We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Amsterdam oasis!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BloemBed

BloemBed
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added BloemBed to your Saves list
BloemBed
Bloemgracht 189, 1016 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Amsterdam oasis!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We rented both rooms here (one for my mother, the other for my husband & me) and it was an excellent arrangement for our week in Amsterdam!

Owners Chris & Clarita are the perfect hosts, from accommodating our early arrival, to stocking the kitchen with a variety of delicious breakfast foods, and even arranging for a taxi to take us to the airport on our last day (we didn't bring a cell phone). Their recommendations for meals in the neighborhood were spot-on (we loved Foodism, Burgers Patio, and Long Pura).

The location is an excellent home base for exploring the city. Just 1-2 blocks' walk and you can catch a tram or taxi from Rozengracht or Marnixstraat. Bloemgracht itself is a picturesque canal with lovely homes and businesses lining each side. The neighborhood feels very friendly and safe.

The 2 bedrooms in Bloembed B&B are comfortably appointed, each with its own en suite bathroom with shower. There was always plenty of hot water, with excellent water pressure. The kitchen (shared between the 2 bedroom suites) includes an under-counter refrigerator, a Senseo coffee maker (we loved the coffee!!), an egg cooker (which Chris kindly taught us to use), and a sink. And of course dishes and food! :-)

The entire B&B was spotlessly clean (I have severe allergies and did not have the slightest problem here). In addition to a number of helpful maps, brochures, and travel books, the owners provided a netbook with wifi, which was such a nice touch.

We had such a nice time in Amsterdam, and so much of that had to do with our peaceful home base at Bloembed B&B. Thanks, Chris and Clarita, for being such fabulous hosts!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, BC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We were a bit shocked at the price of lodgings in Amsterdam, in comparison with other cities in and around the Netherlands. When we found a decent rate at Bloembed, and the reviews looked decent, we decided to give it a try – and we’re so glad we did! Bloembed is located right on one of the Jordaan’s most gorgeous canals, walking distance to the tourist district, and if you’re not a big walker, an easy tram ride away.

Chris was very polite and helpful and greeted us warmly on our arrival. The B&B is actually a two-bedroom suite with shared kitchen, downstairs from the owners’ house. We arrived on a day when both rooms were available so were given the choice of either room – we stayed in the front room, which was a bit smaller but had a window to outside (the back room is an interior one - it has a high window that lets in light from the rest of the suite, but doesn’t look directly outside). The furnishings are simple but tasteful, and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was quite small but clean and very functional.

Breakfast is not served, but rather the kitchen is stocked for you to enjoy it at your leisure. We never did see the people in the other suite – it felt like we were staying alone, which was nice. The only downside to the suite is that when it rained, it did smell a bit damp. However, I take it from talking to locals that that is a pretty universal problem in Amsterdam, and would maybe be the same elsewhere. All in all, a great little quasi-B&B in a lovely location.

Room Tip: The front room is a bit smaller but has a window to outside (likely making it a bit noisier too). B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Four of us really enjoyed our stay here! Chris and Clarita were very friendly and helpful. Communication before our arrival was much appreciated and we would suggest booking the taxi service recommended by our hosts. It was more reasonable than any we found at the airport, and the driver was amiable and the vehicle was clean and enjoyable to ride in. When Al had some rinsed out clothes trying to dry, Chris offered to dry them for him, as clothes just don't dry out near a canal!! The location was great and we really enjoyed our self- serve breakfasts, as Chris would ask us what items we would like ahead of time. Clarita suggested a day trip for us that turned out to be fantastic!! We would love to stay here again!!

Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Loved our stay at Bloembed. Decorated lovely and tastefully. Close to the center, in fact directly down the road from Anne Frank house, but extremely quiet and safe. The host's were very welcoming and accommodating, offering us use of our room the entire day before flying out late in the evening which was very appreciated! Very nice self service breakfast. Maps and tourist information pamphlets available on site.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Easy to find with the directions we were given. Clarita greeted us with a smile and showed us around the communal dining/kitchen area,(with computer) and then our spacious bedroom and en-suite. She recommended a fabulous little restuarant not far from the B & B.
Lots of stuff left for breakfast, yoghurt,cereal,bread,jam,cheese,eggs,juice,tea,coffee which we helped ourselves to. The B & B is located in a nice area that felt safe (which is important for two ladies) .5 min walk to Anne Franks house and the western church.
It's a bit like self catering because you do your own breakfast (good as you can suit yourself) and dishes (not so good as dish washing is not on my holiday agenda).
We had the inner bedroom which is spotless,comfotable beds,good shower etc, I have two gripes though, no fresh air as it hasn't got an outside window although a fan is supplied, there is a bit of noise from upstairs but not too loud or too late. We didn't sleep so well on our last night as the toilet maserator kept grinding every 45 mins and waking us, I did mention this to Clarita and she said she would get Chris to look at it.
Overall we enjoyed our stay in this b & b with it's friendly owners !!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Oregon
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

We had a great stay. In fact we re-booked another 2 days at the end of our trip. The owners were so nice and helpful with great ideas for us. It is located on a quiet street in the Jordaan within an easy walk to Dam Square. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms were spotless. It's like having a home away from home. The kitchen is well stocked and you can have breakfast at your leisure. The wi-fi was also very fast. Really couldn't have asked for more!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2008

Our stay at Bloem Bed was terrific! We enjoyed our comfortable room and private bath. It was bright and very clean. The owners Chris and Clarita live above so the two guest accommodations share a common living area with small kitchen without feeling like you are in someone's personal space. The kitchen was stocked with a variety of breakfast foods (breads, yogurt, juice, coffee, teas) and were available for you to make at your leisure. Everything in the B&B was super clean and in great condition. A computer was in the common area which worked well for checking email for me...didn't work so well for my Husband though! There were several other guests who were in the other room during our four night stay, but we seldom crossed paths. The location could not be more wonderful, right on one of the smaller canals and very close to Anne Frank's house in the Jordaan neighborhood, with a variety of dining options nearby. The gracious welcome from Chris and Clarita going out of her way to meet us as well really helped to make us feel comfortable! They do not take credit cards and the ATM's did have a daily limit so plan ahead to make the payment on arrival... Chris was most understanding that I was less than prepared, but we did get it settled up in good time! One room (there are only two) is larger than the other, but even in the smaller room, two of us were quite comfortable.

  • Liked — Bright and Cheerful space! Friendly Owners!
  • Disliked — Could not turn the heat on (chilly in October).
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BloemBed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BloemBed

Address: Bloemgracht 189, 1016 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bloembed is situated along the canals in the centre of Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your BloemBed reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BloemBed, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.