We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Van Gogh

Save Saved
You added Hotel Van Gogh to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Van Gogh
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Van de Veldestraat 5, 1071 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Vincent Van Gogh Hotel Amsterdam) (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Belgrade
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 7 nights, and it was a very pleasant stay. The location is so good, just across the famous Van Gogh museum and minutes walk from Rijks museum. Peaceful and safe, away from the usual hustle and bustle of Amsterdam. You can use trams and buss (the station is in front of the hotel) or even walk for about 20 min. to the Central station. Rooms are not very big, but there is everything you need there. Nice comfy bed, flat TV, kettle, and nice bathroom. Room was cleaned every day. I recommend a breakfast, it is very good and it costs only 5 E. Stuff was very helpful.

Room Tip: I can recommend room 303 because it is very quiet and has a king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    158
    64
    17
    16
See reviews for
29
51
57
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Clean beds, clean bathrooms, good location, pretty much all you need to know about the place.
It is great and they have breakfat for relatively cheap as well. As a traveler on a budget, it is a great deal, especially with the dorms.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Rooms were fantastic recently renovated and were very comfortable! One issue we had was that our room was ground floor right next to a Kindy so no sleep ins for us! Another let down was the lack of social areas. There was no bar or the likes of just a dinning area where you could pay for breakfast that had a tv.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Definitely the nicest hostel that we've stayed in when you're considering the quality of the rooms and cleanliness. We were travelling in a group of 7, but were split 3-2-2. I stayed in a 8 person room, which was very nice, but noisy. The room had a private bath that was nicer than one in a lot of hotels that I have stayed in. They provide towels (helpful when you forgot a towel like I did), and each bed has its own respective safe and power outlets that are inches from your bed. For some other amenities that they provide beyond the room: they offer breakfast (around 5 euros) and on-site bike rentals (8 euros for 3 hours, plus a 50 dollar cash deposit that will be returned upon bringing back the bikes in safe condition).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel has limited facilities (no bar, no gym, etc.) but does offer comfortable and well-equipped rooms, excellent customer service, and good value for money - and is a great base for a family leisure break in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Was a brilliant hostel/hotel. Our room was spacious with a brilliant bathroom. Large telly with good channels.
It's location is right beside the Van Gogh museum and is about a 20 minute walk to dam square. Nice quiet area.
But there is a school out the front and if they are out playing you will know!! Very loud!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here in May with six of my friends and we are all students so we were looking for something on the cheap side. We booked one private room for six people with private bath, which for a hostel is quite luxurious and it cost us 120€ for 5 days and 4 nights. The rooms are simple and VERY clean, which was great. The hotel's location is next to all the best museums. However that's the only touristic area next to the hostel. So if you are looking for the drugs and the red light district kind of atmosphere you should go more towards the center. The hotel Van Gogh is also next to some of the best nightlife that have almost no tourists where all the young Dutch people go which is called: Leidseplein, and there is also rembrandtplein. But overall we haven't any real problem with the hotel, a part from the reception being rude at times, but for what you pay it's a great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Bar/Lounge, Bud...
Show More
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
Bar/Lounge, Bes...
Show More
Red Light District
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#119 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#153 of 343 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romantic, Airpo...
Show More
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#118 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
City Center, Mi...
Show More
Ibis Amsterdam City West
Ibis Amsterdam City West
#107 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 705 reviews
Non smoking, Qu...
Show More
Museumplein
Hotel Verdi
Hotel Verdi
#171 of 343 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Van Gogh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Van Gogh

Address: Van de Veldestraat 5, 1071 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Vincent Van Gogh Hotel Amsterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Van Gogh 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vibrant Ventral Location & Young Vibes , Affordable Comfort!Situated in a top spot at Amsterdam city centre, the most vibrant centre for art, fashion and culture, 3 major World Famous Museum at your doorstep: Van Gogh Museum & Rijks Museum, Stedelijk Museum. hotel is fully air-conditioned, guest kitchenette available. hotel attracts lot of young travelers who enjoy comfort and quality accomodation, yet affordable rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Van Gogh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Van Gogh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.