We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bellington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Bellington to your Saves list
Hotel Bellington
P.C. Hooftstraat 78-80, 1071 CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #275 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have stayed two night in October last year, I have nothing to complain about this place, my room had a small balcony,where I could go out and breathe some fresh air, the room was very basic,but this is what I was looking for.

I will definitely recommend this place, and I will stay there again,if I will need to stay close to Vondel Park area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    23
    18
    9
    18
See reviews for
9
21
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The location is the best thing about this place. Not too far from Vondelpark, tram services, museumplein and located in the heart of the upmarket shopping area. Continental breakfast was included and had a range of options.
Staircase was crazy steep but you come to expect that in Amsterdam when buildings are narrow but tall. Wouldn't advise a lot of luggage, we were only there for a weekend so just had a small bag each. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room w/ bathroom was clean if a little sparse with questionable furnishings. Aside from this mosquitos were pretty persistent. Think it would be an idea to provide nets or something.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

I will start with the only cons i found in this hotel, being the horribly steep entry staircase, and the windows that don't offer that much security... Considering they don't have a lock, which would be really easy to fix... That said, be weary if you bring a lot of luggage... The staircase will kill you...

As for the good part... Great staff, good breakfast & coffee area, very comfortable bed and running hot water (without breaks as you usually see in this kind of low budget hotels...), and the location is simply amazing!!! 100m from the museumplein, 200m from hard rock cafe & bike rental, 250m from leidseplein & the bulldog!!! What more can you wish for this value?!

I can firmly state that the location of the hotel combined with the price, made my trip worthwhile, also, i VERY STRONLY advice anyone who visits amsterdam to make theyr first priority renting a bike, otherwise you won't see a tenth, of what this marvel-of-a-city has to offer! (Take bellington discount to mac-bike!)

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We booked this hotel as a last minute get away and by no means were we expecting 5 star luxury but cleanliness would have been a start. To list the few positives; location was fantastic, easily accessible by trams for all the sights of Amsterdam and the hotel staff were more than friendly. The hotel stair cases were very steep, making it inaccessible for disabled, elderly or even children. The bathroom was very unhygienic, so much so we were glad to have packed flip flops that we could wear in the shower (if you could call it that). The shower head was so full of scum and mold that the water sprayed in every which direction. The toilet was unsecured so every time you sat on it it moved, we were given one toilet roll between 3 of us for 3 days, rationed to say the least!! The beds in the room were full of stains and mold and we were sure that our numerous bites were from bed bugs. Also because of the hotel being situated on a very noisy shopping street the noise on a morning was horrendous, there was also building works going on that we were not notified of before travelling. Breakfast was a minimum. The hotel was not worth the money we paid even with it's convenient location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Overall this hotel represented outstanding value for money in a cracking location. Not much can be said about the rooms other than they were clean with no frills. Of note however was the very warm and helpful service recieved from all the staff. They where only too pleased to offer local tourist advice, directions which is a great deal more the most of the hotels we stayed in across Europe. For the price I would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sant Julià de Lòria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Very near of Museumplein, the breakfast is very complet for a hotel of this category. The final price was more cheap that the page web.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

When my husband, 3 young daughters and I arrived in Amsterdam (Summer 2007) to discover that our travel agent had goofed and booked us in a hotel that was no longer in existence (it had been demolished, according to neighbours), the Bellington took us in with absolutely no notice. No, it was not the one bedroom apartment we had booked, but we had a clean room, enough beds, television, a small refrigerator and a private bathroom. Our room was small, simple, no frills, but it served our purpose beautifully. The free breakfast was lovely, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the location was much better than the room we had originally booked out in the suburbs. We loved being within walking distance of Museumplein, Vondelpark, Max Euweplein, trams, restaurants and shops. In the end, we were thrilled that we ended up at the Bellington, instead of the room we had originally booked. We had a wonderful action-packed 10-day adventure in Amsterdam that remains the best family vacation we have ever had.

Room Tip: We found this to be a good, very basic room. If you are looking for something fancy, this might not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellington

Address: P.C. Hooftstraat 78-80, 1071 CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #275 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 249
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Bellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.