We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value & Clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Botel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Botel
Save
You added Botel to your Saves list
Oosterdokskade 2-4 1011 Ae ., Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #218 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Ashford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good Value & Clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

The Botel is not a high class hotel or a swish guest house. Its basic accomodation for a fantastic price close to Amsterdam. The staff are all very helpful and friendly, the rooms are very small and the shower is tiny but your on a boat so its not going to be monsoon showers and kingsize beds! Our room was warm, we had a small TV with enough channels to entertain and hot water in a very basic but clean shower room. The beds and towels were spotless and the towels were changed daily. If you want a bed for the night thats clean and cosy then this will do you fine. If you want to spend hours in your room enjoying the hotel then book somewhere else. Take pillows if you can as theres are like pancakes and try and book the waterside of the boat so you dont hear everyone coming home late up. The parking is free and you will need to get a ferry over to the main part of town which takes about 10 min. We were really happy with the Botel and would book again.

Room Tip: Book waterside so you dont hear the noise from the walkway late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    111
    93
    34
    19
See reviews for
26
125
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

This Hotel is a unique experience. We arrived by train from the airport and found the ferry a little difficult to find as it was not marked very well. When we did find it, we found it to be the best part of staying at this Hotel as it was free every 15 mins. The accomodation was very clean, well laid out and very attentive. The only cost was the internet which was extreme to say the least. We voiced our opinion on this one. The breakfast which was included was great to start the day. Nothing fancy but plenty. Great bar to sit and play cards after a days outing. Bar staff went out of their way to be accomodating to our demands after bar was shut.

Room Tip: Good port hole rooms - no port hole but full size opening windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

i had to find accomodation in high peak season in September, and this hotel was only choice.
I've got small but cloan room with miniatur bathroom. Bbecause of windy weather i recognized every swing of botel.
This was very interesting accomodation, not far from a center (main train station). Connected by a fare boat, which leaves every 30 minutes.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

free ferry ride to botel where staff were very friendly and helpfull. very basic rooms clean bed sheets everyday and room very clean with a tv and phone in your room.en suite small but clean, rooms cleaned daily. . stayed here twice now and am going back for a 3 stay.. great value for money. bufet breakfast where you could stuff yourself stupid with the selection.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

My partner and I stayed for 2 nights, was a little dissapointed that we had twin beds (partner said no specific choice on booking) just stated twin/double! we didn't bother to ask for a swop into a double as only staying for 2 nights.
Rooms are small but adequate, no drink making facilities which we really missed first thing in a morning.
showers were small but hot and surprisingly powerfull! although watch the children is they do get very hot all of a sudden when other guests flush the loo? The slight rocking wasn't really an isssue to us, and quite novel as the whole hotel on a boat experience.
Breakfast was extensive and plentifull, although we had to eat in the bar area on the second morning as it was very busy with no empty seats/tables.
You will find loads of info about Amsterdam in the reception area, which was handy for us as first time visitors, make sure you pick up the little discount cards, they really do come in handy, and a sheet of map off the reception desk.
The free ferry was fine, and only took 15 minutes, was very relaxing in fact, although better info in english would have been handy for initial trip, as we almost boarded wrong ferry!
All in all a nice stay, it was a gift trip so i am unsure of the cost, therefore can't comment on value for money, but i would definately consider staying at the botel on any future trips.

Room Tip: try not to stay below the kichens, its very noisey first thing, and the staff feed the ducks out of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I have stayed on the botel twice now and would definately stay here again. Ferry ride to the boat free but slightly time consuming, although worth it for the rates comapred to hotels in the centre of Amsterdam. Great breakfast, good shower and warm rooms. Not luxury but you get what you pay for and I have no complaints.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

First, this "hotel" is only technically in Amsterdam, it's a longish ferry ride away from downtown, plan on it taking you at least 40 minutes to get to the Dam.

Next, the "hotel" is an old converted ship of some type, without the stabilizers you'd find on a cruise ship, which means whenever another ship goes by, the whole thing rocks and rolls - which can really disrupt your sleep or shower.

The actual room is tiny, tiny and dumpy. The thin mattress sits on a wooden frame with sharp edges and corners, so when the ship lurches, you hit that edge hard, and I've got the bruises to prove it. The furniture is old, chipped formnica topped built-ins, like a narrow dressing table which has a small TV bolted to it, so there's not room on it to put your suitcase. The one chair in the room was the bent metal kind my elementary school threw out 30 years ago, and it was filthy. We ended up keeping our suitcases under the beds, which isn't exactly convenient.

The guy at the desk when we checked in wasn't there for about 10 minutes, and there was no sign on the desk, just a line of folks waiting for Mr. Surly. Our booking specified free internet, he denied that and tried to charge us 6 Euro/$10 per hour. Later, when we went through the lobby to find dinner, Mr. Surly was standing in the doorway with 2 friends, smoking - right by the "No Smoking" sign, of course. You had to walk through a reeking cloud to get out the door.

Dinner in that neighborhood? Not a chance, there's no place to go within walking distance, and no info available from the hotel about where to eat short of another long ferry ride back to Amsterdam. There is what seems to be private club, which did not allow outsiders to eat there, near the end of the dock, and then you walk through a strange area of student housing made of shipping containers before getting to a very dark, and rather creepy, neighborhood.

Breakfast: the food choices were adequate, but it was hard to find a clean plate or a clean table, and the hot water for tea had a nasty taste of yesterday's coffee.

Stay somewhere else and you'll be much happier.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botel

Address: Oosterdokskade 2-4 1011 Ae ., Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #218 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Number of rooms: 345
Also Known As:
Botel Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Botel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.