We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old and it shows” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hoksbergen Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hoksbergen Apartments
Save
You added Hoksbergen Apartments to your Saves list
Gasthuismolensteeg 10, 1012 WH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #291 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Ogden, UT
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“old and it shows”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I think the last time this was redecorated was in the 1970s some time. It was clean, but the carpeted wall was a bit weird and the decor had seen better days. Be careful with the stairs leading to the apartment, they are very steep. Otherwise, it was a great location and fairly quiet. The beds were very small, especially the singles in the other room. I barely fit on one, just had a couple of inches to spare.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    7
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

A 2 minute stroll from the main hotel, these apartments were ideally located in the heart of Amsterdam in one of their traditional buildings, meaning that it is narrow with very steep stairs. We only had one bag and were on the first floor, so it didn't cause us too much trouble, but the handrail is needed. Externally, the building has character and gives you a feel for what it must be like for a local, however, inside the building and rooms are a little basic, but adequate.
For us it ticked the boxes, having a central location, away from the noisier red light district and avoiding the need to box separate rooms for our young adults/kids.
As you open the door off the street, it did smell a little damp, but it was fine elsewhere.
Coming from a semi-rural town in Scotland, we did find the single-glazed windows and frames, and the curtains did little to mute noise from the street, but at least it is a fairly quiet area. However we were still woken up several times each night: I think noise gets caught in the narrow street. We saw it all as part of the experience.
Dam Square is less than a 10 minute walk. Cafes with coffee and croissants, supermarkets and restaurants are all within a few minutes walk.
The kitchen and bathroom were basic but adequate.
The photos show the apartments at their very best. I think they could now do with a little TLC and improved lighting.

Room Tip: Higher may be quieter, but be ready for the steep stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Loved the location as soon as we reached. Canal facing hotel close to Dam square(10 min).Getting bags to the second floor was only half the challenge! There was no place in the room for 2 bags. But the canal view from the room, great breakfast included, friendly staff, convenient location make it a great place to rest while exploring amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avezzano
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Typical dutch apartment...good enough in order to spend some days enjoying Amsterdam city. The apartment has all the minimum facilities required . Its location (a few meters from DAM square) is ideal to visit any part of the center.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The apartment annex was comfortable and had all the necessary requirements. The room was basic. The beds were comfortable. It was central and we were able to walk everywhere. It was as advertised. Good value, nothing fancy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Hoksbergen
Hotel Hoksbergen
#164 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#119 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,196 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton Amsterdam
The Hoxton Amsterdam
#47 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#118 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
Jordaan
Petit Prince
Petit Prince
#26 of 355 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#8 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoksbergen Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoksbergen Apartments

Address: Gasthuismolensteeg 10, 1012 WH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #291 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoksbergen Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.