We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Botel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Botel
Save
You added Botel to your Saves list
Oosterdokskade 2-4 1011 Ae ., Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #244 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Belfast, Ireland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Situated across the Amstel river, moored in a dock, the boat rocks gently in the water, which is a bit nauseating if you've drink taken. Cheap prices, warm and an excellent buffet breakfast. My only complaint is that the beds are not very comfortable. But if a cheap place to rest your head is what you're looking for, you should consider the Botel. Transport to the city centre is by free public ferry-boat, which departs every 30 minutes from the jetty beside the Botel.

Room Tip: Ask for extra mattress and pillows, to avoid waking up stiff and sore...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aolbfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We have stayed here 3 times now. Good value for money. Basic but clean & nice location. When u get off the train u just go to the back door of the station & hop on the free ferry for a few mins. The ferry back & forth was one of the highlights. Only a few mins & u were back in the city centre. It was quite quirky on the Botel. Staff were great. Take plenty bread as the swans swim by your window every day. It's a wee gem. Glad we found it. Wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CATHY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Never had a submarine parked outside my bedroom window before, it is a whole new experience. The hotel is good value and somewhere I would stay again for a weekend as we did on this occasion. The bathroom is a bit small and I don't think I would like to stay for a long time. Great service on the ferry into town which was ALWAYS on time. Very enjoyable weekend!

Room Tip: Pick room away from the centre of the boat
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidpostie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and found The Botel very good value for money! Although it isn't exactly in the centre of Amsterdam it is very easy to get to the centre of the city. It is berthed right next to the free ferry which takes you over the river to right next to the railway stAtion and the centre of the city within 10 minutes - it adds to the adventure of the place.

The rooms and bathrooms are quite small but they are clean and are ok for a couple and we were never disturbed by any noise. Breakfast was included within the price of our stay and although there wasn't an awful lot of choice the food on th buffet tasted very nice.

The Botel wasn't by any means 5star hotel it was unique and had a certain charm about it. It wasn't fancy but for the price it was a great place to stay and I would gladly return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Departed_Scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend in august. The botel is a fun place to stay you catch a ferry from right outside the train station which is free. The room is clean and tidy and as you would expect the bathroom is compact like on most boats we have been on. For a weekend break this hotel is ideal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarjane41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Amsterdam can be pricey for a tiny room in the centre.

Here the Botel gives good value, larger than average rooms. Clean,, Friendly .... and different !

Breakfast is simple - packed - a bit cramped ... but enough !
Transport is free to town with the ferry or shuttle bus + ferry.
Toilets & bathrooms .... well tiny is the word ... but good hot water in the shower !
Bed is good & comfortable. Closet ... small.
So all in all - good fun & value for a few day stay.

Room Tip: end of a corridor might be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jay1234dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

we stayed here at new year, we only booked it the day before we left so we were abit worried as it was really all that was left, but it turned out to be good fun, you need to get a ferry to it from the station which adds to the fun but as it was so cold waiting for the ferry. the rooms were very small and the beds were not to comfiest, the bathroom was tiny and water went all over the floor when in the shower, it was cleaned daily and the staff were really friendly, we had breakfast which was actually really nice. Amsterdam is so chilled out and it was great you coulld go down for your breakfast in your pjs. although the boat did not move it did sway abit in the wind and after a few drinks you could feel abit dizzy, it was a really good experience staying at the boatel and generaly would recommend

Room Tip: if u can upgrade do it to a better room with more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Amstel Botel
#190 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,232 reviews
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#142 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,268 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Koopermoolen
Hotel De Koopermoolen
#210 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Botel Zebra
Botel Zebra
#272 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#62 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 804 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#105 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botel

Address: Oosterdokskade 2-4 1011 Ae ., Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #244 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Number of rooms: 345
Also Known As:
Botel Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing