We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful apartment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Vie en Rose B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added La Vie en Rose B&B to your Saves list
La Vie en Rose B&B
Nieuwezijdsvoorburgwal 90 B, 1012 SG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 186 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed at La Vie en Rose for two nights at the end of July. We had the second floor apartment, which we had requested and it was ideal for us. The apartment is beautifully decorated, has everything you need to make your stay comfortable and even a fully equipped kitchen if you need it. We didn't use it but it was nice to know it was there if required. The apartments are in a good location for us, we've been to Amsterdam so many times and much prefer to stay around that area. There are loads of little bars, cafes and restaurants around if you dont want to walk down to Dam Square.

i would highly recommend the apartments if you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of a big hotel. They are very stylish and the beds are exceptionally comfortable.

The only downside is the stairs, but if you are relatively young and fit it shouldn't be a problem.

Thank you Christa and Yvon, we loved it.

Room Tip: The second floor apartment is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    26
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
66
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed in the studio apartment a couple of weeks ago, during the recent heatwave, and absolutely loved it. It had everything we needed - a great location, very comfortable, and the very nice touches of toiletries, tea and coffee being provided, which we didn't expect.

I can't fault the owners; they could not have been more helpful. Great recommendations for places to eat nearby. Yes, the stairs up to the apartment are very narrow and steep, but it's Amsterdam, and it all adds to the charm!

I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Not really a B&B as breakfast is not offered, this apartment is right in the heart of the tourist area near the Dam. It has a nice living area with kitchenette and a good shower/toilet but the tiniest bedroom just 18 inches wider than the bed. Suitcases must remain in the living area and even there the owners have goods in most cupboards.

In typical Amsterdam fashion there is no AC and we experienced unusually warm weather - the apartment was unbearable during the day, and still hot at night. Opening the windows meant street noise until after 3am.

Although the owners live upstairs they would not allow us to leave our bags upon arrival by morning flight until the apartment was available, but we found the cafe across the road very helpful - similarly for catching a taxi upon departure.

Yvon was very informative with a 'map' of nearby eateries, but quite unhelpful after the first night when we told her that we found the bottom sheet rough and hot and asked her for a cotton sheet. I dont think i have sensitive skin and have never before complained about linen in 40 years of travel. She said there was no alternative, but when I said I would purchase a cotton sheet myself she managed to find one for us.

My suggestion would be stay a little further out where it's quieter and use the excellent tram system or walk. If you wish a living room, the apartment would be nicer in cold weather!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christa H, Eigenaar at La Vie en Rose B&B, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay!

We are glad you liked the Apartment and about your enthusiasm when I checked you in and showed you around.

You booked us through booking.com and would like to notice That we are a B&B and That breakfast is optional as mentioned on the site.
You didnt book it

We found out That most of our guests like to enjoy making their own breakfast at their own convenience and preferred time in their own kitchenette or eat breakfast at one of the many breakfast places in our direct area.
Our breakfast is served at the little restaurant which you enjoyed, across the street, the one That we arranged for you to store your luggage upon your early arrival at 7 am in the morning.
You mentioned That we live in the Same building and refused to let you leave luggage at our private home on the 4th Floor of the Apartment building.
We tried to explained you, before your arrival in several emails That we just do not have the storage space in the building and it would not be an option to Carry it upon the steep stairs of ht building to the 4th Floor, where we dont have storGe space And if we did, we wouldnt want to disturb the present guests at 7 am in the morning by walking up and down the stairs while They are still sleeping.
We were sure you would understand once you saw our building and stairs upon your arrival.
We always ask guests to store luggage in the nearby lockers at central station and it works very well.
Since you really did not want This we arranged for you to be able to store your luggage at the befriended little breakfast restaurant as an exception.
They actually do not have the storage space but helped in This matter as you did not accept our alternative.

You reserved the Apartment with the small separate bedroom, so yes, it is a bit small but has a large bed in it with Some closets and a tv.
The other Apartment has a langer, more open bedroom.

I am sorry for the exceptional hot weather during your stay. With the Windows open, you can open all 8 large Windows for a Nice breeze and ofcourse, being in the middel of the city center you Will hear the city noise.
Its better to close the insulated soundproof Windows at night and Use the two big vans for a good sleep.
We can not place an A-C system in our monumental building but I can assure you if you would be staying in a hotel with A-C or outside the area it would be far more uncomfortable as you would not be able to open a window or have a window;)
Its only a few days a Year That these temperatures occur.

About the bedsheets, i did not quite understand, as you mentioned the bed sheets were nylon and like scent paper and you were disrespectful when i tried to explain the sheets were 97% Cotton and 3% elastan.
To be honest, I was a bit hurt when you shouted That if I didnt get you a new sheet, you would go and buy one yourself and turned your back to me.
I was not at all unwilling to help but did not know if I had what you wanted and tried to understand what was wrong.
Maybe This is a normal way of communicating in your opinion but I am not used to be treated like that.
I managed to find you another one in my private collection of which you approved and we managed to solve the problem.
I dont See how That is unservicable?
I mentioned That your happiness and good sleep was important and That we would do anything as long as you were happy. After all, you had a very long flight from australia and were up over 30 hours without sleep.

We really hope you did enjoy Amsterdam to the fullest and That you would ever come back so we could drink That Baileys on Ice you offered me!

All the best to both of you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Spent 6 nights at this lovely little apartment. Owners lovely - gave us a hand drawn map with lots of recommendations for restaurants & things to see. Carried our bags up and down the stairs for us which was great! Perfect location in the heart of Amsterdam with supermarket close by.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Lezion, Israel
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Everything was perfect, right in the center, the apartment was beautiful and has everything you need (kitchen, coffee machine), the bed are very comfortable.and the owners are wonderful, helped us and was very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Me and my wife have just returned from a weekend break at the La vie en Rose Amsterdam & had a fab time, great location, the apartment is clean & has everything you need, coffee machine/kitchenette/ TV etc etc, beds are very comfy, all bars restaurants & museums are a short walk away & 5 mins from central station, we met our host Christa on arrival who was very pleasant & helpful on places to visit, thanks Christa.
I would definitely return

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

There are two apartments, one above the other, and the owners live on the top floor, which made it a perfect place to stay as you have the independence of your own place with the help and security of the of the owners being on site. Christa and Yvon gave us a wonderful welcome, friendly and informative and always available for more information and communication by text. They provide up to date maps and leaflets and have gone to the trouble of drawing their own diagram of the area with recommendations which they update regularly. The apartments are both beautiful: or friends might write a review of theirs, which was on the first floor. We were on the second floor in the one described as a studio, though in reality, you do feel as though you have a separate bedroom as it is a completely separate area from the wonderful, light-filled living room. (See photo) The whole place is immaculate and so very comfortable: we felt at home in the city straight away. There are beautiful original art-works on the walls, fresh flowers, healthy and well-loved plants. I loved the antique chest at the foot of the bed, and the wardrobe was also a lovely antique piece. (This is really not a place for children - I am puzzled why anyone would think this was a good place to stay with a small baby!) The beds were sooo comfortable with pristine white cotton bedlinen and lovely comfy pillows. The seating area has great big picture windows which open in two ways, allowing a lovely breeze to waft through the apartment, and the double-glazing is astonishingly effective, enabling us to have a well-earned siesta above the busy streets. You really are perfectly-placed here: only 5 minutes walk or a short tram-ride from the station, near to Dam Square and yet only two minutes walk from the beautiful canals and in easy access of the nine streets. There are really excellent restaurants in easy walking distance, and plenty of shops to pick up your Prosecco! The kitchenette is equipped with a great coffee machine and the owners even supply plenty of coffee and tea of top-quality. The bathroom is great too, with a wonderful big walk-in shower and a counter-top basin which I now want to buy for my own bathroom! All-in-all, a perfect stay in this fantastic city.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Vie en Rose B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Vie en Rose B&B

Address: Nieuwezijdsvoorburgwal 90 B, 1012 SG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 186 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a historic town house, B&B La Vie En Rose offers comfortable, bright-colored spacious apartments with free Wi-Fi in the center of Amsterdam. Dam Square and Central Station are half a minute away. La Vie En Rose's spacious apartments have a private entrance and private bath room and a kitchenette.All necessary utensils are provided.The apartments have 7 huge Windows with great city views! Anne Frank House, the Jordan area and Flower Market and most main attractions are a short walk away from B&B La Vie En Rose ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Budget Places so you can book your La Vie en Rose B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Vie En Rose Hotel Amsterdam
La Vie En Rose Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Vie en Rose B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.