We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good, short of great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Momo Restaurant

Momo Restaurant
Hobbemastraat 1, 1071 XZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)
+31 20 671 7474
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #347 of 2,550 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Museumplein
Description: Set in the design-led Park Hotel, in the centre of Amsterdam is the all new MOMO Restaurant, Bar and Lounge. The very centre of the city's fashion district, its no surprise to find a restaurant with such style right here. A true destination venue, MOMO is all shining wood floors, cool, clean lines and uber-trendy seating. Light floods in from the street, reflected around the room by huge mirrors - the epitome of sleek European design. However this concept restaurant combines this very Western styling with Eastern cuisine, flavours as colourful as the surroundings. The menu is designed for sharing allowing the diner to enjoy creating their own experience with friends. Opening hours Bar Sunday - Thursday 10:00am till 01:00am Friday & Saturday 10:00am till 02:00am Lunch Monday - Friday 12:00 noon till 02:30pm Saturday 12:00 noon till 03:00pm Sunday 12:00 noon till 04:00pm A small selection of the menu is also available in the bar during & after lunch Dinner Sunday 06:00pm till 10:00pm Monday - Wednesday 06:00pm till - 10:30pm Thursday, Friday & Saturday 06:00pm - till 11:00pm
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Very Good, short of great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We had lunch there on a beautiful Sunday afternoon. The service was excellent, the hostess was extremely helpful and restaurant was bright, lively and welcoming.

The quality of the food I would say was very good but certainly not the excellence I expected. The chef being of Nobu heritage, I expected the food to be likewise; exceptional and innovative. However I was certainly not completely wowed by any of the dishes I had. Actually I even felt that my scallops were a little over done and tough. The sushi and sashimi was as good as one would get in a top sushi restaurant and flavors in the some of their designer dishes I had were actually a bit boring. We only tried fish this time and it is quite likely that some of their meat dishes may justify the prices they charge. Yes the prices are quite high, I don’t mind paying for good food, but I really couldn’t see how they justified an average prices of EUR 25+ for some their small plates.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    229
    78
    32
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Service was a little sketchy. Just not consistent with the servers and they forgot to ask us a few important questions but the food was fantastic. We did the pre-fix of 7 courses and it was great. One of us ordered a la carte and her meal was excellent if not the biggest portion. Its pricey but worthy and the drinks were fantastic.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A "see and be seen" kind of place, but not warm and personal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

First and foremost, the food was quite good and attractively served. However, I do not like any place where you cannot relax and enjoy your meal. I felt like there was a huge effort to get us in and out as quickly as possible (and indeed when your reservations are confirmed, they let you know that you are limited to 2 hours at your table unless you are continuing to eat). After-dinner drinks must be conserved at the bar, which incidentally is so crowded that it is standing room only and extremely loud because of all of the patrons waiting for tables. It is also the only restaurant that I went to in Amsterdam that I felt under-dressed. This is definitely a trendy, chic place and patrons are quite dressed up, particularly for the casual eating scene of Amsterdam. Once seated, the service was prompt, but very indifferent and inpersonal. And as others have noted, it was very expensive (more so than the other similar restaurants that I sought out in Amsterdam). My overall experience was disappointing, which is a shame because the food quality and creativity deserves high marks.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Trendy asian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We enjoyed a nice dinner after a bike ride in the nearby Vondel park. Very tasty nice and creative asian food. The service was slow but delivered. I recommend that you try their cocktails, very innovative with unusual flavors.
I agree with other reviewers: it's expensive but restaurants in Amsterdam are not cheap. At least you know that Momo uses really fresh ingredients.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Sushi made by Momo's chef Hari from Nobu is delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Delicious those big sushirolls with crab or asparagus when you don't eat fish or meat.
Ever eaten green rice? Corianderrice will surprise you. It is allways crowded in Momo, you must make reservations. But easy entrance can be made if you don't mind eating at the busy bar, where all the patjepeople show themselves with their trophy looks. The modern atmosphere is very pleasant with DJ's and vivid staff helping you quikly. Within 10minutes you have the whole ordered menu on the table so you can share the dishes. Cocktails are good and afterwards you can drink coffee with superbonbons and macarons in the lounge of the Parkhotel. We eat there everytime we are in Amsterdam, this fushion oase is close to our so art Deco hotel American on Leidseplein.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Momo Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Momo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Momo Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.