We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seems like a nice place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Van Gogh

Save Saved
You added Hotel Van Gogh to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Expedia.com
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Van Gogh
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam 1071, The Netherlands (Formerly Vincent Van Gogh Hotel Amsterdam) (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #123 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
nyc
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Seems like a nice place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stumbled in here and was quite surprised by the lovely location and the friendly staff. Asked a few questions at the front desk and they were knowledgeable and helpful. Although, I did not stay here, but will consider it on my next trip to this lovely city!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    141
    52
    16
    13
See reviews for
16
43
52
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Traveled to Amsterdam with friends for long weekend. The hotel/hostel is located in the musuem district. It is about a 20 minute walk to the center or about 10minutes by tram. Hotel had both hostel and hotel rooms, stayed 2 nights hostel accomadation with 7 friends and was fine/ what you would expect from a mid to high range hostel. The 5€all you can eat breakfast was good value. A cab back from the city center/train station cost about 11€. If traveling from the airport and dont want to get a taxi it is much easier to get the bus rather than train, there is a bus stop about 3-5minutes away from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Excelent rooms but within a longer walk from the big center, but it was no problem as we used it to make different ways and see different streets!
The staff is nice as long as you dont have any major problem to solve

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Don't be put off by the musty smell in the ground floor and lifts. Our room on the first floor was very clean, fresh and kept that way daily. Good size room, very soft and comfy bed. They just need to do something about enforcing the culture of non smoking in this building. Staff were okay and I could usually coax a smile. Breakfasts are great value: for just €5 all you can eat fresh fruit, juices, cereal, cold meats, cheese, tomato, cucumber, breads, croissants, boiled eggs, expresso machine coffee overseen by a lovely lass who never stops cleaning! The atmosphere in this dining area is more like a hostel with guests using it at all hours, self store fridge etc. Wifi okay but how did it know when we checked out! Could not get a handle in the 'web after we did. Good value, convenient location.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed 2 night and we paid 228 euros. The room and bathroom were very clean. Breakfast is 5 euros and it's pretty good for the price. The staff is not as bad as described in the other reviews although I never saw them smile. They were helpful enough but not very kind. There's free wifi and a desktop computer you can use to print your boarding passes. Location is perfect, you can walk to the central station or take the tram. The Van Gogh Museum is across the street.

I would stay there again without any doubt :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Paid 298 euros (they add city tax of 5.5% on top of that so watch out - this tax is standard across 'Dam hotels though so it's not just Hotel Van Gogh that adds this) for two nights in a twin room. I was pleasantly surprised; I've stayed in hotels/hostels in London for the same price and they have been absolutely awful. This place was good for travellers on a budget and I would definitely stay here again.

Twin room was at the back on the ground floor and opened on to a patio. It was basic but clean. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The walk-in shower was particularly impressive for what I would consider a budget hotel. Didn't try the breakfast but there's plenty of other places nearby. Location is great, right by the museums and across the road from tram and bus stops.

Service/staff was adequate and efficient; not the friendliest bunch but we didn't spend much time there so it didn't seem to matter.

For the money we paid I was really happy overall.

Tip 1: the bus from the airport takes you about two streets from the hotel and it's 4 euros each way for about a 40 minute ride.
Tip 2: we had a really lovely breakfast and excellent coffee in the museum cafe just down the road which looks like a giant bathtub outside! It's by the edge of the museum park.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Unbelievably rude staff at this place, particularly the man and woman who do the check-in in the morning. Rooms were ok, big shower, which was nice, though the shower nozzle constantly fell off! Wi-fi was at times a little dodgy, but overall ok. Each bed had it's own light which was convenient. The 5 euro breakfast may not seem worth it but if you are a coffee drinker you may as well take it, coffee is unlimited, and in fact no worse than the other low-rate coffee you'll pay 3 euros for ore mire in cafés in Amsterdam.....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Van Gogh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Van Gogh

Address: Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam 1071, The Netherlands (Formerly Vincent Van Gogh Hotel Amsterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Van Gogh 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vibrant Ventral Location & Young Vibes , Affordable Comfort!Situated in a top spot at Amsterdam city centre, the most vibrant centre for art, fashion and culture, 3 major World Famous Museum at your doorstep: Van Gogh Museum & Rijks Museum, Stedelijk Museum. hotel is fully air-conditioned, guest kitchenette available. hotel attracts lot of young travelers who enjoy comfort and quality accomodation, yet affordable rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, EasyToBook, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Van Gogh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Van Gogh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.