We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, comfy and cute place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Vie en Rose B&B

Save Saved
You added La Vie en Rose B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Vie en Rose B&B
Nieuwezijdsvoorburgwal 90 B, Amsterdam 1012 SG , The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 171 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Porto Alegre, RS
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Lovely, comfy and cute place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Oh, what to say about this charming place without sounding cheesy? It is, without a doubt, the most lovely place I've ever been! It is not big or luxurious but has the most adorable atmosphere ever! Every little bit of the place seems to be thought to be cute. Yeah, cute is the word.
The host, Christa, is so nice and dedicated to their business.
They truly make you feel welcome!
Perfectly located, a few mins walk to Dam Square and all the other nice spots in the city!
Will stay again!

Room Tip: Everything is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christa H, Owner at La Vie en Rose B&B, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Samantha! We are so glad to read your lovely review! thanks for sharing it with us and the rest of the world;) Its been a real pleasure to read! We would love to see you back in Amsterdam !! all the best, christa and Yvon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    23
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
49
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

June 2013 - A wonderful place to stay. The hospitality and friendliness of Christa and Yvon made us feel right at home. Christa gave us some good tips and suggestions of what to do and where to go in Amsterdam. This is a great place to stay, clean, modern and located near all major sights and public transport. Will definitively recommend to anyone. Thanks again Christa and Yvon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This was so easy to find from the Central Station (just trace the route on Google Street View before leaving) and not far to walk if you are reasonably fit. Transport links are fantastic (and on time) and there is a wealth of interesting things to do and sights to see.

The Architecture in the area is so Dutch and you really feel like a local when you stay here. There is everything you need within half mile square radius. The food in the Indian restaurant across the road was fantastic, try it! An apple turnover and coffee for breakfast in the bakery next door was a treat.

The apartment was so comfortable we had to drag ourselves out and I totally agree with the 11th April comments.

Christa and Yvon were the perfect hosts welcoming us even at a later hour, providing a hand drawn map of the best places to eat and visit and topping up the coffee, milk and sugar when we arrived. They offered help and assistance at any time but no intrusion for the rest of the stay unless we needed something (which we didn't). There was a wealth of literature within the apartment about the local area, DVD's and books.There is enough of everything in the apartment for a 3 day stay and we never needed to top up on anything and it was spotlessly clean and tidy. The position was great and I could have sat at the window all day long and watched the world go by!

The Jordan area just through the alley at the side of the apartment building is beautiful and we spent a lot of time there. There is a market on a Saturday just a short walk into the Jordan with amazing stalls full of bread, cheese, meats, fungi, objet d'art and fresh cooked food stalls (market Street). The bridges and canals were just what I expected to see, the streets were quiet and the houseboats lovely.

All in all we loved this break and apartment! Thank you we had a lovely relaxing 3 days even in this bustling city thanks to the hard work of Christa and Yvon and their lovely apartment.

Room Tip: I think I would try the upper apartment next time it looked very nice and the view might have been e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Beautiful, superb place. A warning though: you'll be feeling so nice here you are going to find yourself not going out for an evening walk. Also, you will stay in bed all morning and you won't care about the rest of the city. Why? Guess why.
Thanks to Christa and Yvon for the warm welcome, and congratulations for creating such a lovely place.

Room Tip: Two rooms only, one on the first and one on the second floor. You can't go wrong. The stairs are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at La Vie En Rose. Very conveniently located for Centraal Station, we stayed in the most beautiful apartment just 5 minutes walk to Dam Square, and 10 minutes walk to Red Light District or Prinsengracht.

Located directly across the road from the Convent Hotel, you walk up a very steep flight of stairs to the apartment. It consisted of an open plan kitchen/dining room/lounge, bathroom and cosy bedroom. Very comfy bed and sofas, beautiful view out onto Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal and all the things we would need such as coffee, some milk, tour books, etc.

The hosts, Yvon and Christa, were absolutely lovely and treated us like old friends, even offering to keep our bags for us after checkout as our flight didn't leave 'til the evening. We would absolutely stay there again if we were back in Amsterdam - far better than getting a hotel!

PS The bakery next door does the most beautiful pains au chocolat!

Room Tip: Stairs are very steep - unsuitable for elderly, disabled or very small children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I had a wonderful stay at La Vie en Rose. It's location is great and the owner couldn't be more helpful. The apartment was very nicely furnished. It's little tricky to find however but that was probably due to my orientation skills. I'm sure that a quick call or email to the owner would have solved that very quickly. Overall I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We recently returned from a trip to Amsterdam, where we stayed at La Vie en Rose apartment no 1. Within minutes of arriving at The Central Station, we were in the street the apartment is located on. It was very easy to find on the street map we had.
On arrival we met our host Yvon who showed us to the apartment. Yes, the stairs to the apartment are steep but we had no problems taking our luggage up them. Yvon showed us every room of the apartment, and everything was sparkling clean and beautifully furnished. The main living room with the two beds/sofas with scatter cushions was perfect to come back to after a hectic days sight seeing, to chill out and relax with a glass of vino! Far nicer than your bog standard hotel room, and around the same price too!
The mini kitchen was well equipped with everything you need to make a meal or two inside if you so wish, which we did on a couple of occasions, although I must admit the food we ate out in Amsterdam was divine, but the option is there is you want to. The bedroom is small and very cosy, but not a problem as you have the rest of the apartment for space and relaxing in. The bathroom is a good size, very clean, with a powerful shower and good lighting. Yvon was very friendly and drew us a map with some recommendations of where to visit, and ideas of where to go and eat.
The location of the apartment is absolutely perfect, close enough to everything without even using transport. We were there for 5 days, maybe on the next trip we would venture further afield but for this trip we didn't need to. It was close enough that half way through the day you can pop back, freshen up and be on your merry way again! It is not smack in the middle of the really touristy bit, which suited us down to the ground. It is in a very nice area, with lots going on, restaurants, shops and a supermarket on the same street, and underneath is a cafe-bar, which I must add does the best cheeseburger and chips!
The whole area is a network of beautiful streets and canals, and you can wander for hours looking at the lovely architecture, or stop at a canal side cafe and indulge in a few hours of people watching!
The Anne Frank House is within walking distance, as is a lovely area called 'The Little 9 Streets', which was one of Yvon's recommendations, which we enjoyed very much.
So all in all we had a very hectic 5 days sightseeing, shopping, and eating lots of fabulous food, and La Vie en Rose was just perfect to come back to and chill out in, whilst in the perfect ambience created by our hosts with the beautiful furnishings and decor throughout the apartment.
We will be returning to Amsterdam, and I now no longer need to trawl the internet looking for the perfect place to stay as we have found it!

Thanks Yvon and Christa for making our trip special. :o)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Vie en Rose B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Vie en Rose B&B

Address: Nieuwezijdsvoorburgwal 90 B, Amsterdam 1012 SG , The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 171 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a historic town house, B&B La Vie En Rose offers comfortable, bright-colored spacious apartments with free Wi-Fi in the center of Amsterdam. Dam Square and Central Station are half a minute away. La Vie En Rose's spacious apartments have a private entrance and private bath room and a kitchenette.All necessary utensils are provided.The apartments have 7 huge Windows with great city views! Anne Frank House, the Jordan area and Flower Market and most main attractions are a short walk away from B&B La Vie En Rose ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your La Vie en Rose B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Vie En Rose Hotel Amsterdam
La Vie En Rose Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Vie en Rose B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.