We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Liberty Hotel

Save Saved
You added Liberty Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Liberty Hotel
Singel 5, 1012 VC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Having stayed in a few hotels in Amsterdam i have to say this is far and away the best. Its not luxury but is like staying with your family, I have never felt more welcome in any hotel. It is clean and tidy, but the thing that makes the difference here is the welcome you are given by Shalina the Owner and Elliot and Dora the staff, nothing is too much trouble and Elliot is the best person to speak for anything you need and doesn't just give directions but actually takes you to where ever you want to go. I will definatly be staying here again and recommending it to all my friends. Thankyou all for a wonderful stay xxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    18
    3
    2
    14
See reviews for
2
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brigg, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

My first stay in Amsterdam, and i am so glad we found hotel liberty.. It is in a great location, just walking distance from everything you need and want to see. The hotel staff were all very friendly, helpful and tried their best to make our time there the best possible. The rooms were all clean and we got a great breakfast in the mornings at any time we pleased. Hotel liberty is the place to stay if you want to have a great holiday. Can't wait to get back!

Room Tip: If your going to have quite a few drinks, i recommend getting a room which is downstairs as the stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

I recently stayed at the Liberty with a friend, we had a private room that was basic but very clean, with an ideal location close to the train station and minutes away from Dam Square.

The hotel generally is very clean and well organised but what really makes it is the staff, they are always available to answer any questions or offer advise on where to go in the city. When going to somewhere like Amsterdam you can be unsure on what to expect, the staff made sure we always went to the best places to stay safe and encouraged you to have a great time.

Best of all they make a excellent breakfast at what ever time you choose to wake up!

Don't expect the Ritz because your not paying for it, but if you want to see real Amsterdam then these are the people to show you. 10/10 for this hotel, will be going back

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We couldnt believe how lucky we were when we found the Liberty Hotel. We have never had so much fun in a hotel ever! The owner Shalina was amazing and Elliott, the lad who worked there was brilliant, they made you feel at home and part of the family and would go the extra mile for all the guests. Breakfast was excellent and was served when ever you got up. The rooms were basic but had everything you needed, why would you stay in your room anyway when your in AMSTERDAM?! Elliott and Shalina had an excellent knowledge of the area and recommended the best places to go. We loved the LIberty and will never stay anywhere else. Highly recommend to anyone who knows how to have a good time!! Cant wait to get back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Me and 3 other friends visited recently for 2 nights and this relaxed place is in a great location! We stayed on the top floor in a quad room, it was pretty basic but perfect as a base for exploring the city. The stairs are a bit thin but you can deal with it, although to get to the top floor it was a bit like a ladder rather than stairs which was a bit hard with our little suitcases! The people are so friendly and are always on hand to give advice and help you find good places to go! Breakfast is served whenever you are ready and are made to feel like part of the family. We would use again if visiting Amsterdam!!

Room Tip: 2nd floor would be better - just for the stairs reason!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Relaxed hostal style hotel. Where staff are freindly,approchable and make you feel at home.
Can come and go as you wish,will serve you breakfast up till noon. Party all night or chill out whatever you please.Knowlageable of the area and will inform you of all the best and worse places to go. For young and carefree people. It is reasonably priced for what is on offer...a bed and a good time! There is nothing more I would want. Do not come here for 5 star service of the regular kind this is a different experiance...one which I really enjoyed!!! Would not stay anywhere else in Amsterdam again!! For sure!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

having just visited the hotel liberty i was amazedhow kind friendly and helpful the hotel owner shalina and her staff elliot are.Basic rooms but very clean like a home fromhome perfect for the young to drop rgeir bags and explore the door is always open for them .Amazing central locationabout 4 minutes to central station.Overlooks a beautiful canal andmany cafes and bats very nearby .For the very cheap prices charged this hotel is the jewel in the crown for theyoung tovisit and stay in amsterdam .you will be looked after amazingly.

Room Tip: i would definetely reccomend this hotel foryoung couples and groups of friends no taxi fares 4mins f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Liberty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Hotel

Address: Singel 5, 1012 VC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built as a canal house in 1658 Hotel Liberty is one of Amsterdams smallest Hotels. Situated in the heart of the historical center. Come and experience our unique style of hospitality. Hotel Liberty was originally built as a canal house in 1658, Hotel Liberty is one of Amsterdams smallest Hotels, next to the smalllest house in Situated in the heart of the historical center.Hotel Liberty is only minuets walk from Central Station. Situated on the Singel, Amsterdam's first ring canal, offering a unique view of Amsterdam day to day life. Train from Schiphol International Airport to Central Station. €3,90. Walk to the right along the Prins Hendrikkade, turning left onto the first canal via the Stromarkt walking on the left side of the canal you will arrive at Hotel Liberty in under 10 minuets ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Liberty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liberty Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.