We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Botel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Botel
Save
You added Botel to your Saves list
Oosterdokskade 2-4 1011 Ae ., Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #223 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Belfast, Ireland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Situated across the Amstel river, moored in a dock, the boat rocks gently in the water, which is a bit nauseating if you've drink taken. Cheap prices, warm and an excellent buffet breakfast. My only complaint is that the beds are not very comfortable. But if a cheap place to rest your head is what you're looking for, you should consider the Botel. Transport to the city centre is by free public ferry-boat, which departs every 30 minutes from the jetty beside the Botel.

Room Tip: Ask for extra mattress and pillows, to avoid waking up stiff and sore...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    113
    93
    35
    19
See reviews for
26
125
9
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We have stayed here 3 times now. Good value for money. Basic but clean & nice location. When u get off the train u just go to the back door of the station & hop on the free ferry for a few mins. The ferry back & forth was one of the highlights. Only a few mins & u were back in the city centre. It was quite quirky on the Botel. Staff were great. Take plenty bread as the swans swim by your window every day. It's a wee gem. Glad we found it. Wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Never had a submarine parked outside my bedroom window before, it is a whole new experience. The hotel is good value and somewhere I would stay again for a weekend as we did on this occasion. The bathroom is a bit small and I don't think I would like to stay for a long time. Great service on the ferry into town which was ALWAYS on time. Very enjoyable weekend!

Room Tip: Pick room away from the centre of the boat
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and found The Botel very good value for money! Although it isn't exactly in the centre of Amsterdam it is very easy to get to the centre of the city. It is berthed right next to the free ferry which takes you over the river to right next to the railway stAtion and the centre of the city within 10 minutes - it adds to the adventure of the place.

The rooms and bathrooms are quite small but they are clean and are ok for a couple and we were never disturbed by any noise. Breakfast was included within the price of our stay and although there wasn't an awful lot of choice the food on th buffet tasted very nice.

The Botel wasn't by any means 5star hotel it was unique and had a certain charm about it. It wasn't fancy but for the price it was a great place to stay and I would gladly return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend in august. The botel is a fun place to stay you catch a ferry from right outside the train station which is free. The room is clean and tidy and as you would expect the bathroom is compact like on most boats we have been on. For a weekend break this hotel is ideal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Amsterdam can be pricey for a tiny room in the centre.

Here the Botel gives good value, larger than average rooms. Clean,, Friendly .... and different !

Breakfast is simple - packed - a bit cramped ... but enough !
Transport is free to town with the ferry or shuttle bus + ferry.
Toilets & bathrooms .... well tiny is the word ... but good hot water in the shower !
Bed is good & comfortable. Closet ... small.
So all in all - good fun & value for a few day stay.

Room Tip: end of a corridor might be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

we stayed here at new year, we only booked it the day before we left so we were abit worried as it was really all that was left, but it turned out to be good fun, you need to get a ferry to it from the station which adds to the fun but as it was so cold waiting for the ferry. the rooms were very small and the beds were not to comfiest, the bathroom was tiny and water went all over the floor when in the shower, it was cleaned daily and the staff were really friendly, we had breakfast which was actually really nice. Amsterdam is so chilled out and it was great you coulld go down for your breakfast in your pjs. although the boat did not move it did sway abit in the wind and after a few drinks you could feel abit dizzy, it was a really good experience staying at the boatel and generaly would recommend

Room Tip: if u can upgrade do it to a better room with more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botel

Address: Oosterdokskade 2-4 1011 Ae ., Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #223 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Number of rooms: 345
Also Known As:
Botel Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Botel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.