We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a stay - Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Cribs Red Light B&B

Save Saved
You added Amsterdam Cribs Red Light B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amsterdam Cribs Red Light B&B
Oudezijds Voorburgwal 41, 1012 EJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a stay - Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011 via mobile

I've been to Dam many times and stayed in many places but this has to be the best so far.
Me and 3 friends all stayed at the apartment and had a brilliant time. The location was perfect, it was right in the middle of the red light and all good coffee shops. We had food shops and restaurant all round us and felt nothing was further then a 5 min walk. We was even 25 steps away from FEBOs.
The only problem we found which was not a big problem was there were no windows in our apartment just a big glass door. We stayed in the Basement apartment which says it all. They do have other apartment with windows.

We would most defiantly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

This review is for the address located on 41 OUDEZIJDS VOORBURGWAL. Four of us stayed here in the 2 bedroom apartment. It is 3 stories, with a bedroom on the top floor, living area and another bedroom on the middle floor and kitchen and 2 bathrooms on the bottom floor. We had a very easy check in experience and they let us check in early. We were given a map with very good explanation of the area and recommendations of what to visit and where to go. It felt very safe here and was in the heart of the red light district. We were within easy walking distance to most sites and actually only took the tram once. There is food and a market nearby.
The full kitchen was a very nice surprise and even had a dishwasher. The bathrooms were clean, but it was a minor inconvenience to walk downstairs to use them. We would definitely stay here again and recommend this to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011 via mobile

We had 2 apartments and they were very spacious, clean with good facilities. The location was brilliant, situated in a quiet area of the red light district. The guy that met us to check in was really good giving us lots of information and was very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed at the Cribs in Feb and have now stayed there 4 times and love it.

We've been travelling to Amsterdam a couple of times a year since the early 90's and have stayed in a whole variety of accommodations. From the decent Crown Plaza to some cheap B&B's and I have to say The Cribs are one of our favorites.
All 4 times we have stayed in the apartments over the canal from the church. 3 times in the basement and once in the bigger flat at the top. Duke and Eric have always looked after well, very friendly and give good advice of where to go etc.
The Basement is better of the 2 as no stairs to climb after a hard day on the coffee shops ;o), You walk down a couple of steps and your in the lounge. It's not big but perfect for us as usually 3 guys. Could probably sleep 5 as has 2 small bedrooms with 2 single beds in each and a sofa. Much better for 3 or 4. Has small kitchen and decent bathroom, again small but fine. Wicked shower with huge head which is great. About 21" LCD tv in lounge with ps2 but usually link up the laptop and watch a few films when chilling. Would be nice if a bigger TV was put in but no problem with whats there.
Being smokers most hotels are off grounds now and tbh always felt uncomfortable smoking in the room. Never had a problem but always had to take care of smells etc.
Not a problem with the Cribs, The most smoke friendly place we've stayed at.
Always an array of pipes and general smoking stuff which is nice. Just feel comfortable to chill after sampling the delights of Amsterdam. The location is great, right in the mix of things but not to noisy. Some nice places to eat near by (Try the Burger Bar, great burgers).
Probably wouldn't stay there with the missus as she like 4/5 star hotels and is a fussy *#*^ ! but ideal for a lads trip. A big step up from a hostel and at about 50 euros a night is reasonable. Plus free wifi !!
Overall rating - Great place for smokers, nothing flash but clean and practical, nice management. Perfect !!

Room Tip: All fine but go low if you dont like mountain climbing !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

great place too stay,, very clean place ,, and the staff are excellent help,,,rite on the side of the canal .so u can sit with ur bong or doobie and watch the world pass by u .....price great,,,,bedrooms great and 2 showers excellent and 2 toliets..we will be bac for sure only place i would in the dam now......

ps: only point my wife fell down the stairs as they are far too steep, but really they needing some more rubber grippers added to stairs,,,,, this is not negative comment just adivce saving anyone getting hurt................................as we will be returning soon...........so cheers from .paul doyle,, lynn,, dennis and toni ......................

Room Tip: go too the amsterdam cribs /red light
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Stayed here for the easter weekend. It was smack bang in the red light district so a lot of noise but who cares! You can smoke in the room, and not just tobacco! there was grinders and bongs laid on, a nice bathroom, a small kitchen area but we didnt use it. The stairs are steep! but its like that all over the Dam. If you want to be in the centre of the action, then this is the place to be. The cost was quite high but it was easter, and you are in the centre of the action so fairs fair. We could see a couple of "windows" from our room which was a laugh. It was nice sitting in the room with a spliff watching the boats go past on the canal. If u smoke and want a good place to stay then this is it !!! There is Zero parking here, so if you come then best to park on the outskirts and get the metro in. we parked at the Ajax stadium which cose 22 euros a day, but you can get cheaper if you look around. Forget the town, 40 euros a day if you can find a space!! If you fly in or train, then its a piece of cake to get around....

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

I would recommend this place to anyone who wants all advantages of a 4* hotel without the costing price!
- The flat is centrally located, 5mins walk from Dam Square, view on the canal, vibrant atmosphere.
- Flat surface is huge, especially vs. Hotel room!
- Rooms are spacious and bright. Kitchen & bathroom include all commodities.
E.g: hair dryer, microwave, TV in every bedroom + sitting room, PS3, DVDs + DVD players...
- Landlords are very helpful, accomodating and pleasant

However, be careful with the steep stairs. Going up to the 2nd floor is a good workout!

Noisy area due to the location but this should not be an issue to sleep well as you should be exhausted after walking around town (you can visit the whole city by foot)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amsterdam Cribs Red Light B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Cribs Red Light B&B

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 41, 1012 EJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam Cribs / Red Light B&B is a superior quality smokers getaway in the heart of the city. This self-catering and recently renovated accommodation is perfect to tune into the city vibe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Amsterdam Cribs Red Light B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Cribs Red Light Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Cribs Red Light B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.