We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sonnerberg Apartment Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Canal Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amsterdam Canal Apartments
Save Saved
You added Amsterdam Canal Apartments to your Saves list
Raamgracht 23, 1011kj Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sonnerberg Apartment Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Cozy and beautiful.Nearby to tram station cafes,shops,etc.Located in front of the Canal.Apartment very clean.Ideal for family with teenagers.
You can actually walk all the way to Damrak or take the tram.It is near to a supermarket as many resteraunts.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in midwinter for a week. The taxi pickup went smoothly and owner was expecting us...with a welcome bottle wine and excellent Hollandse kaas!(cheese). Apartment has all the amenities of home, even more so. Heating and warm shower fantastic for the cold weather. Lastly the setting is fantastic, within walking distance to most tourist attractions. Would definitely recommend this apartment for the above mentioned as well as the friendliness of Bas and Wilson!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We knew this place was going to be perfect for our family when the email correspondence with the owner was so easy. We'd reserved our apartment in the middle of the year - after all, we were staying in Amsterdam for five nights over the New Year period. And when we arrived early after an overnight train trip from Zurich, our bags were stored upstairs until we returned in the afternoon.

The location is wonderful, with an entrance to the underground station just a few steps from the front door - it has a lift, and you don't even need to cross a road (but it doesn't show on the public transport maps; they only show the entrance to the other end of the station). Walk over the bridge towards Rembrandthaus and you'll find a great supermarket on the other side of the road, plus trams on that road.

And it's right near two lovely cafes: we liked Rembrant Corner right on the canal, but also walk along the canal to the Waterlooplein market and you find Bagels & Beans - wonderful food and coffee. And you can shop in the market and then go back for another coffee!

The Delft Blue apartment itself was lovely, with a very private bedroom out the back with an ensuite and a sofa that transformed into a comfortable bed for our daughter . . . and left her with the TV which she loved given she had some English programs to watch after a couple of weeks in German-only Austria and Germany.

We found the apartment perfect for New Year's Eve - slightly removed from the crowds but still close enough to hear the fireworks for hours and hours!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

The stairs were a bit daunting as we opened the front door and they were totally worth the climb to reach the beautiful apartment. Natural light streamed in every room and it immediately felt like home. Two bathrooms for our two bedrooms were a definite plus especially with modern features. Washer/dryer was a surprise bonus.

Our landlords were even better. We were welcomed with a smile and a friendly tail wag from Trouble. Treats(human) were offered on the dining table and there were drinks in the fridge.

A great experience.

Room Tip: Must be able to walk up narrow stairs and consider luggage size as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The apartment is conveniently located close to old town and the city square, about a 15 minute walk from Central train station. It was slightly off of a main street, so we rarely heard street noise except during the day. Many restaurants, shops, ATM, and supermarket close by.

The apartment easily fit three guests and was pleasantly decorated. We greatly appreciated how accommodating Bas was with our arrival/departure time, and he provided a nice welcome gift of wine and cookies for us. :-) The double bed and fold out couch were comfortable. A broad assortment of amenities were provided such as dishes, towels, washer/dryer, a few movies, etc. A resource book listed information about the neighborhood.

We would highly recommend staying in the apartment and it was perfect for us. We find Amsterdam to be easily navigated and English widely spoken, so we didn't have questions or other needs during our stay. It's a great home away from home.

The only caution - the water pump is in the main bedroom and makes noise with toilet flushes and shower usage. If your travel companions use the bathroom multiple times in the night be prepared for the noise. It wouldn't deter us from staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband and I, along with two other friends, stayed at the Amsterdam Canal apartments. We stayed at the upper apartment and our friends stayed at the lower level. It was an ideal situation for two couples to vacation together but have our own "space". The four of us loved the location of the apartments. It was within easy walking distance of a nice, large grocery store; we would walk over and buy rotisserie chicken, wine, olives, cheese, etc. and share the evening meal together. The host, Bas, greeted us when we arrived, and he shared some nice food/treats with us. The apartments were well-located; we walked to everything that we wanted to see. The Rembrandt house and an open market were very close by. Our apartment was very spacious. It had a nice TV/living area and a well-equipped kitchen. It was a little tricky to understand some of the appliances that were written in Dutch, but it was very nice to have a washer/dryer, microwave, and dishwasher available to use during our stay. We stayed here for a few nights before our Holland America cruise ship left the Amsterdam port; when we come back to the Netherlands, I hope to stay here again.

Room Tip: The upper apartment was very nice and quiet, even though it was at street level. There is a street l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Bas makes you feel right at home, and the folder with advice where to go and eat is excellent, a very help man. The canal apartment is perfect, close proximity to all that Amsterdam has to offer.

Communicating with Bas is also very easy. Even before booking and arriving to the apartment. Bas assisted in booking us a quality transfer at a good price. The apartments are a must, just for the superb quality, location, and service.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam Canal Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Canal Apartments

Address: Raamgracht 23, 1011kj Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam Canal Apartments offer two stylish and comfortable canal side apartments in the historic city centre of Amsterdam with everything of interest within walking distance: the "Canal View" studio with large kitchen and the one bedroom "Delft Blue" Apartment.Both are suitable for a couple or two singles each. The apartments are equipped with really everything for a relaxed and comfortable stay to give you a home away from home feeling. You’ll find original Dutch antiques and Design, WiFi, Ipod and Iphone dock, flatscreen TV, DVD, stereo, a complete kitchen and a comfortable double bed and an extra single bed,etc.The apartments are centrally, but quiet and romantically located in a 17th century merchant house on the very quiet crossing of two canals in the heart of the Unesco World Heritage site of the canal area of Amsterdam . You will find everything of interest, like museums within a 1 mile radius. Restaurants, shopping areas and cafes are practically next door.Both apartments have also a separate listing on Tripadvisor, as Amsterdam Canal Apartment "Canal View" and Amsterdam Canal Apartment " Delft Blue" ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Canal Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.