We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to visit real Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bij-de-Amstel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bij-de-Amstel to your Saves list
Bij-de-Amstel
Burmanstraat 9, 1091SG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #202 of 327 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Florence, Italy
1 review
“Good place to visit real Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

We went there by car: parking in the streets around the B&B is very expensive (around 4€ per hour), so we parked the car in the A+R Parking Arena (just above the Ajax Stadium) where they give you Metro tickets included in the 24h tariff (€ 8) to reach the town centre. Near the Central Station we rented the bikes for the whole day and it was a very smart and funny way to live the city as people from Amsterdam use to do. B&B is located in a quiet neighbourhood, a little bit outside the city centre but just few steps from the full of life Amstel River bankside: by bike it takes only few minutes to be where you want..
The B&Kitchen room is good for two persons: clean, wide, noiseless and sunny tipical Amsterdam apartment with all the bathroom and kitchen facilities (shower gel, hairdryer, coffeemaker, microwave, etc.) Negative aspects are: you have to climb 3-4 flights of very narrow stairs (not suitable for travellers who use to have heavy and big luggages); you can open only one window (roof windows could not be open even if they promised us to repair them). The owner was nice and friendly but very discrete if you don't ask for her..

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandroM590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed at Bed and Kitchen so we enjoyed to shopping at grocery store near here.
It was good experience for us because we knew the local people life style.

Hotel location is also good, it's quiet and nice to go to the plant garden and zoo.
We hope to stay the B&B again!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tongue303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
199 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

The room is clean and they have gone to a lot of effort to make people comfortable. There was a fantastic range of tea and coffee.

However we booked bed and breakfast and never got any breakfast, we buzzed the intercom to find out about it and had no response. In fact we never saw the owners other than at check in. When we left we had to leave the keys under the door.

So it was a little strange.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

This is a good sized studio flat with a really nice bathroom. Nice and quiet as well.

Those who are not so athletic beware that the studio is up 3 flights of very very steep stairs.

Bed was comfy and the metro is really close by.

Only gripe really is that as soon as the sun came up light flooded in to the flat as there wasn't anything sufficient covering the windows so a good nights sleep was ended prematurely. If the owner can fix this then it will be a good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ukmunke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

Lovely old fashioned style house, but has all the amenities. Bedroom en suite immaculate. And the nicest of all: a wonderful hostess who I did not see at all but knew she was there for help/advice. Bij-de-Amstel is exactly what it says on the tin - on the river amstel. So you get the lovely old Dutch buildings/churches yet within 2 minutes walk you can get the metro to anywhere. Wonderful - I'll be there next time.

Room Tip: phone or email
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beckamalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

The price is absolutely right, the service was great and the location excellent. Very close to the metro and a five to eight minute walk to any tram line, this was a real find on our last trip to Amsterdam. Coffee machine, a REAL bathtub and total privacy made it one of our favourite places to stay. You won't be disappointed. Internet works great and there's a fridge too.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chaptwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

We had a nice stay in this comfortable B&B. The stairs are steep, but the room (Bed&Kitchen) is very clean and complete. It has a basic kitchen with all necessary appliances, a spacious bathroom, TV, double bed.
This B&B is not located in the city centre, but is very close to a metro and tram station so it is easy to get there.
There's also a supermarket just around the corner which is very handy if you want to cook yourself one night.
Because the owners have a job too, we couldn't enter the room until 6pm on the day of arrival. This was however compensated by a discount. We left our suitcases in the lockers at the central station. They are safe and there is always security.
We could also leave our suitcases over there on the day of departure until we needed them to leave in the evening.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank verhoevenben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Volkshotel
#67 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 476 reviews
De Pijp
Hotelboat IDEAAL
Hotelboat IDEAAL
#112 of 207 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 4 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#179 of 327 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B&B in 't Hooi
#209 of 327 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1 reviews
Vondelpark
Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
#41 of 327 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bij-de-Amstel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bij-de-Amstel

Address: Burmanstraat 9, 1091SG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 327 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bij de Amstel is a cosy, quiet ‘Bed & Breakfast’ and ‘Bed & Kitchen’, situated in a beautiful area at a stones throw from the river from which Amsterdam derives its name. During a tourist and/or business visit to Amsterdam, Bij de Amstel is an ideal operating base to rest and enjoy yourself, while surrounded by luxury and comfort. You will find our colourful, fully equipped studio with private access in the attic of our nineteenth-century house. Very suitable for a longer – business stay. Also very suitable for parents with child.‘Bed & Breakfast’ is a spacious double-bedded room, situated quietly on the first floor at the back of the house. The room is equipped with all conveniences (bathroom with bath, internet, TV). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bij-de-Amstel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing