We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wilhelmina Hotel Amsterdam

Wilhelmina Hotel Amsterdam
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilhelmina Hotel Amsterdam
Save
You added Wilhelmina Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Koninginnewg, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #246 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Never again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I can't believe some of the people writing reviews stayed in the same hotel as us. The Wilhelmina is shabby, not very clean and over priced. The wall paper in our room was tatty and the furniture was scratched and marked. We were surprised to be told on arrival that we had to pay in advance and that a credit card carried a 6% surcharge! As we arrived in the evening and hadn't got enough cash we had no alternative but to pay the extra. No mention was made of this charge when we booked and gave our credit card details. Then there was a 20 euro deposit for the key! That was new to us we have never been asked to leave cash as a key deposit before. If you wanted to leave a bag onthe day of departure that incurred another charge. Also the room price quoted did not include a 19% tax which we were not told when we booked. There is no way we would recommend this hotel to anyone. It was a big mistake and one we will not repeat. Never again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    8
    6
    7
    7
See reviews for
4
19
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Wilhelmina hotel has some of the best hotel staff I have come across. Having just visited two weeks ago, I was amazed by how helpful and cheery they were. The hotel is situated in such an ideal location; it's close to everything!! I was in town for a business trip and after staying at their sister hotel Atlas Hotel, some time ago, I thought I'd give this one a trip. My conference, luckily enough was at the convention centre, RAI, which is extremely close and very much approachable from this hotel - so many possibilities to get around in the immediate vicinity of this hotel! The rooms are great. Huge, spacious, comfortable and tastefully decorated. The breakfast was efficient and very filling, just what I needed for my conference. Definitely worth visiting again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The hotel was nice and the bathrooms were clean and that was the most important to me.
We were never in our room but about 7 hours a day to sleep. The first floor is on the 2nd level, don't be tricked. There are super steep stairs all over Amsterdam, prepare.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

we stayed there for 5 nights. I really don't understand why this really good 2 star hotel has such lousy review. I was sceptical and afraid after everything i've read about it but it turned to be cosy,really clean, quiet and with spacious rooms hotel. Breakfast was ok, it had everything what we need. Only thing which was a little problematic was the distance from the centre. But in the other hand, you have tram number 2 which takes you directly to centre,also night bus 358 to Museumplein and then you have to walk to hotel but, if you're young I htink it's not going to be problem. The Leidesplein ( area with bars and shopping) is within walking distance (15 min).The good thing is also,this hotel is in fancy neighborhood where are embassies and it's also residential area of celebrities and rich people,so it's pretty safe :)
I have to say, this is really value for money. this kind of hotel you won't find in the Centre if you're not prepared to pay a lot more. For this amount of money you would get dirty,loud and overpriced room in Centre.So..in conclusion i would recommend this hotel for couples, familys and if you're traveling alone for bussiness.
p.s. if you're paying with credit card, they'll charge you more (taxes and provision for Credit card company)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Great staff, beautiful rooms and very relaxing atmosphere.
Best location for shopping in Amsterdam. Wonderful restaurant nearby. Only good things about the hotel.
Must stay hotel for pleasure, leisure or business. Very helpful staff, good location and great value for money. Throughly enjoyed my stay will recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012 via mobile

A bit far away from the city center, is easy to go by tram No 2 stop Valeriusplein. Really close to the museums. The food was good and there was free wifi in the room. The people was nice. The hotel is not modern and it has big stairs that are hard to access with luggage. The rooms are fair but for the price I was expecting a bit more.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is a typical old style Amsterdam Hotel. Narrow and high with steep stair cases.
The romms were comfortable and clean but could do with a little bit of modernisation. Everything worked including the shower. No bath but that didn't bother me as I never use hotel baths but may put some people off.
Our room was on the second floor and the second set of stairs in particular were very steep and quite difficult with large cases.
However this said, the rooms were very reasonably priced for Amsterdam. There seams to be many older style hotels like this and then the large international hotels in the city centre but not much in between. If you want all mod cons with Resturants, Bars Lifts etc go to one of them but be prepared to pay. This is a very expensive city with hotel rates that reflect this.
On the plus side althought he hotel is a little way out of the centre it is right on a tram line which passes the front door and stops 50 metres down the road. One simple journey straight into the city centre which passes all the tourist attractions and museums etc. Hotel is also close to Vondelpark which is great for walking. Walk this way into town and look out for the parrots in the trees.
Breakfast was fine although the breakfast room could get a little crouded if everyone came down at the same time.
All in all good value for money in an Ok location.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wilhelmina Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilhelmina Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Koninginnewg, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #246 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Number of rooms: 328

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilhelmina Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.