We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decently priced and good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Van Gogh

Save Saved
You added Hotel Van Gogh to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Van Gogh
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Van de Veldestraat 5, 1071 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Vincent Van Gogh Hotel Amsterdam) (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“decently priced and good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

While this was my second time visiting Hotel Van Gogh within a year, I hadn't reviewed it yet. The facilities are very basic but clean and well kept. Walking distance to a grocery store (Albert Heins) as well as Leidseplein makes it a great place to stay. Their beds felt a lot more comfortable compared to before.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    158
    64
    17
    16
See reviews for
29
51
57
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baslow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Myself and 8 friends stayed here for 2 nights for my friend's 21st. We had 1 room for all 8 of us, with 4 sets of bunk beds. The beds were pretty comfy and there was quite a bit of space in the rest of the room for 8 girls to all get ready! We didn't even have much trouble with one bathroom between us all!

The hotel is located directly opposite the Van Gough museum, a tram stops directly outside here too so its great. I would advise using the trams as it only takes 5 minutes to get back into the centre - we got a 12 euro 48 hour pass which was great.

The area the hotel is located in is quite upmarket, which is great at night for a quiet nights sleep, but I would advise going into the centre for meals and drinks. There is a supermarket about 2 minutes away though which is really good.

Overall I think this hotel is perfect as a base for exploring Amsterdam, especially as a group of friends, would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaglescliffe
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is more a hotel than hostel, located in the museum area it is handy for many things and only 20minutes walking to the centre.
There is no kitchen and the place only does breakfast but thats OK.
Facilities are clean and modern.
It can be noisy first thing as there s a primary school next door!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This place was great, came with 6 friends and booked a full room. It was really good and the service is friendly and super helpful. Definitely worth it if you're on a tight budget. Or just wanna spend your money in the coffee shops instead. Haha.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegna, Ticino, Switzerland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We where a Group, and from the photos it semed quite good as an hotel. When we got there the first thing we saw was a mice, then we found some blood on a bad and dirty socks under an other.
The food was all frozen and a morning I and my friends saw the person who was in the kitchen gathering some bread that was fallen from the floor.

And all this considering that we were paying 50 a night each so 50 x 6 = 300 a night for the room !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Right across the street from the Van Gogh Museum alright, and just a couple blocks back up the road from the Van Barlesraat stop on the #2 tram down from Centraal Station. My Small Single was indeed the tiniest room I've ever known, but it had upgrades (flat screen tv, thermostat, several electrical outlets) that bigger, more expensive rooms I've stayed in, have not had. Tiny bathroom but fabulous upgrades there as well, all shiny and chrome and tiles that are spanking clean. The mattress did seem to like sliding off towards the floor, for some reason, and the wifi was out for half the one day I was there, but once they got a new router installed everything tech-wise was good to go. I don't know what the larger rooms or communal, hostel rooms are like, but for single travelers the small singles can't be beat for good value in a central Amsterdam location. Oh, and the 5euro pre-paid breakfast buffet is a good value for the money too, although convenience had a lot to do with that decision.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Van Gogh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Van Gogh

Address: Van de Veldestraat 5, 1071 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Vincent Van Gogh Hotel Amsterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Van Gogh 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vibrant Ventral Location & Young Vibes , Affordable Comfort!Situated in a top spot at Amsterdam city centre, the most vibrant centre for art, fashion and culture, 3 major World Famous Museum at your doorstep: Van Gogh Museum & Rijks Museum, Stedelijk Museum. hotel is fully air-conditioned, guest kitchenette available. hotel attracts lot of young travelers who enjoy comfort and quality accomodation, yet affordable rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Hotel Van Gogh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Van Gogh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.