We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice design hotel, expensive to what it offers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Canal House Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Canal House Amsterdam to your Saves list
Canal House Amsterdam
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Canal House Amsterdam
Brouwersgracht 124, Amsterdam 1013 HA, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #203 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“nice design hotel, expensive to what it offers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

just checked out of canal house, it is one of the nice hotels in Amsterdam but the Garden was not accesable and the main door was not working, everything you go out and come back, you had to wait till they open the door for you. breakfast is very ordinery

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portugal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Everything was spectacular.
Exceeded the expectations I had.
The room has everything you need and is very quiet. We get a key that enables us to enter and leave at that hour that we want giving us very much freedom to walk around. Most of the stuff I bought at the supermarket and cooked in apartament. No doubt that helps a lot in the budget of the trip.
The owners are very concerned about our well being and let us leave the luggage at home even after check-out.
Its a very safetly and nice area, walking distance from everthing!!

On any visit to amsterdam is where i will stay for sure.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Upon arrival at the Canal House we were greeted by a very confused young girl who swiftly made a phone call when we announced we'd like to check-in, our hearts sank, we could sense something wasn't right at all !! The phone was then thrust into my hand as the owner on the phone informed me she did not have a reservation for us, I insisted she must, informing her we had a Confirmation email, the young girl then called us by our names - I queried the Owner, "If you don't have our booking how does the young girl know who I am?" the young girl admitted we were in their "system". When I explained this to the owner she agreed to come back and meet us. Before the owner "finally admitted" she'd failed to open our Booking Confirmation she had also tried to blame the Booking Agent "Venere" for her error. Eventually the owner had nowhere left to run and agreed to search for alternative accommodation as her Canal House was fully booked (it was Easter weekend). We spent the next 45 minutes sat outside in a small garden as we listened to the owner stressfully making several phone calls to have us relocated, Venere rules state if the accommodation owner makes a booking mistake then they must find an alternative room and pay any additional costs. A room was eventually found in the Hotel Sander, located within the Museum District and close to Vondel Park so this actually worked in our favour - a much more pleasant location than the Canal House, the owner kindly drove us to our new destination and joined us at Hotel Sander's reception where she "literally" paid for her mistake, the Hotel Sander decided to "make" from her mistake and charged 460 euros for 2 nights at their terrible hotel (but that's another story, I've reviewed them separately). We were extremely unhappy with the Canal House owners initial attitude as she'd tried so hard to avoid blame which could have left us without a room for the weekend if we hadn't of arrived so well prepared with Confirmation papers, the Owner even eventually admitted I'd sent her an additional email which she'd also ignored in error. If it hadn't of been for Venere's rules that she must find us another hotel of the same standard or above if same standard wasn't available then I'm convinced we'd have had her door slammed in our faces and told to go away. The Owner when faced with admitting entire fault was more than apologetic, did deliver us to our new room and paid, very reluctantly, the extra costs caused by her oversight. She also offered us a free nights stay in the Canal House if we returned to Amsterdam, we thanked her but in honesty we would never return to the Canal House or recommend to others. Our weekend in Amsterdam was a quick city break based on relaxation & soaking up the local culture, our welcome experience was very stressful and the Hotel Sander didn't restore any faith we ever had in the Dutch people. As a regular visitor to Holland this experience has very sadly put me off returning for a while.

Room Tip: Don't Go There !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunham, Quebec
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

Canal House Amsterdam on Brouwersgratt 124,

These comments are not to be confused as being applicable to the similarly named:
Canal House Hotel, Prinsengracht Canal House, nor Amnesia Canal House in Amsterdam.

You don’t always get what you pay for. There are two forms of accommodation at this establishment. This review is of the “studio apartment”.

When you arrive at your hotel in Amsterdam after a long journey you are surprised that you are required to pay in full with cash up front for the full cost of your stay even before they give you the key. Despite what you think of what is offered, you have little choice with your luggage on the sidewalk and you are too tired to find another place.

Contrary to what is implied by the internet image showing the front windows of the building, your windows will not front onto the canal. The accommodation is at the top of the annex in back of building. The only view is the back of houses and a small unkempt garden. Even if you are in good shape, the stairway to this attic garret accommodation is a challenge.

Once there, there are no luggage racks. Although there are attempts at cleanliness, the curtains and carpets are threadbare and stained as are the thin grey towels. The entire musty and moldy “studio apartment” needs painting and repair. There is no escape for fire nor are fire extinguishers available in this old 15th century wooden building. It has exposed wood rafters that could be charming but there is mold and evidence of rot with unjointed and stained plasterboard between the rafters.

Apart from a single bare bulb in the middle of the studio all other lighting is by lamps connected to extension cords. There was however no sign of bed bugs. The furniture is what you would expect from Sally Anne with couches covered with rumpled, limp and stained sheets. Repairs had been made to the lamp, fan etc with packing tape. Many other minor repairs are needed such as loose lock mechanisms, no sink plug in the studio sink, etc .

You would expect in a studio apartment an ability to prepare some simple and rudimentary meals. The inadequate counter space to prepare meals was 22”x22” and half of that is covered by a hot plate and coffee maker. The table to eat a meal is a mere 30” square. There is a coffee table in front of a 12” TV.

This is an old building in a damp city environment but has a leaking roof and much greater dampness than other rooms in this city. 54 Stairs from street level, with the stair to the top floor like a ladder. You need to be in good shape to bring luggage up to the room.

There is a large bright airy bathroom, good shower but awkward availability downstairs by difficult ladder like stairs, particularly at night. Although the bathroom is a private facility, the corridor access is open to other rooms.

The facilities are grossly inadequate.

We loved Amsterdam but our experience was significantly diminished by this accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canal House Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal House Amsterdam

Also Known As:
Canal House Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Canal House Amsterdam Hotel
Address: Brouwersgracht 124, Amsterdam 1013 HA, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Canal House Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal House Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.