We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A review on just booking the Amsterdam Canal Apartment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Canal Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amsterdam Canal Apartments
Save
You added Amsterdam Canal Apartments to your Saves list
Raamgracht 23, 1011kj Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A review on just booking the Amsterdam Canal Apartment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We are yet to stay but just wanted to rave about the experience in booking this apartment for our holiday next year. We were going to book a hotel and thanks to Tripadvisor and Flipkey found this apartment on the web. Bas has been so helpful and there are already suggestions in a booklet we can study.

The apartment looks clean and just what we are looking for. Stay tuned for the review after our stay at the Delft Blue apartment which is one of two apartments offered.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leigh on Sea
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Having visited Amsterdam several times before and using hotels that range from two to five star rated, we wanted to experience staying in an apartment. We chose the Canal Apartment as it was central to most attractions and has really easy links to public transport. The apartment itself is very large, extremely clean and to be honest home from home. It really is the perfect base for a busy couple like us, and after a day of walking, cycling, drinking and eating at the many bars and restaurants that are located around the area, you can rest easy, sit at the table by the large front window and watch the world float by.

The apartment is more than adequately equipped from a very good wifi service, to a dishwasher and washing machine. And to complete the kitchen, I recommend a visit to the Nieuwmarkt Square for all your fresh food – you’ll be in Utopia if you like cheese.

Bas, the owner of the Apartment lives upstairs, but is very discrete. He is a really helpful (and extremely happy) host and he has created a very detailed guide for all four corners of Amsterdam and more!

We loved our stay and would not hesitate in going back tomorrow.

Thank you very much Bas.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Canal Apartment is very centrally located and convenient to transport, the museums, good restaurants and just about anything else you could want in Amsterdam. Almost everything is in walking distance which made for a very pleasant holiday. I would definitely recommend the Neighborhood City Guide (found on the apartment website) which Bas has put together. This gives you a good overview of what is in the area.

The apartment itself has a lovely view across the canal. It is a perfect place to watch the world go by. The apartment is very well outfitted and it is very hard to think of anything the kitchen lacks of in terms of cooking utensils etc.. In addition to the good restaurants near by there are also ample places to buy very nice produce, fish etc. if you want to cook. We really enjoyed our stay and I would not only recommend this apartment, but I would also stay there on any return trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Booked here for 7 nights but ended up staying 8. Would have stayed 10 nights but it was booked unfortunately. That tells you something about how much I liked it here.

I emailed Bas the owner my arrival time and sure enough when the taxi pulled up outside he was there to shake my hand and show me around the apartment. A nice welcome.

I stayed in the canal view apartment. It is a large studio and would suit a couple perfectly. The apartment is part of the owners house. It is a beautiful 4 story 17th century canal house on gorgeous Raamgracht canal. The apartment looks out over the canal and the houseboats. The Zuider Kirk is behind and the bells play briefly on the half hour or so throughout the day as mentioned by other reviewers. I loved it as it added to the charming atmosphere of Amsterdam. The bells stopped at 11pm.

The apartment is fully equipped. Dishwasher, washer dryer, oven and cook top and all the necessary cookware. There is satellite TV and good wifi.

It was clean and well stocked with spare linen and towels.

The location is superb. I hired a bike for the week (a must do in Amsterdam) but you can walk anywhere in the city from here. Albert Heijn supermarket is 3 minutes walk away and has everything. The Waterlooplein flea market is next door as well. The Nieuwmarkt metro station is at the back of the block and if I had released how close it was I would not take a taxi here from Centraal station but the 30 second metro trip instead.

Bas is a discrete and helpful host. It was nice knowing he was nearby if needed. The apartment has a lot of charm and character. I loved sitting at the table by the window with a coffee or a beer and watching the street life. It is a quiet area by the way.

Amsterdam is an expensive city for accommodation. I thought this place was a bargain for the quality, cleanliness, location and service. Would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

if you're looking for the perfect place to stay in Amsterdam, you have found it here!! we rents both apartments for 2 couples, and we were very happy! the location is perfect. . .just one stop on the Metro after Central Station, and within easy walking distance of major attractions. we stayed in apartment #2 and it is GREAT. One of the things I really appreciated was the fact that when I opened the cabinets, I found all those little things that make life so much happier. . .tea bags, cereal, sugar, and a plethora of beautiful dishes. honestly, everything is there, just like at home!! the bed was comfy, the shower perfect, the TV worked, the Internet worked. . .well, you get the picture. It's an absolutely great rental. . . .Just do it. You'll BR happy!!

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We (myself, partner and 12 year old daughter) stayed for 5 nights at Raamgracht 2 Apartment. It's terrific. The location is perfect, we walked (and rode bikes) everywhere, including to and from central station with our bags. You are right in the heart of things but, however, it is very quiet at night. The bells from the lcoal church are a lovely reminder of where you are! The apartment has everything you could need including a fully equipped kitchen (we ate out all the time, but handy for those who want to cook), washing machine and drier and separate sleeping area.

The owner, Bas, has written a guide which is fantastic... We ate at the places he suggested and everyone was a hit. It also includes things to do and see and outlines where all the local necessities are. The guide is generous in sharing local favourite things to see, eat and do - it also shows that the owner cares that you have a great time and make the most of the local area. We hardly saw Bas, which was nice. The booking was easy and Bas' friend was here to greet us, even though we were late because of train strikes.

The bathroom is small - the shower is great. The bed was very comfortable, and there is heaps of room in the living area for a fold out bed for a third person. All reports are this was comfortable too. The heating system is excellent. The wifi is good - a bit hit and miss - but, minor.

You MUST go to the little bar/restaurant/cafe around the corner, Englebewaarder. And a little further afield, don't miss the cafe on the top of the library (and check out the library too).

It's great value for money and you really feel a part of the city, with your own canal right outside your door.

Only downside was the smell of pot smoke from the guests in the apartment upstairs (we are not pot smokers), but, again, nothing like the smell of pot to remind you where you are!

We would definately stay here again. Loved it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Stunning modern apartment, with fully working kitchen, luxury intimate room with a stunning Dutch style modern bathroom, funky decor and all extras was included in the price such as dvd player with all latest dvd's, massive tv, chocolates etc. Apartment was typical Dutch (exactly what we wanted) as you walk down the stairs to the basement apt and was on the canal with a view of the canal, the apartment was "Korenbloemen Studio" 1 canal across from the red light disctrict area which is exactly what me and my girlfriend needed for this short trip. Stunning apartment + very cheap for the area compared to hotels, Parking right outside the apartment however cost me 45 Euro's every 12 hours but hey it was worth it, i never leave my house with out a car so no chance i would go Amsterdam without a car. Our host lingo i think it was, was a very nice friendly, easy to get on with guy which was honest and very trust worthy, We will 100% be back!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam Canal Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Canal Apartments

Address: Raamgracht 23, 1011kj Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam Canal Apartments offer two stylish and comfortable canal side apartments in the historic city centre of Amsterdam with everything of interest within walking distance: the "Canal View" studio with large kitchen and the one bedroom "Delft Blue" Apartment.Both are suitable for a couple or two singles each. The apartments are equipped with really everything for a relaxed and comfortable stay to give you a home away from home feeling. You’ll find original Dutch antiques and Design, WiFi, Ipod and Iphone dock, flatscreen TV, DVD, stereo, a complete kitchen and a comfortable double bed and an extra single bed,etc.The apartments are centrally, but quiet and romantically located in a 17th century merchant house on the very quiet crossing of two canals in the heart of the Unesco World Heritage site of the canal area of Amsterdam . You will find everything of interest, like museums within a 1 mile radius. Restaurants, shopping areas and cafes are practically next door.Both apartments have also a separate listing on Tripadvisor, as Amsterdam Canal Apartment "Canal View" and Amsterdam Canal Apartment " Delft Blue" ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Canal Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.