We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Indian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moti Mahal

Moti Mahal
Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 34, 1012 SB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 625 0330
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #373 of 2,399 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Moti Mahal is an Indian restaurant situated in the heart of Amsterdam, near the Dam. The menu is full of Indian specialities and is very competitively priced with an average menu price of 17,50 euro. The interior is characterised by an Indian style and ferns in the restaurant.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Authentic Indian food. Worth going. Great Service. Had a nice time. We tried the vegetarian dishes and was good. Highly recommended

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    34
    18
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erlangen, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Food and Atmoshphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We dined at this place on the Dec 30th and 31st 2013.

Starters we had ordered Paneer Pakora and Onion Bhajji . The paneer was really soft and tasted awesome. The Onion Bhajji will surely take you back to India :) :)
We tried the Punjabi and Gujrati Thali which had variety of items served . The food preparation was really nice and had a good taste. We also tried the Chicken and Mutton curry which was prepared really well. The chicken and mutton was cooked properly and we enjoyed our meal.
After a long time we had a great Indian masala Chai .

The food was value for money in my opinion .
Above all more than food , its the atmosphere that makes everything worth remembering. The owner of the restaurant was a wonderful person himself and it reflected in the atmosphere and food served to us.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint kitts and Nevis
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Food that touched my soul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I would say that these guys are the best in Amsterdam City if you are looking for delicious, mouth watering Indian delicacies.Food is superb and has wide variety of options.Great service , had a nice time there. Highly recommended to all.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
“Uncooked chicken, no apology”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We dined here on our last night in Amsterdam after an otherwise delightful weekend trip. My wife and I ordered the set menu of curry with rice, tandoori chicken and poppadoms. The curry was fine but after consuming half the tandoori chicken we soon realised it was uncooked and raw on bone. We informed the manager who after addressing the chef in back, returned to offer the option of another piece or a €2 duduction from the bill. Utterly flabbergasted by the lack of a simple apology were then treated to being chased out the restaurant when we decided we were not happy to pay for the dish involving the uncooked chicken.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Authentic Indian Taste”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Fabulous taste with large quantity. You get plenty of options on menu card. There are indian beverages like Lassi and Chaas available with wonderful taste and large quantity to quench your thrust.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moti Mahal also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Moti Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moti Mahal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.