We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Location, Nice Room with 'Grachten'-View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Luna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Luna to your Saves list
Casa Luna
Leliegracht 14, 1015DE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Munich, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Top Location, Nice Room with 'Grachten'-View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Perfect location in a typical old Grachten-house from 1616 (!), just 200m from the center of Amsterdam - will give you 100% Amsterdam feeling. We had the room with Grachten-view, 1st floor. Typical narrow stairway as in all Grachtenhouses (better use small suitcases). The room was very clean and nicely renovated with a modern, large enough bathroom. The room itself is about 25 sqm - walls, floor and ceiling are maintained in original style, carefully renovated. The windows extend over the full breadth and heigth of the room, ranging from 30 cm above the floor up to the ceiling (approx. 3 m). The modern furniture has been carefully selected, the doublebed is comfortable with good matresses. The owner, Mrs. Verbruggen, is very kind and speaks several languages.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nobleboro, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

Casa Luna is the perfect location for a stay in Amsterdam, and Maud Verbruggen the perfect hostess. Casa Luna is situated in a lovely, quiet neighborhood in the Jordaan district near the Anne Frank House. There are plenty of shops, cafes, and restaurants within a short walk. Dam Square is a 15 minute walk. Tram and bus lines are available near the West Church just past the Anne Frank House. Maud allows use of the kitchen, including the refrigerator, which we used for fruit and cheese purchased at the Saturday market at the North Church. Quiet, comfortable, a helpful hostess, and a perfect location. What more could you want in the delightful city of Amsterdam?

Room Tip: The front room is spacious and has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Belgium
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

Went there with a friend for a weekend. We walked from the station (15 min) not easy with the suitcases but feasible. Lovely area. Quiet. Maud gave us some very good advice for visits.We had one of the back rooms with a tiny bathroom.Very quiet, quite charming in a way, but simple. Not far from Anne Frank's house. We walked everywhere, had a great weekend.The front room is a lot bigger but has only a double bed. We needed two single beds so we got the back room. Nice but not as nice.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Casa Luna was a wonderful hotel centrally located in the Nine Streets area of Amsterdam. We could walk everywhere even though the museums were a bit of a hike. The room was enormous with a fabulous view of the canal. We had access to a full kitchen and had a cafe table and chairs in our room where we could have meals. Maud, the property manager, was very helpful with tips on restaurants, local sites, etc. She also lent us her laptop when ours would not pick up the wifi signal. We were very comfortable and would stay there again. The only drawback was the voucher for breakfast was a continental breakfast (croissant, juice, coffee) and had to be redeemed at a local cafe, not on site.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

A lovely old house in good location but the room was very very basic with bad smells in the bathroom and from the central window came smells and mosquitos. Need to spend a lot of money to make this value for the money spent by guests

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

A friendly welcome by Maud and a simple, low-key but really relaxing room (no TV a bonus) in a great location, 5 mins from Dam Sq and a few mins towards the Anne Frank and 'the' pancake restaurant. Perfect location for wandering around the city or just looking out the window and watching the world go by. Only a few moments walk to couple of other cafes and Cafe van Zuylen (where we thought the food was wonderful and went twice). The Canal Room was lovely, a bit of noise off the road but not too bad really as quite a quiet road on the whole and thought it worth it for the view. Simple facilities in the room (kettle/hairdryer - we didn't get shown the kitchen but we were always out anyway) and a lovely spacious bathroom. Recommended to us ... and one we'd recommend :o)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uelzen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

We've spent our Easter holidays at the Casa Luna, which I've had found via an internet research.
At our arrival the hotel owner Maud Verbruggen welcomed us at the door to the front room gallery, where works of different artists and her own works of art are exhibited. She speaks -besides Dutch- English and German.
In a very uncomplicated way we were shown to the room and were explained how to operate the kitchen which can be used by any tenant as long as nobody else gets disturbed. But as the house is a very quiet and calm place there is no danger of this happening.
We've had booked the canal room with a wonderful view over the small Leliegracht. This "street" is situated within the famous belt of canals -between the Herengracht and the Prinsengracht- around the center and close to the quiet and picturesque Jordaan -formerly a poor workmen's quarter- with lots of opportunities to get your everyday necessaties, especially for the breakfast. Everything is also either in walking distance or not far from a tram stop.
But now back to the house (take a look at the homepage www.casa-luna.nl, which gives you a good idea of the place). Although the stairs are Dutch standard and therefore narrow, everything else is extremely spacious. Enough room to even spend a couple of hours in the room during the day without having the feeling of missing something, because you are so wrapped up in real Amsterdam living.
I can really recommend this hotel for non-smoking people who love to spend a romantic and quiet holiday in an artistic and well-designed environment. It is worth every cent of the price asked.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Luna

Address: Leliegracht 14, 1015DE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic 17th century canalhouse, Casa Luna, in Amsterdam is dated 1616 ( the name comes from the ‘moon embedded in the facade’) , along one of the most beautiful canals and conveniently located in the old historic center of Amsterdam. Casa Luna is within walking distance from public transport and lots of restaurants and museums.It is close to the Anne Frank house and the famous Jordaan, just a short distance away from the central railway station and to the main shopping centers and museums. Casa Luna is perfectly located for travellers who want to explore the picturesque canal area of Amsterdam and like to stay in a tranquil surrounding. You can find Casa Luna on the Leliegracht, between the Keizersgracht and the Herengracht, close to Wester Church. Owner Maud Verbruggen has a Design Studio for visual and monumental art. The entrance hall is used as a galleryspace for presentations and exhibitions of contemporary art and design.TWO ROOMS: 'with a view' on canal or patio.Charming, fully-equipped bedrooms on the most beautiful canal of the 17th century city centre.The rooms consist of a large bedroom, a luxury en suite bathroom with shower, sink and toilet. All bed & bath linens, towels, hair dryer.Casa Luna is a non smoking residence. There is no tv (in the rooms) and no elevator. Be aware that the Amsterdam stairs are like ladders. There are no t.v.’s in the rooms. The whole residence is non smoking, no drugs.The rooms - Canal room and Patioroom - are available from Easter till december. It is advisable to book early. All rates are in euros, per night, excluding 6% VAT. and 5% Citytax.Minimum stay is three nights. Special days: four nights.Breakfast is not included. You can go for Breakfast at several places as close as 3 min. walk. We can offer you breakfast at the best location in the neighbourhood from 8:00 till 12:00. Sundays from 10:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Luna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.