We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing specially” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bij-de-Amstel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bij-de-Amstel
Save
You added Bij-de-Amstel to your Saves list
Burmanstraat 9, 1091SG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #181 of 323 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Heerlen, The Netherlands
1 review
“Nothing specially”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The location is nice. Information about the city Amsterdam was pourly. The beds were good. The pratice of the owner is also in the house. This makes to much noise in the house. People going in and out. The neighbor has also a bed and breakfast. You can feel the tension between this two.
Sorry about this review, but we only wanted some peaceful time.

Room Tip: Ask the owner if there also an other business in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    18
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
25
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bari, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed in Bed&Kitchen for 10 nights and it was a great experience. The studio is cozy, fully equipped and very clean. It is located on the last floor, so it's a bit hot when the weather is sunny, the stairway is very steep and it's not easy to carry the bags upstairs but it's absolutely dutch style. The staff was very kind and always helpful to any request. The location is also very good: it's only 3 minutes walk to metro station and 5 minutes to tram stop, the surroundings are quiet and there is a furnished supermarket nearby. However we can recommend it as a perfect starting point for visiting the city. Surely we would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We had a very good time in the Bed & Kitchen. It's equipped with all the necessary tools. It's large and comfortable. It's also well located: 3 minutes walk from the Metro station even if we often reached by walking our turistical destinations.
We hope to stay the B&K again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed there for a weekend with my girlfriend.
the room is quite big and worth a 3 stars hotel with a nice bed, a bathroom with bath and toilets.
In term of accomodation in the room you'll find what you need for coffee and tea, an egg cooker, a minibar (empty), a microwave and a table with 2 chairs. In the bathroom, clean towels, and soaps. There was no plates, forks or knifes so don't expect to do big cooking.

The place was really clean when we arrived.

Not really in center but nice if you want a quiet neighbourhood. Close to a supermarket but not really convenient for the tramway (only line 3).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

We went there by car: parking in the streets around the B&B is very expensive (around 4€ per hour), so we parked the car in the A+R Parking Arena (just above the Ajax Stadium) where they give you Metro tickets included in the 24h tariff (€ 8) to reach the town centre. Near the Central Station we rented the bikes for the whole day and it was a very smart and funny way to live the city as people from Amsterdam use to do. B&B is located in a quiet neighbourhood, a little bit outside the city centre but just few steps from the full of life Amstel River bankside: by bike it takes only few minutes to be where you want..
The B&Kitchen room is good for two persons: clean, wide, noiseless and sunny tipical Amsterdam apartment with all the bathroom and kitchen facilities (shower gel, hairdryer, coffeemaker, microwave, etc.) Negative aspects are: you have to climb 3-4 flights of very narrow stairs (not suitable for travellers who use to have heavy and big luggages); you can open only one window (roof windows could not be open even if they promised us to repair them). The owner was nice and friendly but very discrete if you don't ask for her..

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed at Bed and Kitchen so we enjoyed to shopping at grocery store near here.
It was good experience for us because we knew the local people life style.

Hotel location is also good, it's quiet and nice to go to the plant garden and zoo.
We hope to stay the B&B again!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

The room is clean and they have gone to a lot of effort to make people comfortable. There was a fantastic range of tea and coffee.

However we booked bed and breakfast and never got any breakfast, we buzzed the intercom to find out about it and had no response. In fact we never saw the owners other than at check in. When we left we had to leave the keys under the door.

So it was a little strange.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Bij-de-Amstel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bij-de-Amstel

Address: Burmanstraat 9, 1091SG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 323 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bij de Amstel is a cosy, quiet ‘Bed & Breakfast’ and ‘Bed & Kitchen’, situated in a beautiful area at a stones throw from the river from which Amsterdam derives its name. During a tourist and/or business visit to Amsterdam, Bij de Amstel is an ideal operating base to rest and enjoy yourself, while surrounded by luxury and comfort. You will find our colourful, fully equipped studio with private access in the attic of our nineteenth-century house. Very suitable for a longer – business stay. Also very suitable for parents with child.‘Bed & Breakfast’ is a spacious double-bedded room, situated quietly on the first floor at the back of the house. The room is equipped with all conveniences (bathroom with bath, internet, TV). ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bij-de-Amstel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.