We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Proeverij 274

Proeverij 274
Prinsengracht 274, 1016 HH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
020 42 11 848
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Proeverij 274 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #384 of 2,435 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $31 - $122
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Ayr, Scotland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I really cannot fault this restaurant in any way at all. The atmosphere was conducive to a very relaxing mood. The service was superb even though the restaurant was full on Koningsdag. The quality of the food and the presentation was excellent.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    28
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“One of the best meals... ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I will forever remember my meal at Proeverij 274. It was honestly one of the best I've ever had. The place is intimate and lovely, but not quiet and uncomfortable. The service was impeccable. A lovely evening....

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, Michigan
Top Contributor
303 reviews 303 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food, Incredible Service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This was the only place our hotel could get us into on the eve of King's Day. We were delighted with the tiny, wood paneled dining room, but even more impressed with the two lovely women who seemed to run the place seamlessly, while laughing and smiling the whole time. I had the most amazing duck I think I've ever had. The Pea Soup was light and creamy. Good wine list, reasonably priced. We had a table overlooking the street and had a non-stop view of people stocking up for the next day's party. Lovely place, great food, fabulous service. One of our favorite meals in Amsterdam.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“expensive and lacking in atmosphere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We were recommended this restaurant by our hotel and found it to be very expensive and completely empty apart from one other couple, although to be fair it was a Sunday evening. The food was fussy and the whole experience was disappointing and not value for money although the service was good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Classy if expensive restaurant serving excellent food in a pleasant setting. Service was unobtrusive, friendly and efficient. The food was cooked and presented perfectly.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Proeverij 274 also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Proeverij 274? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Proeverij 274, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.