We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cheap pleasant stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A'damgoodstay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A'damgoodstay
Save
You added A'damgoodstay to your Saves list
Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #132 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A cheap pleasant stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

This was a great find as it was cheap, clean and had a patio. It was also secure. The people that own it are great as well. The only complaint is I had a hell of a time finding the place. It is located right beside a shop. There are these weird black doors at a angle at number 86. Then you hit the buzzer that says Wendi and Hans.
Smoke friendly, and had a patio and a full size bathroom.

Room Tip: Hard to find - black door that has 86 above it, then hit buzzer
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Very welcoming place that is only 5-10mins from centre of Amsterdam. We were welcomed by Hans and Wendie on arrival and very nice to get to low them. They made sure we got the most out of our stay and recommended some great places to visit. The room was very nice, well maintained and good value for money. Definitely plan on staying here again in the future!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We booked 8 nights here and it was excellent. The owners were super friendly and helped to tell us about some interesting sites in Amsterdam. We were able to walk everywhere from the location and the bars were literally around the corner. The weather wasn't the greatest so we had a nice bath every night. Really hope to stay here again!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

This was a lovely stay in the centre of Amsterdam

The owners were very friendly and extremely helpful. Very good communication before we arrived and they were always quick to answer emails. This isn;t a Hotel but rather a bed and breakfast style accommodation. The owners live in the apartment block and I believe they have a couple of hotel style rooms. Hans and Wendie are great at advising on what to do and they leave you to get on with your holiday.

The room itself was basic but lovely. It had its own bathroom which often pushes the price up in Amsterdam. It had a nice balcony which wasn't exposed to the main street. The room was very clean and the coffee and snack served each morning was a nice touch. The owners love art and this is reflected in the decoration of the room.

The location was perfect for us. The room was part of the owners apartment block and very easy to find. Directly outside a tram stop which takes you right into the city centre. We also walked too to show how close it is. The street has lots of restaurants ranging from Mcdonalds just opposite for a cheap breakfast, as well as other fast food places to nicer restaurants for the evening meal.

I would recommend this place to anybody wanting a good value room but wanting Hotel quality accommodation. I will definately go back here when I return to The Dam.

There are some supermarkets nearby and I would recommend going there for basics as Amsterdam isn't the cheapest place for eating out and drinking.

Room Tip: I think there may only be one or two rooms. The room we had was the room from the website but anothe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

My girlfriend and I really had an amazing time. Hans and Wendie were friendly enough, but just let us get on with our trip. Great location. Very clean and tidy, would definitely come back!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A'damgoodstay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A'damgoodstay

Address: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A'damgoodstay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.