We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, poor hotel!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bellington

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bellington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Bellington
P.C. Hooftstraat 78-80, 1071 CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #255 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good location, poor hotel!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We booked this hotel as a last minute get away and by no means were we expecting 5 star luxury but cleanliness would have been a start. To list the few positives; location was fantastic, easily accessible by trams for all the sights of Amsterdam and the hotel staff were more than friendly. The hotel stair cases were very steep, making it inaccessible for disabled, elderly or even children. The bathroom was very unhygienic, so much so we were glad to have packed flip flops that we could wear in the shower (if you could call it that). The shower head was so full of scum and mold that the water sprayed in every which direction. The toilet was unsecured so every time you sat on it it moved, we were given one toilet roll between 3 of us for 3 days, rationed to say the least!! The beds in the room were full of stains and mold and we were sure that our numerous bites were from bed bugs. Also because of the hotel being situated on a very noisy shopping street the noise on a morning was horrendous, there was also building works going on that we were not notified of before travelling. Breakfast was a minimum. The hotel was not worth the money we paid even with it's convenient location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    22
    18
    7
    17
See reviews for
8
20
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Overall this hotel represented outstanding value for money in a cracking location. Not much can be said about the rooms other than they were clean with no frills. Of note however was the very warm and helpful service recieved from all the staff. They where only too pleased to offer local tourist advice, directions which is a great deal more the most of the hotels we stayed in across Europe. For the price I would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sant Julià de Lòria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Very near of Museumplein, the breakfast is very complet for a hotel of this category. The final price was more cheap that the page web.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

When my husband, 3 young daughters and I arrived in Amsterdam (Summer 2007) to discover that our travel agent had goofed and booked us in a hotel that was no longer in existence (it had been demolished, according to neighbours), the Bellington took us in with absolutely no notice. No, it was not the one bedroom apartment we had booked, but we had a clean room, enough beds, television, a small refrigerator and a private bathroom. Our room was small, simple, no frills, but it served our purpose beautifully. The free breakfast was lovely, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the location was much better than the room we had originally booked out in the suburbs. We loved being within walking distance of Museumplein, Vondelpark, Max Euweplein, trams, restaurants and shops. In the end, we were thrilled that we ended up at the Bellington, instead of the room we had originally booked. We had a wonderful action-packed 10-day adventure in Amsterdam that remains the best family vacation we have ever had.

Room Tip: We found this to be a good, very basic room. If you are looking for something fancy, this might not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Very hospitable family. Michel (manager) was very helpful in giving tips and directions on places to eat, sites to visit, best transportation etc. Complimentary buffet breakfast was also good with enough choices from cereals, breads, cold cuts, eggs, coffee, a wide variety of teas, orange juice and some fruits. The only small drawback is the narrow and steep staircases which elderly and physically challenged people would have difficulty in climbing as the hotel is located in the 2nd floor since the ground floor are high value commercial spaces of boutiques. Very good value for money

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Lezion, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

I just back from Amsterdam, and want to say that hotel perfect for travels that need good bad, clean shower & toilet. Very nice, friendly helpful owners(Family from Japan), very good location and very acceptable price.
One problem, its a stairs, I have a problem with my back and I cant take my luggage up stairs, and if you don't know, I can explain in most hotels in Amsterdam very high stairs I think its approximate 95-100 degrees, and if you girl, and you have heavy luggage (my was 22 kg) it will be a problem. But still I ask owners to help me, and they take my language up stairs to our room. So what can I say, I am 27 y.o, from Israel and hotel is nice. Good Luck:)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellington

Address: P.C. Hooftstraat 78-80, 1071 CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #255 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Bellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.