We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to visit real Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bij-de-Amstel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bij-de-Amstel
Save Saved
You added Bij-de-Amstel to your Saves list
Burmanstraat 9, 1091SG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #147 of 305 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Florence, Italy
1 review
“Good place to visit real Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

We went there by car: parking in the streets around the B&B is very expensive (around 4€ per hour), so we parked the car in the A+R Parking Arena (just above the Ajax Stadium) where they give you Metro tickets included in the 24h tariff (€ 8) to reach the town centre. Near the Central Station we rented the bikes for the whole day and it was a very smart and funny way to live the city as people from Amsterdam use to do. B&B is located in a quiet neighbourhood, a little bit outside the city centre but just few steps from the full of life Amstel River bankside: by bike it takes only few minutes to be where you want..
The B&Kitchen room is good for two persons: clean, wide, noiseless and sunny tipical Amsterdam apartment with all the bathroom and kitchen facilities (shower gel, hairdryer, coffeemaker, microwave, etc.) Negative aspects are: you have to climb 3-4 flights of very narrow stairs (not suitable for travellers who use to have heavy and big luggages); you can open only one window (roof windows could not be open even if they promised us to repair them). The owner was nice and friendly but very discrete if you don't ask for her..

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    18
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
25
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed at Bed and Kitchen so we enjoyed to shopping at grocery store near here.
It was good experience for us because we knew the local people life style.

Hotel location is also good, it's quiet and nice to go to the plant garden and zoo.
We hope to stay the B&B again!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

The room is clean and they have gone to a lot of effort to make people comfortable. There was a fantastic range of tea and coffee.

However we booked bed and breakfast and never got any breakfast, we buzzed the intercom to find out about it and had no response. In fact we never saw the owners other than at check in. When we left we had to leave the keys under the door.

So it was a little strange.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

This is a good sized studio flat with a really nice bathroom. Nice and quiet as well.

Those who are not so athletic beware that the studio is up 3 flights of very very steep stairs.

Bed was comfy and the metro is really close by.

Only gripe really is that as soon as the sun came up light flooded in to the flat as there wasn't anything sufficient covering the windows so a good nights sleep was ended prematurely. If the owner can fix this then it will be a good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

Lovely old fashioned style house, but has all the amenities. Bedroom en suite immaculate. And the nicest of all: a wonderful hostess who I did not see at all but knew she was there for help/advice. Bij-de-Amstel is exactly what it says on the tin - on the river amstel. So you get the lovely old Dutch buildings/churches yet within 2 minutes walk you can get the metro to anywhere. Wonderful - I'll be there next time.

Room Tip: phone or email
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

The price is absolutely right, the service was great and the location excellent. Very close to the metro and a five to eight minute walk to any tram line, this was a real find on our last trip to Amsterdam. Coffee machine, a REAL bathtub and total privacy made it one of our favourite places to stay. You won't be disappointed. Internet works great and there's a fridge too.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

We had a nice stay in this comfortable B&B. The stairs are steep, but the room (Bed&Kitchen) is very clean and complete. It has a basic kitchen with all necessary appliances, a spacious bathroom, TV, double bed.
This B&B is not located in the city centre, but is very close to a metro and tram station so it is easy to get there.
There's also a supermarket just around the corner which is very handy if you want to cook yourself one night.
Because the owners have a job too, we couldn't enter the room until 6pm on the day of arrival. This was however compensated by a discount. We left our suitcases in the lockers at the central station. They are safe and there is always security.
We could also leave our suitcases over there on the day of departure until we needed them to leave in the evening.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bij-de-Amstel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bij-de-Amstel

Address: Burmanstraat 9, 1091SG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bij de Amstel is a cosy, quiet ‘Bed & Breakfast’ and ‘Bed & Kitchen’, situated in a beautiful area at a stones throw from the river from which Amsterdam derives its name. During a tourist and/or business visit to Amsterdam, Bij de Amstel is an ideal operating base to rest and enjoy yourself, while surrounded by luxury and comfort. You will find our colourful, fully equipped studio with private access in the attic of our nineteenth-century house. Very suitable for a longer – business stay. Also very suitable for parents with child.‘Bed & Breakfast’ is a spacious double-bedded room, situated quietly on the first floor at the back of the house. The room is equipped with all conveniences (bathroom with bath, internet, TV). ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bij-de-Amstel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.