We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Slotania

Save Saved
You added Hostel Slotania to your Saves list
Hostel Slotania
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Slotania
Slotermeerlaan 131, 1063 JN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #127 of 174 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very poor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

First impression was of a hotel-turned-hostel. Man at desk ignored us until another lady finally acknowledged us at check in. Rooms were tiny for 6 people (though bathroom was a bit more of a luxury). The room stunk of weed even though there were signs around the hotel saying €200 fine for smoking.
Had one guy somehow overstay and had another guest arrive (at 2:40am also) and therefore didn't have a bed. The staff came up to vacate the bed by turning the lights on and gruffly doing a head count. Very frustrating.
Very impersonal and uncomfortable.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    16
    23
    15
    12
See reviews for
2
3
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

It's very clean and nice, for the money we paid it was very good. The bathrooms are big and new, the beds are neat. You can reach the center in 20 minutes by tram or bus. In comparison to the other hostels and the prices it's definitely worth it.

Room Tip: Rooms with private bathroom are always better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I visited as part of a group of ten friends. We had a shared room for 8 with private bathroom and a private double room. Staff were friendly and spoke excellent English. Rooms were clean and each one had a safe to store valuables. Bathrooms were spacious and clean. Bunk beds were uncomfortable and creaky but that is to be expected. The double room was excellent for the price, more like a hotel than a hostel. The only downside is the location - the centre of Amsterdam is a 15 minute tram journey away, but the tram stop is directly outside the hotel. Aldi is directly opposite, so good for buying snacks/drinks. Would consider staying here again but would probably choose to opt for somewhere more central.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Negatives
- extremely rude and unhelpful staff
- bad communication via email
- prices changed at arrival
- bathroom smelt like wet cigarettes
- boiling rooms as windows could only jar
- breakfast was not included although we were told it would be
- private room was then changed to an open room because our booking was given away!

Positives
- next to plenty of buses and trams

Tip
- be aware you must pay city tax on top of hotel/hostel prices in Amsterdam

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Passports and all valuables stolen, offender obtained key from reception without any ID check. Walked out the main door with all our stuff including a safe. staff service before and after the event was disgraceful, they were unwilling to help and seemed as though they may have been involved in the incident. CCTV footage was obtained from numerous positions but they were unwilling to show us any footage. I would not recommend this hostel to anyone, chances are you will regret staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I have stayed at this Hostel in 2010 .
I was surprised with the quality the friendly staff and the good breakfast in the morning.
Its not in the center of the city , but the "Tramlink" Electrical Trains were very easy to catch up in front of the Hotel .
Its cheap , clean , and had a good stay , what can I say more ?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Myself and two others went to Amsterdam for a night whilst over in Germany for an Erasmus Exchange. We hadn't got a lot of money so we were looking for cheap places to stay however when you think cheap you think dirty. We booked a 3 bed private room here for just 25 euros each and were pleasantly surprised. I dreaded the thought of a hostel and when we got to our stop on the bus (Just 20 minutes by 21 bus from Central) it looked like a nightmare. Lets just say where it's situated isn't the most pristine part of Amsterdam. However once we walked inside and spoke to the receptionist we relaxed a lot as he was incredibly friendly and helpful.

We received our key and went to our room. The room was extremely clean, the bathroom was a nice size for three of us and very modern. We had two bunk beds so the room could have slept 4. We got towels, bedding, free wifi and there was even a TV! One downfall of our room was how boiling hot it was and one of our windows didn't really open but for a cheap price you can't really complain too much. It's the unfortunate location of our room as the sun was shining on it most of the afternoon.

We also went into town using the bus, then a night bus home. It was a weekday and still had night buses running which isn't always the case in other cities. The nightbus was every hour from main station and included in our day travel ticket (7.50 euros). We were also lucky enough to leave our luggage in a luggage room at the hotel after checkout before our train back to Germany.

I don't understand why there isn't more reviews for this because it was a very good hostel. It was a bit out of town but not too far. It might be more suitable for older people but we are all in our early twenties and loved it! I highly recommend it. Definitely wish we could have stayed another night - Amsterdam is a very surreal place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Slotania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Slotania

Address: Slotermeerlaan 131, 1063 JN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 174 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Slotania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Slotania Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Slotania, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.