We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“jerome bosch appartment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dutch Masters Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Dutch Masters Apartments to your Saves list
Dutch Masters Apartments
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Keizersgracht 580 A, 1017 EN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 177 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
adelaide
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“jerome bosch appartment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

review from a youngish couple (26yo fit not fussy)

there was confusion with someone apparently cancelling our booking(booked via expedia) which had us very worried at 6:30pm on a cold amsterdam night.
thankfully with some help from another guest calling the attendnt we were in there within 15 minutes. she explained there simply must have been a mix up and was sooo unbelievably nice we instantly felt reassured and relaxed.

she showed us all around and told us how to contact her + all instructions for the place etc.
this room is one of only 2 that has access to the courtyard which was lovely (dont forget your mozzie repelant tho!)

bed was comfortable - one if those ones where u cant really feel if the other person is moving
kitchen well equipped
heating/cooling was good
quiet area
lovely treats provided and stuff for cooking/cleaning

IN SUMMARY the only issue was the dicky little hand basins - very cute but very impractical
I would return here and recommend this place to anyone who asked. Like home away from home.
10/10 to the lovely lady who helped us with check in.

Room Tip: only two have courtyard access if you are interested
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    4
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
10
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chisinau, Moldova
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hotel's location is central, overlooking Keizersgracht, yet in a calm and quite neighbourhood, there's a tram and bus stations close by, making it easy to get at by public transport from both Central Station and the airport.

We faced a small problem upon arrival as our room was was already given to someone else (a double booking issue due to a system error), but (to our delight) we were upgraded to Herman Brood residence, a modern apartment, with a daring and colourful design.
The place was clean and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay: coffee machine, microwave, dishwasher, stove, washer/dryer, a very pleasant main room with a big windows and a beautiful view.

The only minus was the bed, which is not double but two twin beds linked... they constantly slide apart. In addition the mattress was very soft and the pillows quite big and uncomfortable.

Overall a great place that I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed in the Van Gogh apartment. As the title says, it was good as a place to stay, but they could've done much more (especially considering the price per night!) I'd still recommend a serviced apartment over a hotel any day, but I'm not all too sure I'd recommend THIS apartment over others. We've stayed at other apartments that have definitely surpassed this one.

The pros: Great location, wonderful garden out back, decent design, and not a bad selection of amenities.

The cons: The apartment is quite small at 50 square meters. Given real estate prices here, I get it...we're probably staying in an apartment worth half a million dollars at least. But our bedroom, for instance, fit only the bed and absolutely nothing else. Speaking of the bed, it was hard getting a good night's sleep because the pillows were too large to actually function as a pillow. It's also impossible to use the wash basin in the bathroom to wash your face because it's so tiny! We spilled water everywhere every time we tried. Also, the place is dimly lit. No matter how many of the lights we turned on, it never seemed like a bright, cheerful space. We used the living room/couches for our luggage and closet space because we didn't have one in the apartment. This meant that the place always felt a little cluttered no matter what.

The amenities were okay, but nothing exceptional. For instance, they have a dishwasher...but provide no soap for it or for the sink. They have a washer and dryer...but no soap for that, either. Decent knife, but couldn't find a cutting board. Or sponge. There's a Senso coffee maker... but you have to buy your own coffee. We honestly didn't mind paying for these things, but additional touches like this make or break a place. It simply wasn't user-ready from the outset. If these things were provided I'd offer an extra star.

The vibe of the apartment was also a little problematic, starting at check-in. Our flight arrived late (1:30am). When we told them this, they wanted to charge a 50-euro check-in fee. I laughed and said to my husband, "Just on principle...let's cancel one night, check into a 50-euro hotel when we arrive and go to the apartment in the morning. That's an absurd policy. I'd sooner have them miss out on 250 euros for our night than condone that." When we replied and said we'd simply cancel a night, THEN they said they'd be willing to check us in late sans fee. Of course... this wasn't without the check-in person commenting how tired she was and how she had to wake up early the next day when she checked us in. Pretty unprofessional, all said and done.

In other apartments they offer guests guidebooks of the city. Here? Well, as others have commented, you're greeted with a host of signs and booklets with do's and don'ts. Keep the door closed, empty the trash on Tuesdays and Fridays, turn off the air condition, don't smoke, lose the key and pay 200 euros, etc. Not very welcoming. If they were really concerned about the guests trashing the place as they seem to be, they could offer maid service like other serviced apartments (hint hint).

I still give 3 stars because it's a good space. It's clean, well-designed and makes for a good crash pad in the city. But would I stay here again? We'd probably look into other options first.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Great appartment, great location. Just two remarks:
- it is unfortunate that there is no elevator and you have to walk up so many narrow stairs, especially upon arrival and departure with all the luggage
- it is too bad that there is only one bathroom in the appartment
Despite all that it is a great place, very clean, lovely view, excellent location! We would definetely return!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Herman Brood apartment for 5 nights and couldn't recommend it more. This modern, open apartment looks right out over the canal and is centrally located making it very easy to bike/walk everywhere. We found it to be very clean, lots of closet/drawer space for two in the bedroom, and having a washer/dryer in the apartment was a plus too. We definitely would recommend this apartment and would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

My company has been using Perfect Visit for several years now. The staff is always helpful and cooperative. The apartments are clean, have quality amenities and are well located. I highly recommend the Perfect Visit Amsterdam apartments.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dutch Masters Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dutch Masters Apartments

Address: Keizersgracht 580 A, 1017 EN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 177 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dutch Masters Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dutch Masters Luxury Apartments in Amsterdam offers luxurious apartments in the heart of historic Amsterdam. There are 9 residences in this complex of varying sizes, with one, two and three bedrooms. The features range from roof deck, garden, classic canal view, 4 meter ceilings and 400 year old details. All residences are equipped with design interiors, a full kitchen and kitchen inventory, washer/dryer, linen, private safe and broadband internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dutch Masters Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dutch Masters Apartments Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dutch Masters Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.