We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little apartment!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Cribs Red Light B&B

Save Saved
You added Amsterdam Cribs Red Light B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amsterdam Cribs Red Light B&B
Oudezijds Voorburgwal 41, 1012 EJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Matlock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great little apartment!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed here for Queens Day 2013 which is a great time to visit Amsterdam, have booked again for 2014 kings day as its basically like having your own apartment in a great location.

I go to Amsterdam every year and think I've found a gem here.

Clean and tidy with hob/fridge/sink and a few kitchen bits/TV/DVD/Nice bathroom. Balcony looking over the canal and really chilled out landlord who gave us a few tips for where the good parties were.

Can smoke in the rooms too if that's your ting, the stairs are obviously steep like everywhere ..and you are in the RLD so it's never going to be silent outside but that's the whole point in staying in this type of location.

Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Downers Grove, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

it was our first time in Amsterdam and i feel like we did it right! my best friend and i took this trip for my 40th birthday and we had a blast. the flat is perfectly located right in the middle of the redlight and we will definitly stay here again!
Mike and Natasha were great! they gave us some great recommendations and were really nice. next time i wanna check out your DJ skills Natasha!!!
we were in the basement and the flat was perfect, 2 nice sized bedrooms, bathroom was great and living area was nice and comfy!

Room Tip: i'm a big dude and the basement was perfect,,,no stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Myself and a group of friends stayed here last month for 4nights and 5days. Having been to Amsterdam before and not remembering an awful lot of it, this time I used this place as a base and explored a lot during the day. By night I went looking for filth and found lots of it. Studio 80 for a tech night was a particular highlight. The location is wicked for a group of 20something lads. The red light district is right there and depending on what kind of thing you might be looking for in such an area it could be pretty much ideal. Plenty of coffee shops, cafes, bars etc too. You pay a little more then you woud be doing in a hostel but this is all good as you got your own space.. Personally I thought that was a good call. Would I use it again.. Most certainly would.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Not going to write much as I reviewed this last year but just returned from another trip and still as good as usual.
Everything a smoker needs, clean and comfortable.

Thanks Duke for another great stay and a big thank you for the little present, very nice :o)
see you later in the year.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

If you are a bunch of friends who are looking to sample some of the delights Amsterdam has to offer then The Cribs is a great place to stay. It may be a bit more expensive than staying in a hostel, but then you get a whole apartment to yourselves.
The apartment is situated right in the middle of the red light district, about 5 mins from Centraal Station. You have coffeeshops (I'd recommend the Green House - on the same street), bars (Baba's), supermarket, restaurants, red light section and the Dam Square all within a few minutes walk. The apartments are smoke-friendly and are pre-equipped with grinders, pipes and bongs. The spacious living room has a tv (cable), dvd player and hi-fi, the kitchen is stocked with some provisions, even the bathroom (with shower) has clean towels, shampoo, toothpaste, shower gel and deoderant. The apartments are clean and spacious though sparsely decorated, and due to the location there can be a bit of noise during shop opening hours. I would recommend this place to everyone except business people, disabled or elderly or perhaps families.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011 via mobile

I've been to Dam many times and stayed in many places but this has to be the best so far.
Me and 3 friends all stayed at the apartment and had a brilliant time. The location was perfect, it was right in the middle of the red light and all good coffee shops. We had food shops and restaurant all round us and felt nothing was further then a 5 min walk. We was even 25 steps away from FEBOs.
The only problem we found which was not a big problem was there were no windows in our apartment just a big glass door. We stayed in the Basement apartment which says it all. They do have other apartment with windows.

We would most defiantly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

This review is for the address located on 41 OUDEZIJDS VOORBURGWAL. Four of us stayed here in the 2 bedroom apartment. It is 3 stories, with a bedroom on the top floor, living area and another bedroom on the middle floor and kitchen and 2 bathrooms on the bottom floor. We had a very easy check in experience and they let us check in early. We were given a map with very good explanation of the area and recommendations of what to visit and where to go. It felt very safe here and was in the heart of the red light district. We were within easy walking distance to most sites and actually only took the tram once. There is food and a market nearby.
The full kitchen was a very nice surprise and even had a dishwasher. The bathrooms were clean, but it was a minor inconvenience to walk downstairs to use them. We would definitely stay here again and recommend this to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam Cribs Red Light B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Cribs Red Light B&B

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 41, 1012 EJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam Cribs / Red Light B&B is a superior quality smokers getaway in the heart of the city. This self-catering and recently renovated accommodation is perfect to tune into the city vibe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Amsterdam Cribs Red Light B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Cribs Red Light Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Cribs Red Light B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.