We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Haven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Petit Prince

Save Saved
You added Petit Prince to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Petit Prince
Prinsengracht 232, 1016HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #22 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Romantic Haven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Petit Prince is a beautifully decorated apartment, situated right on the canal and within walking distance to some of the best shops and restaurants in town! The apartment was well stocked with all sorts of food, snacks and drinks (we even came back to the apartment one day to find a home made apple pie... it was simply DELICIOUS!) We stayed at the loft for 3 days but wish we could have stayed there for more. Our hosts made every effort to ensure that our stay was comfortable and insisted on meeting our every needs large or small. If you are planning a trip to Amsterdam, make sure to check out the Petit Prince (especially if you are on romantic getaway).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
58
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Petit Prince is a very stylish apartment with beautiful view and conveniently lcoated. It is the best hotel we ever statyed. When we looking out the window at the beautiful night canal, sitting on the coach with the warm lovely music, we wish we can stay here for a longer time. What a wonder place to stay! Thank you Charles for your warm welcome, candles, wines, home-made apple pies, fresh fruits, flowers, great restaurant recommendations ... and also Beatriz for your kindness, cheese, daily notes that all make us feel very warm and like at home. Hope we can come back sometimes!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was a very special stay in our beloved Amsterdam for my wife, my son and me. Charles and Beatriz took care of us like we were family. The apartment was perfectly located, well appointed and spotlessly clean. The kitchenette was positively bursting with treats. If one had wanted to, one could have snacked at the apartment the whole visit. At night, with the candles flickering in the hurricane lanterns, one had a very special ambience indeed. Beatriz, a true gem, checked in with us every day. I have stayed at " self-catering" apartments elsewhere and have never experienced this level of care and concern. We always felt very safe at the apartment and it was nice and quiet at night. Truly, we didn't want to leave. Oh well, hopefully there will be a next trip. Thank you Charles and Beatriz.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Amazing!
What a wonderful place to stay.
Great location, with a beautiful view from the window...
Charles and Beatriz were always very kind and helpful.
Every evening there was a nice surprise waiting for us: good wine, homemade apple pie, chocolates!
We loved it!
Everything was really perfect and staying at Petit Prince was the best part of our trip to Europe!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a real Amsterdam feel then this is it. The feeling of having breakfast whilst overlooking the water and watching bikes ride past. It does seem expensive however a lot of your food is included such as wine, cheese, breakfast goods etc.

Breatriz who looks after the units for the owner was a very big help and very friendly. She took the time to explain anything you wanted and gave some great recommendations!! Thank you again Beatriz!!

We had stayed at another a few weeks later for 1 night which was near central which is very busy. This did not compare at all to this place. We are already planning our trip back an it will be here if we do.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Staying at Petit Prince was a special experience. We've been in Amsterdam 3 times this year, but this time it was really special, and mostly because of the apartment, the location and Charles ability to make it special.
The Apartment is fully equipped with all your needs. Food and beverage are top quality, hand made cakes and chocolate are part of the deal if you choose the Luxury Package (It worth every penny :).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Oh, you know the old story – a little Prince falls out of the sky and embarks on a mission spanning self-discovery and universal truth. He experiences good times and trying times and life lessons come and go. He touches and is touched by the people and things he encounters and the journey is of an indeterminate time in a world of wonder and ultimate enlightenment when the outer trappings are shown to be insignificant in the wake of the inner senses that drive our actions and from which we derive joy. Well, against that background story, thank heavens we have brought the little guy up to speed a little for the purposes of this weekender else boy how shallow would have felt while revelling in the lavish trappings of the Petit Prince loft apartment? Shallow but joyous would be the correct answer to that one. Does Petit Prince live up to the hype? You bet your falling stars it does! I had booked the Loft Apartment to break up the journey from Australia to the UK and needed to shake off some travel dust. I had arranged to meet my sister there for the weekend. She arrived a day earlier and , in the manner of big sisters, had totally commandeered the bed in the loft, but from the time I arrived there the next morning until the moment we left, the Petit Prince felt so much more than a mere apartment. It’s hard to put my finger on it entirely. As has been said on this site many times before, the apartment is located in the banks of the beautiful Prinsengracht canal in a superb part of Amsterdam within easy walking distance of many points of interest. We did the half day walking tour suggested by Charles and it was great. The loft was clean and pleasantly decorated. Let’s face it, when you’ve just stepped off a 23 hour flight, a darkly tiled bathroom fits the bill perfectly. The fridge was literally bursting with cheese and cold meats, breakfast feasts, afternoon antipasto delights and suppertime treats. Yes, ladies and gentlemen, even the famous apple pie. And then there were wine and beers aplenty which in our case, accompanied a few well-appointed tasting plates and some afternoon sun while we caught up lazily on the large decking area out back. But here’s the thing, even with such lavishness all around us, this place always remained and felt like a home. We were actually cared for by the attentive owner, Charles, and his manager Beatriz. Questions were answered, any concerns allayed and options explored. In fact, it’s that that made this a particularly special place. The apartment stands on its own as a great place and location to spend time. But it’s the effort put in by Charles and his team to enhance our time there, that’s the essential here that’s ‘invisible to the eye’. And yet it’s so transforming. Thanks and well done guys. I, for one, will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Petit Prince? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Prince

Address: Prinsengracht 232, 1016HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Petit Prince reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Prince Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petit Prince, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.