We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Petit Prince

Save Saved
You added Petit Prince to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Petit Prince
Prinsengracht 232, 1016HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #10 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“True gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Our second visit to Petit Prince in the last year. Amsterdam itself is a great city, but I will say that one of the main reasons we came back so soon is this apartment. It's in the best location in Amsterdam. It is clean, safe and generously provisioned. Charles, the owner is very hands on and was always available for questions. He popped in regularly to check on us- on one occasion bringing Puccini chocolates ( google them ) and on another night silky, fresh nieuw herring. He knows the city cold and his restaurant recommendations were spot on. Iggy, Charles' associate is a wonderful, warm guy who also stops by daily with treats. Gilbert, the cleaning man is also very sweet always with a big smile. This place is a winner and very hard to leave when your time is up. We hope to return as soon as we can.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
58
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beziers, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The Petit Prince apartment is lovely - warm (and easy to top up with the fire when we came in from sightseeing), cosy and well-equipped. It is in a great location on the canal, easy walking distance to all the attractions but quiet at night. We spent hours just watching cyclists coming and going from the huge picture window.
Charles and Iggy looked after us extremely well, on hand should we have any questions or problems, and kept the fridge stocked up.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlesvanbattenberg, Owner at Petit Prince, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Hello Katy and David, great to see your wonderful comment, thank you ! I also like to thank for your kind words in the guest book. Your tips on highlights are helpful and I will pass them on to new guests. I feel happy that you also discovered that simply sitting in the apartment and watching out on the canal and bridge is already a fun thing to do ! :) Please contact me any next time directly and I'll be happy to give an attractive rate for you as a returning guest. Kindly, Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Just back from the Petit Prince we had a very warm welcome from Iggy and Charles was just so helpful with information of places to see and his favorite restaurants, the apartment was very well stocked with hams and cheeses and sweet nibbles including wine. We did not have the special deal on foods that Charles offered as our intention was to eat out. But as it turned out my husband wasn't well so we only managed afternoon excursions so we ate in the apartment. Amsterdam is a great place to walk around, lots of coffee houses and would recommend the Canal tours. Didn't make Anne Frank's as the queues were really long very time we went past. I guess the only downside are the pigeons that are everywhere and like to stomp about in the early hours of the morning. Overall, would recommend this lovely apartment especially at this time of the year as you can enjoy the fire and candles.

Room Tip: Loft was great except for the pigeons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlesvanbattenberg, Owner at Petit Prince, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Hello Margareth and Kelvin, thank you for your lovely comments. Together with Iggy it was a pleasure to look after you during your stay. Pigeons are all over in city and of and on on the chimney pipe and on the roof. Good chance that any other time they won't be there and that you won't hear the sound of pigeons. I feel happy that you had a chance to do a lot of discovering and sight seeing. Please come back again. You may try one of the other apartments I offer like PARK MANSION or PENTHOUSE or GARDEN SUITE. Contact me directly and I'll be happy to give you a favourable offer since you are going to be a returning guest ! :) Kindly, Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had a very lovely stay at the Petite Prince Loft in Amsterdam. Charles and his staff were very attentive to our needs and made personal accomodations per our requests. We were traveling in the winter and it was very cold outside, but warm and comfortable inside. Great location in the center of town close to everything. Great views of the canal outside the picture windows. We only turned the fireplace off when we left for our daily excursions. :) Very well appointed apartment to help make our stay convenient and comfortable. Thank you Charles!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlesvanbattenberg, Owner at Petit Prince, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hi Sean, thank you for your very kind comments. This is much appreciated. It was good meeting you and it was fun doing little things to enhance your stay. Please do come again, Try next time to stay a bit longer so you can get even more feeling of the (slower) Amsterdam pace :) Contact me directly and I'll be happy to offer you a friendly rate and good arrangement. Kindly, Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Our 4 day stay was perfect, our delayed flight had caused us a late arrival but this was not a problem for Charles who made sure we felt very welcome by greeting us with a warm lit fire and a glass of bubbly, he showed us around the beautiful apartment and made sure we were perfectly comfortable before leaving us to enjoy our first evening relaxing whilst looking out over the amazing view of the canal. The fridge was well stocked and we were very happy! Over the next few days we always felt perfectly cared for whilst having full privacy, knowing that Charles and his assistant were on hand if ever we needed anything. How nice it was to come back to unexpected treats left by our hosts of fresh pastries and cakes in the apartment, after an afternoon walking along the canals, visiting small galleries and lovely old pubs. Delightful experience thoroughly recommended, the location is perfect, in one of the loveliest parts of Amsterdam, away from the bustle of tourists yet within walking distance of everything. if you are wondering if this is a good place to book I can assure you it is!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I can only echo what has been said in so many earlier reviews. A perfect spot, a welcoming and knowledgeable host who genuinely wants to make your stay special, a stylishly designed apartment where it is a pleasure simply to sit and watch and absorb the atmosphere. A delight. I wholeheartedly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: There are two apartments which both look lovely. We stayed in the loft which had the edge for me in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This was our second stay at le petit prince. The previous 14 visits were spent in hotels. There is just no comparison. The privacy, availability of all kinds of delicious food and drink at all times, the fresh flowers replaced every 4 days, the cozy fireplace, location, view, hospitality, a 5 star experience across the board! Thank you Charles. Le petit prince is magnifique!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Petit Prince? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Prince

Address: Prinsengracht 232, 1016HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Petit Prince reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Prince Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petit Prince, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.