We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming boutique hotel with friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canal House Amsterdam

Canal House Amsterdam
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Canal House Amsterdam to your Saves list
Canal House Amsterdam
Brouwersgracht 124, 1013 HA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
granada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Charming boutique hotel with friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This hotel is in a very picturesque part of Amsterdam - the Keizergracht - and perfectly situated for seeing the main sites of the city. We enjoyed the quirkiness of the plush and rather decadent interiors. The decor is a kind of goth/glam (think black and gold) with many of the original house's features preserved. The breakfast room was particularly attractive. We chose a "great" room looking over the back which had a lovely view of the garden and mature trees. It had two sinks in the middle of the room and the bath/shower was not separate which might pose a problem to those who prefer more intimacy.... The staff were all charming and helpful - we thought it was a great hotel, if a little pricey.

Room Tip: If you don't want noise, request a garden view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    9
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
26
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Canal House was perfectly located for us, near all transportation and services, as well as Anne Frank House and Westertoren. The garden was lovely after a hard day's museum-going. Peaceful outdoor space is such a refresher in the summer and we certainly enjoyed our Aperol Spritzes! Rooms were cramped, but well appointed. The layout of the hotel is a puzzle: hard to negotiate the narrow, steep stairs and nearly impossible to get from one end of the hotel to the other without losing your way!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Mary and I had a very nice three nights at the Canal House. It's well located within a couple of blocks of the light rail and a short walk from the main square or the RDL. All of the people we dealt with were helpful and polite. The rooms were nicely appointed, great duvet covers on the comfortable bed. We will return. By the way, I read one person's saga of problems with a reservation. We dealt directly with the front desk via e-mail and phone and we were very pleased with all the communications and the prices.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I stayed here with my mother in May 2012, and we had the most wonderful experience. A beautifully-designed space, artful in all ways. Perfectly situated for walking, dining, and shopping. With excellent staff-- really. Just wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
75 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

just checked out of canal house, it is one of the nice hotels in Amsterdam but the Garden was not accesable and the main door was not working, everything you go out and come back, you had to wait till they open the door for you. breakfast is very ordinery

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Everything was spectacular.
Exceeded the expectations I had.
The room has everything you need and is very quiet. We get a key that enables us to enter and leave at that hour that we want giving us very much freedom to walk around. Most of the stuff I bought at the supermarket and cooked in apartament. No doubt that helps a lot in the budget of the trip.
The owners are very concerned about our well being and let us leave the luggage at home even after check-out.
Its a very safetly and nice area, walking distance from everthing!!

On any visit to amsterdam is where i will stay for sure.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Upon arrival at the Canal House we were greeted by a very confused young girl who swiftly made a phone call when we announced we'd like to check-in, our hearts sank, we could sense something wasn't right at all !! The phone was then thrust into my hand as the owner on the phone informed me she did not have a reservation for us, I insisted she must, informing her we had a Confirmation email, the young girl then called us by our names - I queried the Owner, "If you don't have our booking how does the young girl know who I am?" the young girl admitted we were in their "system". When I explained this to the owner she agreed to come back and meet us. Before the owner "finally admitted" she'd failed to open our Booking Confirmation she had also tried to blame the Booking Agent "Venere" for her error. Eventually the owner had nowhere left to run and agreed to search for alternative accommodation as her Canal House was fully booked (it was Easter weekend). We spent the next 45 minutes sat outside in a small garden as we listened to the owner stressfully making several phone calls to have us relocated, Venere rules state if the accommodation owner makes a booking mistake then they must find an alternative room and pay any additional costs. A room was eventually found in the Hotel Sander, located within the Museum District and close to Vondel Park so this actually worked in our favour - a much more pleasant location than the Canal House, the owner kindly drove us to our new destination and joined us at Hotel Sander's reception where she "literally" paid for her mistake, the Hotel Sander decided to "make" from her mistake and charged 460 euros for 2 nights at their terrible hotel (but that's another story, I've reviewed them separately). We were extremely unhappy with the Canal House owners initial attitude as she'd tried so hard to avoid blame which could have left us without a room for the weekend if we hadn't of arrived so well prepared with Confirmation papers, the Owner even eventually admitted I'd sent her an additional email which she'd also ignored in error. If it hadn't of been for Venere's rules that she must find us another hotel of the same standard or above if same standard wasn't available then I'm convinced we'd have had her door slammed in our faces and told to go away. The Owner when faced with admitting entire fault was more than apologetic, did deliver us to our new room and paid, very reluctantly, the extra costs caused by her oversight. She also offered us a free nights stay in the Canal House if we returned to Amsterdam, we thanked her but in honesty we would never return to the Canal House or recommend to others. Our weekend in Amsterdam was a quick city break based on relaxation & soaking up the local culture, our welcome experience was very stressful and the Hotel Sander didn't restore any faith we ever had in the Dutch people. As a regular visitor to Holland this experience has very sadly put me off returning for a while.

Room Tip: Don't Go There !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Canal House Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal House Amsterdam

Address: Brouwersgracht 124, 1013 HA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#85 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Canal House Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal House Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal House Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.