We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bij-de-Amstel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bij-de-Amstel
Save Saved
You added Bij-de-Amstel to your Saves list
Burmanstraat 9, 1091SG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #149 of 307 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Sabie, Mpumalanga, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

It is a wonderful place to stay if you want to be on your own. Willemien was very kind and helpful. We had a wonderful time and recommend this place if you want to stay in a quite area in Amsterdam. The place is very near the metro and a small shopping place for your milk and bread.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    18
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
25
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Padua, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed in the bed&kitchen room for 4 nights, the room was quiet and noiseless and the location was in a residential quarter but very close to the metro stop. In the bathroom there was several towels and shower products so we didn't need to bring them from home. Nice and friendly, good price for the location and the provided services.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artist from Scotland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Warm and comfortable with coffee and tea maker. Very quiet to the rear of the house overlooking the garden. As in typicaly dutch houses, steep stairs to the room. Willemina checked that everything was OK. It is 4 subway stations from Centraal but very close to the Amstel River and it is a nice walk to the Hermitage. Crockery was a rather odd assortment in a very large cupboard and the kettle was on the floor. This could all be easily resolved. However a nice stay and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: We chose the ensuite room and it was large and comfortable. Pull the bell when you arrive as the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerlen, The Netherlands
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The location is nice. Information about the city Amsterdam was pourly. The beds were good. The pratice of the owner is also in the house. This makes to much noise in the house. People going in and out. The neighbor has also a bed and breakfast. You can feel the tension between this two.
Sorry about this review, but we only wanted some peaceful time.

Room Tip: Ask the owner if there also an other business in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bari, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed in Bed&Kitchen for 10 nights and it was a great experience. The studio is cozy, fully equipped and very clean. It is located on the last floor, so it's a bit hot when the weather is sunny, the stairway is very steep and it's not easy to carry the bags upstairs but it's absolutely dutch style. The staff was very kind and always helpful to any request. The location is also very good: it's only 3 minutes walk to metro station and 5 minutes to tram stop, the surroundings are quiet and there is a furnished supermarket nearby. However we can recommend it as a perfect starting point for visiting the city. Surely we would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We had a very good time in the Bed & Kitchen. It's equipped with all the necessary tools. It's large and comfortable. It's also well located: 3 minutes walk from the Metro station even if we often reached by walking our turistical destinations.
We hope to stay the B&K again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed there for a weekend with my girlfriend.
the room is quite big and worth a 3 stars hotel with a nice bed, a bathroom with bath and toilets.
In term of accomodation in the room you'll find what you need for coffee and tea, an egg cooker, a minibar (empty), a microwave and a table with 2 chairs. In the bathroom, clean towels, and soaps. There was no plates, forks or knifes so don't expect to do big cooking.

The place was really clean when we arrived.

Not really in center but nice if you want a quiet neighbourhood. Close to a supermarket but not really convenient for the tramway (only line 3).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bij-de-Amstel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bij-de-Amstel

Address: Burmanstraat 9, 1091SG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 307 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bij de Amstel is a cosy, quiet ‘Bed & Breakfast’ and ‘Bed & Kitchen’, situated in a beautiful area at a stones throw from the river from which Amsterdam derives its name. During a tourist and/or business visit to Amsterdam, Bij de Amstel is an ideal operating base to rest and enjoy yourself, while surrounded by luxury and comfort. You will find our colourful, fully equipped studio with private access in the attic of our nineteenth-century house. Very suitable for a longer – business stay. Also very suitable for parents with child.‘Bed & Breakfast’ is a spacious double-bedded room, situated quietly on the first floor at the back of the house. The room is equipped with all conveniences (bathroom with bath, internet, TV). ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bij-de-Amstel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.