We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Canal House!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canal House Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Canal House Amsterdam to your Saves list
Canal House Amsterdam
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canal House Amsterdam
Brouwersgracht 124, 1013 HA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #136 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Loved the Canal House!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

My boyfriend has been to Amsterdam before, and stayed at a larger hotel establishment, whereas I wanted to stay in a more boutique style hotel. Canal House was fantastic! Thoughtfully and beautifully designed, we loved every single detail. We stayed in the Great Room #5 facing the canal, and it was gorgeous. There's some street noise that comes through if you have the windows open, but we didn't mind it much. We stayed for 5 days in April 2014, and the weather was a bit chilly- but overall nice. The location is perfect for shopping, restaurants and museums. Its located in one of the hippest neighborhoods, with great boutique shopping. We walked everywhere and never felt like it was too far off from anything. It was centrally located to all the places we wanted to see / visit. Their service is phenomenal and their staff is very helpful and friendly. Everyone there speaks English, so it made things easier for us. We also had breakfast included which was your basic continental breakfast, but it was very good. When we go back to Amsterdam, Canal House will be the only place we stay. We absolutely loved it!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    5
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
granada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This hotel is in a very picturesque part of Amsterdam - the Keizergracht - and perfectly situated for seeing the main sites of the city. We enjoyed the quirkiness of the plush and rather decadent interiors. The decor is a kind of goth/glam (think black and gold) with many of the original house's features preserved. The breakfast room was particularly attractive. We chose a "great" room looking over the back which had a lovely view of the garden and mature trees. It had two sinks in the middle of the room and the bath/shower was not separate which might pose a problem to those who prefer more intimacy.... The staff were all charming and helpful - we thought it was a great hotel, if a little pricey.

Room Tip: If you don't want noise, request a garden view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Canal House was perfectly located for us, near all transportation and services, as well as Anne Frank House and Westertoren. The garden was lovely after a hard day's museum-going. Peaceful outdoor space is such a refresher in the summer and we certainly enjoyed our Aperol Spritzes! Rooms were cramped, but well appointed. The layout of the hotel is a puzzle: hard to negotiate the narrow, steep stairs and nearly impossible to get from one end of the hotel to the other without losing your way!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Mary and I had a very nice three nights at the Canal House. It's well located within a couple of blocks of the light rail and a short walk from the main square or the RDL. All of the people we dealt with were helpful and polite. The rooms were nicely appointed, great duvet covers on the comfortable bed. We will return. By the way, I read one person's saga of problems with a reservation. We dealt directly with the front desk via e-mail and phone and we were very pleased with all the communications and the prices.

Room Tip: They have "good rooms" and "better rooms." We were pleased with our "bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I stayed here with my mother in May 2012, and we had the most wonderful experience. A beautifully-designed space, artful in all ways. Perfectly situated for walking, dining, and shopping. With excellent staff-- really. Just wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

just checked out of canal house, it is one of the nice hotels in Amsterdam but the Garden was not accesable and the main door was not working, everything you go out and come back, you had to wait till they open the door for you. breakfast is very ordinery

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Everything was spectacular.
Exceeded the expectations I had.
The room has everything you need and is very quiet. We get a key that enables us to enter and leave at that hour that we want giving us very much freedom to walk around. Most of the stuff I bought at the supermarket and cooked in apartament. No doubt that helps a lot in the budget of the trip.
The owners are very concerned about our well being and let us leave the luggage at home even after check-out.
Its a very safetly and nice area, walking distance from everthing!!

On any visit to amsterdam is where i will stay for sure.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canal House Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal House Amsterdam

Address: Brouwersgracht 124, 1013 HA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Canal House Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal House Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal House Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.