We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canal House Amsterdam

Canal House Amsterdam
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Canal House Amsterdam to your Saves list
Canal House Amsterdam
Brouwersgracht 124, 1013 HA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed 3 nights at this charming hotel which is located near the Anne Frank House and not too far from other main sights. The hotel is quite near some wonderful restaurants which are also on Tripadvisor. So it was a short walk to go to dinner.
The hotel is nicely appointed with very comfortable beds. The bathrooms have been remodeled and have relatively new basins, etc. The hotel has wifi throughout the building which is a nice plus. I also liked having a safe to store passports and money. I think our room # was 2 and it was on the lower level with a garden view. We wanted a quiet room so this was great. (The room is however below the dining room and so I was worried that it would be noisy. But it wasn’t and we were not disturbed).
We were a little early when we arrived but were able to leave our cases and proceed to lunch. The staff was very helpful with suggestions about sightseeing as well as restaurants etc. I noticed that the staff took time briefing each guest that arrived, which is a nice plus.
We had a wonderful stay at the Hotel as well as Amsterdam. By the way, we went to the Keukenhof Gardens (about an hour from the center) at the height of the Tulip season and were well rewarded. It is an amazing place but unfortunately, the Tulip season is relatively short (5/6 weeks).
The only complaint we have is that when we arrived in Amsterdam by train from the airport, none of the taxis would agree to drive us to the hotel. The reason being, as we found out later, is that it is a relatively short fare. So, we suggest that you call the hotel on arrival at the train station and have them arrange a cab.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and were given a garden view room on the lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    9
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
26
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights at the Canal House and it confirms why we love Boutique hotels. This was 3 converted Town houses in a quiet backwater but close to the central areas of Amsterdam this wonderful Hotel has just 23 rooms. Staff are very friendly and cannot do enough for you. The rooms decor is very stylish ( if a little dark) , We had room 8 at the back which was one of the smaller rooms but very very quiet. A tip is to realise that as well as air con / room heater there are also radiators behind the window curtains as we could not work out how the room was so hot one night.

Breakfast is inclusive if you plump for the continental with full English costing an extra €9 euros extra but a very big plateful , plus other hot food like poached eggs etc. In fact food at the hotel is very reasonable for the quality of the establishment. One thing to mention is that they do not do evening meals but can bring in your choice of 60 takeaways and serve you in the room or the restaurant.

We had a brilliant time on Amsterdam and walked everywhere from the hotel. It was a lot of walking but we never tired of the canal pathways or small side streets off them.

We stayed in this area largely visiting museums and similar places as we wanted to capture the romance of the canal area. The rest of the city seemed more like other post war European cities so did not interest .

We had an excellent relaxing ( apart from lots of walking ) time .

Thanks to the team at The Canal House.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

We have been in that apartment this past weekend, and we thought this was kind of Bed and Breakfast, but actually it is private apartment. We liked it a lot.
Timea is the person in charge, and she's very kind and at disposal of clients.
The room was big, very warm and clean. No noise at all, and the location is perfect, only 12min by walking to the central station and 10 maximum to the red district and city center.
There are many cafes around and it is safe at night.
I do recommend to stay there.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Canal rooms. Timea was very helpful and friendly, especially as our luggage didn't arrive until the following day!! She also decorated the room for my husbands birthday. The hotel was old and comfortable. Only a 5 minute walk to central station, and close to everything. With tea and coffee making facilities, we thought it was good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

Jordaan is the most beautiful part of Amsterdam to me... and this hotel is right perfect in the heart of it.

5 min walk to Grey area and a crazy amazing little pizza place (wood burning oven run by two girls) is on the way. Short walk to shops and restaurants didn't have to cab anywhere except to get to Van Gogh museum.

Room was stunning. Big huge windows that looked out onto the canal. Everything was new and the bed wasn't cheap and allowed me to sleep well.

Beautiful bathroom with the best tub I've ever been in.

Smoking area in the back that could have more privacy but was still really nice...nice collection of plants and you feel like you could be chilling in your own backyard.

Staff were very friendly...especially the night doorman.

Breakfast was ok...coffee was great and they gave you free juice and the other continental standards... but you had to pay if you wanted to be eating something...

Overall great atmosphere...really nice place to sleep and chill.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Neat spot. Great rooms. Great breakfast. Awesome location in the heart of the city. Easy access to public transport or walking distance to top sites, (Anne Franck, Museum district). Only complaint are the bells of the local church:) They ring every 15 minutes...24/7. So if light sleeper, look elsewhere. Same issues for any properties in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for Court side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We enjoyed 4 nights at Canal House Hotel. We were lucky to get a 'Great' category room with a canal view, which was very nice. The room was enough space for a couple, and there was a separate bathroom. The room contained a comfy bed, leather sofa, and desk. The decor included purple velvet pillows, velvet coverlet, and velvet drapes. The bathroom had a separate soaking tub and shower surrounded by purple tile, and two sinks. There was a minibar and in-room safe, hair dryer, flat screen TV and blue ray player. The hotel provided complimentary bottled water, a
Even though the tap water is fine to drink. The hotel staff was very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was very good and in a lovely dining room/lounge overlooking a beautiful garden. Breakfast offerings included: coffee/tea, fresh breads/rolls/croissants, Danishes, mini muffins, cheeses, sliced turkey and ham, dried apricots and prunes, fresh squeezed juices, butter/jam/peanut butter, cereals and milk (including muesli), yogurt, etc. One day they even had mini donuts. It was enough food so we did not order upgraded additional hot entrees. The hotel is located in an excellent location in the Jordaan neighborhood. It's only a few blocks from the Anne Frank house and it's close to the nine streets, Dam square, red light district, royal palace, etc. the hotel is on one of the 3 main canals. There are lots of cafés, shops, and restaurants close by. We bought a hop on-hop off canal boat pass and took it to the museums (Rijk museum, and another day to the national maritime museum). Canal House was a nice base to return to.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Canal House Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal House Amsterdam

Address: Brouwersgracht 124, 1013 HA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#81 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Canal House Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal House Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal House Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.