We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not exceptional” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dutch Masters Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Dutch Masters Apartments to your Saves list
Dutch Masters Apartments
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Keizersgracht 580 A, 1017 EN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 177 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Kathmandu, Nepal
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good but not exceptional”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed in the Van Gogh apartment. As the title says, it was good as a place to stay, but they could've done much more (especially considering the price per night!) I'd still recommend a serviced apartment over a hotel any day, but I'm not all too sure I'd recommend THIS apartment over others. We've stayed at other apartments that have definitely surpassed this one.

The pros: Great location, wonderful garden out back, decent design, and not a bad selection of amenities.

The cons: The apartment is quite small at 50 square meters. Given real estate prices here, I get it...we're probably staying in an apartment worth half a million dollars at least. But our bedroom, for instance, fit only the bed and absolutely nothing else. Speaking of the bed, it was hard getting a good night's sleep because the pillows were too large to actually function as a pillow. It's also impossible to use the wash basin in the bathroom to wash your face because it's so tiny! We spilled water everywhere every time we tried. Also, the place is dimly lit. No matter how many of the lights we turned on, it never seemed like a bright, cheerful space. We used the living room/couches for our luggage and closet space because we didn't have one in the apartment. This meant that the place always felt a little cluttered no matter what.

The amenities were okay, but nothing exceptional. For instance, they have a dishwasher...but provide no soap for it or for the sink. They have a washer and dryer...but no soap for that, either. Decent knife, but couldn't find a cutting board. Or sponge. There's a Senso coffee maker... but you have to buy your own coffee. We honestly didn't mind paying for these things, but additional touches like this make or break a place. It simply wasn't user-ready from the outset. If these things were provided I'd offer an extra star.

The vibe of the apartment was also a little problematic, starting at check-in. Our flight arrived late (1:30am). When we told them this, they wanted to charge a 50-euro check-in fee. I laughed and said to my husband, "Just on principle...let's cancel one night, check into a 50-euro hotel when we arrive and go to the apartment in the morning. That's an absurd policy. I'd sooner have them miss out on 250 euros for our night than condone that." When we replied and said we'd simply cancel a night, THEN they said they'd be willing to check us in late sans fee. Of course... this wasn't without the check-in person commenting how tired she was and how she had to wake up early the next day when she checked us in. Pretty unprofessional, all said and done.

In other apartments they offer guests guidebooks of the city. Here? Well, as others have commented, you're greeted with a host of signs and booklets with do's and don'ts. Keep the door closed, empty the trash on Tuesdays and Fridays, turn off the air condition, don't smoke, lose the key and pay 200 euros, etc. Not very welcoming. If they were really concerned about the guests trashing the place as they seem to be, they could offer maid service like other serviced apartments (hint hint).

I still give 3 stars because it's a good space. It's clean, well-designed and makes for a good crash pad in the city. But would I stay here again? We'd probably look into other options first.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    4
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
10
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Great appartment, great location. Just two remarks:
- it is unfortunate that there is no elevator and you have to walk up so many narrow stairs, especially upon arrival and departure with all the luggage
- it is too bad that there is only one bathroom in the appartment
Despite all that it is a great place, very clean, lovely view, excellent location! We would definetely return!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Herman Brood apartment for 5 nights and couldn't recommend it more. This modern, open apartment looks right out over the canal and is centrally located making it very easy to bike/walk everywhere. We found it to be very clean, lots of closet/drawer space for two in the bedroom, and having a washer/dryer in the apartment was a plus too. We definitely would recommend this apartment and would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

My company has been using Perfect Visit for several years now. The staff is always helpful and cooperative. The apartments are clean, have quality amenities and are well located. I highly recommend the Perfect Visit Amsterdam apartments.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

We stayed in the Karel Apel apartment, which is the largest in this building of short stay rental apartments. It is on the top floor and had a wonderful canal view. Our family of 6 found it to be roomy and comfortable.

And as I said in the title, the location could not be beat. You are situated on one of the larger main canals of Amsterdam, within easy walking distance of the Van Gogh, Rijks, Anne Frank House, Vondel Park, Photography Museum and many bustling little streets with a multitude of restaurants. And of course, the tram is a minute or two walk away, for easy access to everything else in Amsterdam.

The only "strange" thing that we encountered was that Perfect Visit expects you to take the trash out and fill and start the dishwasher before you leave. While in general, when we rent places like this (which we have done often), I tend to leave the place as clean and tidy as possible, I have never had this specifically pointed out before. Their literature also says that if you don't leave the place "clean", you may incur a cleaning fee. This just seemed a bit harsh and puts you a bit on edge regarding this clean up. Nevertheless, this did not really detract from our stay and as I said, the apartment was clean, roomy and met all our requirements in terms of location and sleeping arrangements.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

We stayed at the Rembrandt Van Rijn apartment over Christmas. The apartment is fabulous, roomy, warm, beautifully decorated and so central. There are tall windows looking out over the gorgeous Keizersgracht canal. We would definitely return here!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imperia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

I stayed with 4 friends in that apartment, it is very close to the city center, few minutes to dam's square. It was clean and pretty. With all conforts and also with wifi.

I loved that house! Enjoy it!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dutch Masters Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dutch Masters Apartments

Address: Keizersgracht 580 A, 1017 EN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 177 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dutch Masters Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dutch Masters Luxury Apartments in Amsterdam offers luxurious apartments in the heart of historic Amsterdam. There are 9 residences in this complex of varying sizes, with one, two and three bedrooms. The features range from roof deck, garden, classic canal view, 4 meter ceilings and 400 year old details. All residences are equipped with design interiors, a full kitchen and kitchen inventory, washer/dryer, linen, private safe and broadband internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dutch Masters Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dutch Masters Apartments Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dutch Masters Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.