bustle for a good night's sleep. The hosts Christel and Hans are charming and on hand to direct you about business or pleasure. I stayed in the studio apartment whilst working for the week - lovely furnishings, added personal touches and less than a minute's walk to Newmarkt Metro station.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Hi,

My boyfriend and I stayed last weekend here and we loved the place! V.clean + homy, well situated and in a calm area. Christel and her husband are v nice and really helpful! I totally recommend Ámsterdam at Home, and will definitely come back when I visit again Ámsterdam.
Thanks
Lxxx

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Having spent two nights at this beautiful, warm and cosy astmospheric apartment i can only praise it. We were instantly welcomed by her when we arrived and recieved helpful tips and advice about the city. The apartment was beyond our expectations and felt like a second home, with a fully stocked kitchen of food and beverages including beers (only 1euro which we were thrilled about!). The location is perfect and very central, everything is in walking distance. This apartment was truely amazing, I wish we could of stayed longer and I hope to stay again! Thank you so much Christel, you are such a lovely woman. Emma Salahi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam At Home Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam At Home Bed & Breakfast

Address: Korte Keizerstraat 12, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 324 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam At Home is the ideal place to stay for a rememberable Amsterdam stay! Two private and independent units are available in this beautiful historical house in the oldest part of Amsterdam. Both the studio and the 2-floor apartment come with private entrance, free wifi, bathroom & kitchen.Come stay with us, we promise it will be unforgettable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Amsterdam At Home Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam At Home Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.