We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly at Home but Even Better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam At Home Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Amsterdam At Home Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Amsterdam At Home Bed & Breakfast
Korte Keizerstraat 12, Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Austin, TX
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Truly at Home but Even Better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Amsterdam at Home was one of our favorite parts of our European trip. We found Amsterdam at Home by reading great reviews of the place on tripadvisor! It did not disappoint. We did not do much research into its location, so we took a cab from the train station after arriving from Paris. We should have just walked as the B&B is very close to central train station. No more than a 10 minute walk to Neumarkt square, where the house is only 2 blocks past. The street is red brick and the black tarred house is one of many row houses situated amongst the canals.

Christel (owner, hostess) was awaiting our arrival, and warmly welcomed us in to her home. The place was truly perfect with a long farmhouse table as the focus of the first floor. There was a small bar and kitchen counter top area. There was a loveseat and small TV, but we did not turn it on, so I can't speak to that. This room was light colors and felt very warm. A white spiral staircase leads you to the bedroom and bathroom upstairs. The bed and bath are truly wonderful. All in white, the bedroom was very large and relaxing, allowing us great sleeps and friendly dreams. Windows stretch end to end giving a good view of the row houses across the street, as well as canal to your right. You can see up and down the block a ways (you'll notice a space invader on the building to your left!)

Christel asked us what we were interested in and gave us great suggestions for our stay in Amsterdam. Her recommendations were spot on including markets, parks and one of our new favorite restaurants, Van Beeren. This place was terrific, and a must visit if you're staying at the B&B. I'm sure she'll tell you all about it.

Christel rented us the house bikes, which were key to seeing the city. Do not go to Amsterdam and not bike! You must see the city by bicycle. It's the best way. We also hopped on the canal cruise while touring around town. This was a more calm and relaxing trip through the city and had some narration for key attractions. There were far less near tram death experiences on the boat (my wife = not the best biker). But don't let that mislead you. The city is well laid out with bike lanes and even bike traffic lights. I highly suggest biking everywhere!

We enjoyed coffeehouses, markets, fried fish, thai food, parks and many cold, friendly beers, and I can't wait to get back. Our stay was far too short. I want to thank Christel and Amber for their help and hospitality! We loved Amsterdam!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
67
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

By far this was the best B&B experience I have ever had! Christel is the perfect host, was there to greet my daughter and I with such a warm welcome. We arrived mid morning after an overnight flight from the states and she was great advising us what to do to keep us going that first day. We took advantage of the recommendations she made for resturants both nights we were there and they were excellent. Both walking distance from B&B. I would not stay anywhere else on my next trip to Amstradam and have told all my friends this is the place to stay! Thank you Christel and Hans!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelathome, Owner at Amsterdam At Home Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Many thanks for the great review.
A review like this one gives us even more inspiration to continue new things to surprise our lovely guests

Many thanks and hopefully we may welcome some point in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Over the last few years we have taken up the practice of either staying at B & B's or renting accommodations... Staying at Christel and Han's B & B just reinforced the reasons we so enjoy it. They are such lovely hosts and their property is charming. Greeting us upon arrival with much appreciated refreshments... Providing us with tips on what to see, where to eat and how to travel... Making sure we had every thing we could need... And then some (a lovely Dutch apple pie). And let's not forget the accommodation itself... You enter an open concept living area that just says... sit and relax. Our room was up a flight of curved stairs and upon entering you see a lovely sized room with a queen size bed, ensuite bathroom with shower and sitting area. Our visit to Amsterdam was made so much more enjoyable by staying here and we hope to return soon.

Room Tip: We choose the upper level room but they do have a charming lower level room as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed at Amsterdam at home B & B for eight nights while I was in Amsterdam for a trade show. I attend this show every year and I normally stay at hotel but this year I decided to look for B&B instead. It def was a good decision, much nicer than staying at a hotel, much more space and much more comfortable. I also saved lots of money as normally hotel is extremely expensive during the convention. The room was clean and well organized. The best part of this place was Christel (owner) and her husband. They were both so kind and helpful, I hate traveling for work but Christel madethis business trip much more enjoyable. Location of this inn is great, only 2-3 min walk from Nieuwmarkt station and central station was about 10 min away. There were many good restaurants nearby, Christel has great recommendations, too. I highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelathome, Manager at Amsterdam At Home Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Ikuyo,

Many thanks for your sweet words.
Hopefully everything worked out and are all your belongings with you again.
Hooefully we meet again next year and you know ther is more in life than work

Warm regards,
Christel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Christel and Hans really love this place. They are excellent hosts, and help made our stay in Amsterdam all the more enjoyable. 5-minute walk to De Wallen & RLD. 5-10 minute walk to Jewish Quarter, and even just a 10-15 minute walk from Amsterdam Central station!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liège
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I've already been to Amsterdam a couple of times and this is so far the most charming and valuable accommodation I've been to.

Location is just perfect: 10 minutes from the train station, next to the centre of the city, but most of all situated in a peaceful and quiet street. This is the first time I can actually have a good night sleep in Amsterdam !

The apartment is charming, decorated in a traditional "amsterdam way" but without being too tacky though. It is clean and comfortable, bedding is of good quality and the facilities are just complete.

Last but not least, the owners Cristel and Hans are really charming people, kind and helpful. They've definitely succeeded at making you feel "at home" in Amsterdam.
It was just a pleasure being there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

If you like to stay in unique accommodations in buildings that remain architecturally genuine to the city and offer an in-residence travel guide, a thoughtfully-prepared welcome package of maps,refreshments and ideas, modern conveniences, and easy accessibility to all that is Amsterdam, stay here. Also, Christel is splendid host. She offers no-fuss booking, insightful excursion tips, and stellar restaurant recommendations. She strikes the right balance between helpfulness and intrusiveness.

My parents and I stayed in the ground floor studio and enjoyed immediate access to Nieuwmarkt and very convenient access to the rest of Amsterdam via foot, canal boat, and metro. The studio is spacious with a modern kitchen and WC/shower. The studio is a bit dark, as it is the basement of an old canal house. Also, please be mindful that you will need to navigate a few steep stairs to access this studio but that only confirms its heritage.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam At Home Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam At Home Bed & Breakfast

Address: Korte Keizerstraat 12, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam At Home is the ideal place to stay for a rememberable Amsterdam stay! Two private and independent units are available in this beautiful historical house in the oldest part of Amsterdam. Both the studio and the 2-floor apartment come with private entrance, free wifi, bathroom & kitchen.Come stay with us, we promise it will be unforgettable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Amsterdam At Home Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam At Home Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.