We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Van Gogh

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Van Gogh to your Saves list
Hotel Van Gogh
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Van de Veldestraat 5, 1071 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Vincent Van Gogh Hotel Amsterdam) (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #128 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent value in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Museumplein is a superb location for this Amsterdam hotel. Some of the best museums are located there. The ConcertGebouw is close. Tramlines conveniently connect it to different parts of the city, touristy or otherwise. There is a lovely common green in the form of Vondelpark within a stone's throw. I could go on about the lovely location, but let's get going about the hotel itself.

Check in was very efficiently done. The reception was polite. Lots of youngsters employed at reception. They are uniformly well-informed and quite ready to help. Though we did not need to, the hotel even books tours and trips.

We were too early for check-in, but that did not matter - we just left the luggage in their luggage room and proceeded on our sightseeing.

When we did check into our room, a 3-bedder, we found it clean, neat and well appointed, with in-room tea/coffee maker, hair drier and sufficient toiletry.

The morning's breakfast - a steal at Euro 5- was a real surprise. There were various breads, cheese, cold meats, bacon, eggs, jam, cereals of different kinds, yogurts, milk, juices, the works. What more can you want? There is tea and coffee for just Euro 1 available all day in the common lounge. Wifi is free and efficient all over the premises.

There's a tiny patch of back garden with flowers that our room cheerfully looked over. Quite a pleasant surprise when we opened the curtains.

We had a nice room on the ground floor itself. Most satisfactory on all counts.

Very good value for the tarriff charged.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    194
    72
    28
    19
See reviews for
34
59
77
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The hotel is in a perfect location close to the centre of Amsterdam without being too crowded or busy in the surrounding area. The room was clean, well equipped and spacious, with an en suite bathroom. The air conditioning was also fine and much needed in the 35ºc heat outside, and it made for a comfortable nights sleep. The hotel rooms are on a separate side of the building to the hostel accommodation and we weren't disturbed by anyone else the entire time we were there. Don't be put off by the 'hostel' aspect; it was better than other hotels we have stayed in before. The tram and bus stops are just at the end of the road, although we didn't really need either during our stay, we got around perfectly fine by walking and exploring; it's a good way to begin to learn your way around and see interesting sights. We didn't get the breakfast at all during our stay, but it's available for €5 if you require it during your stay. The luggage room is available before you check in and after you check out, which was ideal for our early arrival and late departure. We plan to visit Amsterdam again (and again) and wouldn't hesitate to stay at this hotel in future.

Room Tip: rooms on the hotel side are completely separate to the hostel accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

For a reasonably priced hotel, this place was clean and comfortable though clearly older, in a great location. It is attached to a hostel, but that is a separate part of the structure. The disadvantage of being close to a hostel is that the breakfast can be quite busy and the luggage room, while convenient, gets quite full at times. The location is really good--close to the museums and restaurants, as well as a grocery store right around the corner. The room itself, while somewhat dated, has good climate control as well as updated bathroom--we were new to Europe, but we didn't have any trouble using anything in the room. I couldn't get the power adapter that I brought to work, but the front desk has some for a deposit of ten euros. The front desk personnel was always very helpful; we used the laundry service offered by the hotel, but the front desk even offered us an alternative that may have been cheaper. They always had the pad of maps handy to show the best way of getting somewhere. One other possible downside that didn't affect us much but someone might want to consider is that there are a few preschools on the street where the kids are outside playing during much of the day--lively and fun, but rather noisy. We weren't around much of the day, so it didn't matter much to us, but as we were in the bottom level room, we noticed that the noise came into the room. I liked the breakfast, which offered an assortment, but be sure to prepay for it if you think you might want it because it is cheaper. There's a wonderful cafe, Bagels and Beans, just around the corner, so there are other nearby options. The coffee came from one of those ubiquitous espresso machines where a patron presses his/her selection, and I wasn't crazy about this, as Americano coffee is just watered-down espresso. It also seemed that the machine was overworked and needed a lot of tending. I'm a coffee addict, so you can probably tell this was important to me. One final note is that the wireless Internet connection worked very well, something that we need because we work online. Hotel Van Gogh isn't a mint-on-the-pillow kind of place--lacking some amenities--but I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed two nights in a shared room- 6 people altogether. The place is relatively new and very modern, looking almost like new. The cleanliness was fantastic and all the facilities were in good working order. On the negative side I found that the staff were not as helpful or warm as some of the other places we stayed, and there was no communal area in which to meet other people. The atmosphere was non existent. Also, we found that the rates were rather expensive relative to other establishments in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The Hotel Van Gogh, located in a side street a two minute walk from the Van Gogh Museum and the Stedelijk (contemporary art) museum, and just down the street from the Rijksmuseum (Dutch National Museum), Diamond Museum, House of Bols Experience, and the Coster Diamond shop (which also offers tours), is a great place to stay if you're on a budget. It's clean, the all-you-can-eat buffet breakfast is 5 euro/pp.

It is not, however, a deluxe hotel in any way. There are a number of hostel-style tourists at the hotel, so there's always a bustle of backpackers in the lobby. To be fair, unlike much of the rest of young person Amsterdam, the smell of marijuana was notably absent, even if we opened the balcony doors on our hotel room - people weren't even smoking outside.

Amenities in the room are basic - the "double" bed was two separate mattresses (very soft, if you like that) pushed together, soap is dispensed both near the sink and in the shower by a wall-mounted squeeze bottle, and the only trash can is mounted against the bathroom wall and can't be moved. The front desk is friendly, but they are not trained to be concierges, so they cannot tell you things like the location of a nearby pharmacy or when things open or close. They can, however, order you a cab.

One final note about the Museumplein. It's not the best location if you like bar-hopping or clubbing or finding a quick place to eat but don't know where you want, because you'll be walking a quarter mile to a half mile to where more of those establishments are grouped. Plan accordingly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I really can’t say enough nice things about this hotel/hostel. Most importantly, the young staff was professional, caring, and extremely courteous. All travel related needs/requests were met with full attention and kindness. The breakfast was wonderful and handy before a busy day of exploration. Again, caring staff members added to the morning pleasure. My husband and I were traveling with two of our grown children. We needed an affordable, safe, clean place to stay and the Van Gogh was perfect. The room was large, the beds were comfortable, and everything was very clean. While the youth hostel has shared bathrooms, we requested a room with a private bath. Every day, housekeeping left our room in order with fresh linens and toiletries. In addition, the hotel’s location is perfect for exploring many areas of Amsterdam via foot or other public transportation. We were pleased that there were many places to purchase treats nearby, including a large grocery store. Great job, Van Gogh! You made our trip extra special.

Room Tip: This is a hotel/youth hostel, so be sure to understand what type of room/bathroom you are booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My colleague and I stayed here for a night before leaving Amsterdam. I was a bit nervous- seemed like both of us (around 50-60) were a bit out of our element as there were lots of significantly younger folks....we expected a noisy night but it was just fine. Our room overlooked the back gardens and was fairly quiet. Beds were comfy, bathroom fine, room had a safe. The location was great and if you are planning to visit the museums it is perfect. Breakfast was a good deal and lots of selection ( we were early!). The staff tried hard to fix a little mixup about the reservation and came up with a creative, but acceptable, solution. I would recommend-likely a better deal than many.

Room Tip: ask for one not overlooking the main square- overlooking the back gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Van Gogh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Van Gogh

Address: Van de Veldestraat 5, 1071 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Vincent Van Gogh Hotel Amsterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Van Gogh 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vibrant Ventral Location & Young Vibes , Affordable Comfort!Situated in a top spot at Amsterdam city centre, the most vibrant centre for art, fashion and culture, 3 major World Famous Museum at your doorstep: Van Gogh Museum & Rijks Museum, Stedelijk Museum. hotel is fully air-conditioned, guest kitchenette available. hotel attracts lot of young travelers who enjoy comfort and quality accomodation, yet affordable rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Van Gogh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Van Gogh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.