We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ssssh. Haters!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bellington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Bellington to your Saves list
Hotel Bellington
P.C. Hooftstraat 78-80, 1071 CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #257 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Ssssh. Haters!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

After reading various reviews online that slate this place I really think people should lay off poor Bellington. It's not anything special or classy, but has a decent shower, reasonable bed and is situated on a lovely street in my favourite area of the city, right next to Vondels and a leisurely walk from Leidseplein, Southern Canals, Jordaan, Nieuwmarkt and all other nice areas of Amsterdam. Not to mention it is literally around the corner from Museumplein, not like people aren't interested in that.....It's great! Ssssh. Lovely bloke at the reception too!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    22
    18
    7
    17
See reviews for
8
20
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel was clean comfortable and being a family run business the staff were helpful friendly and were forthcoming with all the usual assistance such as directions & advice on attractions plus of course the means by which to get to these places.The room was adequate for two people and was appropriately furnished as described.The cost was very competitively priced.The breakfast was the normal European cuisine of meats cheeses fruit and all manner of fresh food associated with healthy eating.It was all extremely fresh and again the staff in attendance were superb!(Michel & family)
I did read other reviews prior to my visit complaining about the steep stairs and whilst I wouldnt recommend the hotel for very very elderly visitors I DID NOT THINK IT DISTRACTED AWAY FROM THE QUALITY OF THE ESTABLISHMENT.
Now guys the best bit THE LOCATION! The hotel is located in the most desired shopping street in all Amsterdam(yes ladies you have all the top designer shops) but most of all it is within 15/20 minutes walk of the centre of amsterdam with a multitude of trams and buses servicing the area! There are plenty of decent competitively prices restaurants nearby and it was a pleasure to experience the quiet ambience of this area after the hectic sightseeing visits during the day.
(Advice on trams..Numbers 2 & 5....Bus to and from the Airport Number 197..stops within 10 mins walk from the hotel so forget expensive taxis and messing about with any other mode of transport people)
You will not be disappointed with this hotel...ENJOY!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have stayed two night in October last year, I have nothing to complain about this place, my room had a small balcony,where I could go out and breathe some fresh air, the room was very basic,but this is what I was looking for.

I will definitely recommend this place, and I will stay there again,if I will need to stay close to Vondel Park area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The location is the best thing about this place. Not too far from Vondelpark, tram services, museumplein and located in the heart of the upmarket shopping area. Continental breakfast was included and had a range of options.
Staircase was crazy steep but you come to expect that in Amsterdam when buildings are narrow but tall. Wouldn't advise a lot of luggage, we were only there for a weekend so just had a small bag each. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room w/ bathroom was clean if a little sparse with questionable furnishings. Aside from this mosquitos were pretty persistent. Think it would be an idea to provide nets or something.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

I will start with the only cons i found in this hotel, being the horribly steep entry staircase, and the windows that don't offer that much security... Considering they don't have a lock, which would be really easy to fix... That said, be weary if you bring a lot of luggage... The staircase will kill you...

As for the good part... Great staff, good breakfast & coffee area, very comfortable bed and running hot water (without breaks as you usually see in this kind of low budget hotels...), and the location is simply amazing!!! 100m from the museumplein, 200m from hard rock cafe & bike rental, 250m from leidseplein & the bulldog!!! What more can you wish for this value?!

I can firmly state that the location of the hotel combined with the price, made my trip worthwhile, also, i VERY STRONLY advice anyone who visits amsterdam to make theyr first priority renting a bike, otherwise you won't see a tenth, of what this marvel-of-a-city has to offer! (Take bellington discount to mac-bike!)

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We booked this hotel as a last minute get away and by no means were we expecting 5 star luxury but cleanliness would have been a start. To list the few positives; location was fantastic, easily accessible by trams for all the sights of Amsterdam and the hotel staff were more than friendly. The hotel stair cases were very steep, making it inaccessible for disabled, elderly or even children. The bathroom was very unhygienic, so much so we were glad to have packed flip flops that we could wear in the shower (if you could call it that). The shower head was so full of scum and mold that the water sprayed in every which direction. The toilet was unsecured so every time you sat on it it moved, we were given one toilet roll between 3 of us for 3 days, rationed to say the least!! The beds in the room were full of stains and mold and we were sure that our numerous bites were from bed bugs. Also because of the hotel being situated on a very noisy shopping street the noise on a morning was horrendous, there was also building works going on that we were not notified of before travelling. Breakfast was a minimum. The hotel was not worth the money we paid even with it's convenient location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Overall this hotel represented outstanding value for money in a cracking location. Not much can be said about the rooms other than they were clean with no frills. Of note however was the very warm and helpful service recieved from all the staff. They where only too pleased to offer local tourist advice, directions which is a great deal more the most of the hotels we stayed in across Europe. For the price I would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellington

Address: P.C. Hooftstraat 78-80, 1071 CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #257 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 249
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Bellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.