We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable dinner” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Het Karbeel

Het Karbeel
Warmoesstraat 16, 1012 JD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)
020-6274995
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #284 of 2,434 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Fondue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Red Light District
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Enjoyable dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

For me the atmosphere and the feel of the place was better than the food. It has a very friendly, light atmosphere, bare brick in side with wine racks and high ceilings. Tables were a bit close but the place was very busy. My partner opted for Salmon (but dry) and I opted for "Japanese style" beef with a teriyaki sauce and coated with sesame seeds. Had great hopes, the sauce was great and loved the sesame seeds coating. But the beef was cut like thick chunks, the flavour was so overpowering it had almost livery taste which detracted from the good sauce, this could have been remedied by slicing the beef into thin strips. For me this seemed a bit lazy. We also shared some of the fondue with some a lovely couple on the next table, which was very good. I would certainly recommend, close to the red light district, but you can almost forget this when you are inside.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    71
    23
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Quin, Clare, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Found this place on our last night and wished we had found it sooner. Had the steak rump and it was delicious followed by a big bowl of ice cream, cream and chocolate sauce...yum. Would highly recommend this place great service lovely friendly staff and seriously tastey food :-)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Perfect for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Stopped here for breakfast - Full English, just what I needed with fresh orange juice & coffee. Good food, quick & well cooked. And judging by the numbers of tourists this must be the best place around here. it was 15 euros all in, So better value than most hotels that charge about 25 Euro for a cooked breakfast.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bochum, Germany
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“A diamond in the rough!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Although this was near the Red Light District (aka Amsterdam tourist trap) it was a surprisingly affordable and less commercial restaurant than many others in the area. Even though It's nestled between sex shops and coffeeshops, they're all forgotten once inside. Just try to get a seat at the back or in the corner away from the front door as the closer you are to the front, the more you smell the weed from passing tourists. We had the pasta dishes, which were very full portions and shared a bottle of house red wine. The no-rush atmosphere was especially appreciated. We would definitely return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
“best fondue ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

i'm v.happy with all food and customer service, my girlfriend had a fondue 1-st time ever!!
wide choice, and helpful stuff
20 euros for 2 with drink, good deal.
atmosphere = priceless.
candles, vine and romantic music!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Het Karbeel also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Het Karbeel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Het Karbeel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.