We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and great location near museums” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Van Gogh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Van Gogh to your Saves list
Hotel Van Gogh
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Van de Veldestraat 5, 1071 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Vincent Van Gogh Hotel Amsterdam) (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #128 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Good value and great location near museums”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Paid 53 euro 1st night; 35 each additional for single room with attached bath; stayed three nights

Take bus 197 from airport; 4 euros each way

PROS
1. Great location in museumplein for museum lovers; almost opposite Van Gogh and Staedjikl musuems; within five minute walk to Rijksmusuem
2. Tram station almost outside hotel
3. I was given room on fourth floor which was very quiet
4. Gave space heater which really helped heat up the place in cold nights
5. Young and friendly staff
6. Great all you can eat breakfast buffet with meat, cheese, cereal, tomatoes, cucumbers, drinks, etc. for only five euros; this value cannot be beat
7. There is a Albert Hijn grocery store right behind Staedijkl museum on Van Baerlestraat; Hotel provides common fridge, freezer and microwave for guest use; you can save a lot of money by buying food from grocery stores rather than eating in restaurants
8. Room and bathroom were small but entirely manageable

CONS
1. Bed was very small and rather uncomfortable
2. Safe did not work since battery low; notified front desk but never fixed
3. Room floor was somewhat dirty with dust and never cleaned; fresh, clean towels everyday but bedsheet had stain and never changed during stay

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floor are quieter; elevator or lift is small and slow but that is normal in europe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    194
    72
    28
    19
See reviews for
34
59
77
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights with my two friends in a 6-bed dorm room (female only). The room was spacious enough with lots of natural light (and good black-out curtains!). The private bathroom was very nice and cleaned every day to high standards. We got clean towels every day on our beds. It honestly felt much more like a hotel than a hostel. We were very happy with the room, location, breakfast, and free wifi. The location is great with access to many trams that go to Dam Square, Central Station, etc. The only downfall of the location is if you are out late at night near Central Station, it will cost you 15+ euros to cab back to the hostel. Same if you have an early morning flight on a Sunday (trams don't start until 7 am).

Unfortunately, most of the staff working at the front desk are not very helpful. If you ask them for suggestions or directions, they just keep staring at their computer screen and give you one-two word answers that get you nowhere. Also, we could only pay on one VISA card when checking in because our booking for three was together. Other hostels I've been to had no problem in splitting up the total cost between the 3 people on different cards. So that kind of screwed up our finances for the trip! If you are looking for a fun hostel where you are going to meet people, this is not your hostel. There is no bar or pub where fellow travellers can mingle or really a common room to hang out. It is a good hostel if you are with friends already and want a nice clean hostel to stay in!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

stayed here last New Year's Eve. Hostel is a good location, close enough yo the centre but a shirt walk away so not kept up till early hours if you didn't want to be. Good price, facilities & service. Would stay again. Amsterdam is great :). You must visit ye old Dutch pancake house by the flower market. It's the best :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is both a hostel and hotel. One part of the building is a hotel and the other part is a hostel. We chose to stay in this hostel - 6 bed mixed dorm room with its own private washroom/shower. Yes its a little bit more expensive that most hostels in Amsterdam and its not centrally located but the room and washroom/shower was always clean and and linens and towels are provided free of charge. The washroom is equipped with a hair dryer, and soap(hand soap, and shower gel) which is rare in hostels. There are also a small safe in the room for small valuables that can be used free of charge. The bunk beds were sturdy and comfy. They offer a daily buffet breakfast for extra charge of 5 euros (per person per day), which I thought was a good price (cereal, yogurt, fruit, pastries, bread, tea, coffee, milk).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

My brother, a friend and I all stayed here for two nights during our time in Amsterdam, and it was a very enjoyable experience! For being relatively cheap, the location was great, the safe were fine, and the continental breakfast was also very nice. The wifi was a nice plus as well! The hotel was very clean too, which apparently is pretty rare for budget hotels in Amsterdam, so that was nice. Definitely would recommend this hotel for budget travelers!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The hostel is very modern and has lovely rooms and is very clean. The fresh linen and towels everyday is a nice feature. The electronic safes in the rooms give you a sense of security. The location is perfect for Museumplein and Leidseplein but out of the way of more central areas.

Now the bad points. The staff are terribly rude and I don't think it's just because I'm British that I think that. It was impossible to get more than a word out of them and they rarely looked at you or engaged when doing something. The room cards are wiped everyday when someone in your room checks out but we weren't told this so were locked out twice, both times our request was met with a look of irritation and no sorry or explanation, not even eye contact. The atmosphere is also non-existent so look at The Flying Pig for fun and the chance to meet people.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

While this was my second time visiting Hotel Van Gogh within a year, I hadn't reviewed it yet. The facilities are very basic but clean and well kept. Walking distance to a grocery store (Albert Heins) as well as Leidseplein makes it a great place to stay. Their beds felt a lot more comfortable compared to before.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Van Gogh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Van Gogh

Address: Van de Veldestraat 5, 1071 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Vincent Van Gogh Hotel Amsterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Van Gogh 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vibrant Ventral Location & Young Vibes , Affordable Comfort!Situated in a top spot at Amsterdam city centre, the most vibrant centre for art, fashion and culture, 3 major World Famous Museum at your doorstep: Van Gogh Museum & Rijks Museum, Stedelijk Museum. hotel is fully air-conditioned, guest kitchenette available. hotel attracts lot of young travelers who enjoy comfort and quality accomodation, yet affordable rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Van Gogh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Van Gogh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.