We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uitstekend!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bellington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Bellington to your Saves list
Hotel Bellington
P.C. Hooftstraat 78-80, 1071 CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #252 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Real Madrid
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Uitstekend!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

This is very good hotel! beautiful views, and a lovely balcony where you can rest. effe The beds were very nice! The bathroom was quite large, very hygienic, there is also a fridge! Also convenient way, you get good treats everything was explained well, the food was very tasty and healthy beautiful place where you can shop Enzo, the hotel workers explained where the tram stops were and where the museum. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    23
    18
    7
    17
See reviews for
8
20
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Great location, close to vondelpark in a very nice part of town which isn't too far from the center unless you're really lazy. In terms of the hotel itself, this is not one of those low cost gems, you get exactly what you pay for and that is a room. That's it apart from a couple of towels, the worst breakfast i've ever seen and a closet pretending to be a bathroom.
Amsterdam isn't the kind of place to be spending time in your hotel room though, and we "just slept" in our double room.
Overall it's what was expected though and the service, such as it was, was friendly enough.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

After reading various reviews online that slate this place I really think people should lay off poor Bellington. It's not anything special or classy, but has a decent shower, reasonable bed and is situated on a lovely street in my favourite area of the city, right next to Vondels and a leisurely walk from Leidseplein, Southern Canals, Jordaan, Nieuwmarkt and all other nice areas of Amsterdam. Not to mention it is literally around the corner from Museumplein, not like people aren't interested in that.....It's great! Ssssh. Lovely bloke at the reception too!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel was clean comfortable and being a family run business the staff were helpful friendly and were forthcoming with all the usual assistance such as directions & advice on attractions plus of course the means by which to get to these places.The room was adequate for two people and was appropriately furnished as described.The cost was very competitively priced.The breakfast was the normal European cuisine of meats cheeses fruit and all manner of fresh food associated with healthy eating.It was all extremely fresh and again the staff in attendance were superb!(Michel & family)
I did read other reviews prior to my visit complaining about the steep stairs and whilst I wouldnt recommend the hotel for very very elderly visitors I DID NOT THINK IT DISTRACTED AWAY FROM THE QUALITY OF THE ESTABLISHMENT.
Now guys the best bit THE LOCATION! The hotel is located in the most desired shopping street in all Amsterdam(yes ladies you have all the top designer shops) but most of all it is within 15/20 minutes walk of the centre of amsterdam with a multitude of trams and buses servicing the area! There are plenty of decent competitively prices restaurants nearby and it was a pleasure to experience the quiet ambience of this area after the hectic sightseeing visits during the day.
(Advice on trams..Numbers 2 & 5....Bus to and from the Airport Number 197..stops within 10 mins walk from the hotel so forget expensive taxis and messing about with any other mode of transport people)
You will not be disappointed with this hotel...ENJOY!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have stayed two night in October last year, I have nothing to complain about this place, my room had a small balcony,where I could go out and breathe some fresh air, the room was very basic,but this is what I was looking for.

I will definitely recommend this place, and I will stay there again,if I will need to stay close to Vondel Park area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The location is the best thing about this place. Not too far from Vondelpark, tram services, museumplein and located in the heart of the upmarket shopping area. Continental breakfast was included and had a range of options.
Staircase was crazy steep but you come to expect that in Amsterdam when buildings are narrow but tall. Wouldn't advise a lot of luggage, we were only there for a weekend so just had a small bag each. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room w/ bathroom was clean if a little sparse with questionable furnishings. Aside from this mosquitos were pretty persistent. Think it would be an idea to provide nets or something.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

I will start with the only cons i found in this hotel, being the horribly steep entry staircase, and the windows that don't offer that much security... Considering they don't have a lock, which would be really easy to fix... That said, be weary if you bring a lot of luggage... The staircase will kill you...

As for the good part... Great staff, good breakfast & coffee area, very comfortable bed and running hot water (without breaks as you usually see in this kind of low budget hotels...), and the location is simply amazing!!! 100m from the museumplein, 200m from hard rock cafe & bike rental, 250m from leidseplein & the bulldog!!! What more can you wish for this value?!

I can firmly state that the location of the hotel combined with the price, made my trip worthwhile, also, i VERY STRONLY advice anyone who visits amsterdam to make theyr first priority renting a bike, otherwise you won't see a tenth, of what this marvel-of-a-city has to offer! (Take bellington discount to mac-bike!)

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellington

Address: P.C. Hooftstraat 78-80, 1071 CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #252 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 249
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Bellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.